Game Discussion: Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition

New to Minecraft, Need Some Info Please

• Park DieselPark Diesel656,908
    Posted on 09 September 16 at 10:37
    Hi all,

I'm brand new to this game and would appreciate some info/help. I disconnected from Live, cleared the cache, started 2 tutorial worlds and a seed "888" world, reconnected and updated, then started on a tutorial world.

I walked up to a tree, punched 7 blocks of some type of wood (Oak wood, I think) but did not get an achievement. I opened my inventory while trying to figure out how to make wood planks, also no achievement.

I know a lot of changes were made to the game. Is the walkthrough completely useless? Can I not earn achievements in a tutorial world now? Am I not getting them because of setting them up offline? I set it up as Survival, Peaceful. Is that the problem?

I know these are "noob" type of questions but I have absolutely zero experience with Minecraft and I'm not seeing a lot of info on how it works after all these updates. Any info/help that you could provide would be appreciated.
  • TangerineGamerTangerineGamer2,614,783
    Posted on 09 September 16 at 10:47, Edited on 09 September 16 at 10:48 by TangerineGamer
    To be honest the walkthrough was written a while ago and may be out of date.

I am unsure if they changed something with regards to earning achievements, you used to be able to get them in the tutorial worlds
    Now that you mention it I was trying to help a friend with a couple of things I loaded up a tutorial world I had and nothing was popping for him so it may have been altered. However I haven't heard that this was changed

If you create a random seeded world are you able to get the achievements for getting wood and opening inventory?
    Yours sincerely, TG
    Posted on 09 September 16 at 10:54
    TangerineGamer said:
    To be honest the walkthrough was written a while ago and may be out of date.