Rocket League Cross-Network Play Coming Today

By Dave Horobin, 5 months ago
Back in March, Chris Charla, director of ID@Xbox, revealed that cross-network play with Steam was planned for spring, with news on other platforms (presumed to be PSN) to follow.

Today that has become a reality, as Psyonix has just announced that their smash hit sports title, Rocket League, will now support cross-network play between the Xbox One and Steam PC versions of the game - the first title to do so.

The update is set to roll out today at 3pm PT / 6pm ET / 10pm UTC, and will allow users to choose to include (or not include) cross-network play in both public and private matches via a new "easy to find" check box located in the game's options menu.

Jeremy Dunham, Vice President for Psyonix had this to say:

Cross-network play has been something that Xbox One gamers have been asking us for since the day we launched, and thanks to Microsoft's new cross-network policies, we're proud to give it to them.Do you welcome the move, and would you like more games to offer cross-network play?
Dave Horobin
Written by Dave Horobin
Dave is the TrueAchievements Social Manager and has been a Newshound since 2010. When he's not chasing developers and publishers for early review copies, he can usually be found on the TrueAchievements social pages discussing all things TA related.