400 Days

1381008
3.7861,52547,005 (76%)1-2 h
400 Days

Reviews

  • Marc PilkingtonMarc Pilkington301,563
    06 Jul 2013 06 Jul 2013
    10 0 2
    400 Days acts as a "bridge" episode between Seasons 1 and 2 of The Walking Dead, but don't expect to be following the stories of characters you've come to be familiar with. This particular DLC gives us a whole new bunch of people to interact with, and it's up to you as to what the outcome will be.

    Right from the get go, you are given 5 different stories to chose from. Vince, Wyatt, Shel, Russel, and Bonnie. I played each of them in that order, but once you finish one character's story, you are free to pick any of the remaining people until all 5 are finished. All of these miniature stories put together create an episode that is similar in length to the Season 1 episodes, so you're still getting good value for your 400 points. Once again, don't be expecting something crazy and action packed. By now, anyone who has picked this up will be well aware of how The Walking Dead plays. Apart from the odd occasion where you control a character, you are involved in an "interactive comic book" where you get to determine the direction in which conversations take. The point and click nature of the game means that it goes at a slower pace to that of other zombie games, so expect more of the same. However, with all the different stories combined, Telltale Games have managed to incorporate numerous aspects from the main game into this DLC. You will engage in long conversational sequences, quick-time events, sudden decisions, physically controlling a character's movement, and of course, deaths. It is a well put together episode in that respect, and the variety helps to keep players engaged in the game itself.

    This is all well and good, but more importantly, what of the characters themselves? For the amount of new people we're introduced to, and the short amount of time we have to get to know them, is there any sort of emotional pay off? I would say yes to some extent. Due to time restraints, it is impossible to get as emotionally attached to these people as we have with Lee, Clementine, and the rest of the gang from past episodes, but Telltale have done a good job nonetheless. Each character's story ranges from about 15-20 (maybe even 25) minutes if you aren't rushing through, and in this time, we get a glimpse into their lives and how they are coping with the Walker threat. Each character is placed in a different situation, so this means that every one of them have something different to bring to the table. We see how group dynamics work outside of Lee's group, and how they may deal with certain problems, as well as individuals coping on their own. In the time spent in each mini episode we are given a back story of sorts for each person, and so this helps with the emotional payoff when presented with drastic decisions. It definitely won't be as heartbreaking as past episodes, but for the amount of time we have with each one of these people, it's a fine piece of storytelling. I would say that Shel and Bonnie are two of the strongest in my opinion, due to their group situation, however it's hard to say because of the gigantic cast. A whole TWENTY SEVEN of them! Despite all this, the one small gripe I do have is that some stories could have been longer. For example, when Wyatt's ended I thought "Is that it?" So perhaps Telltale could have spread the stories out more evenly, or even made the episode a little longer (even if it meant having to spend more points on it). It is a small gripe like I said, though, so it doesn't ruin it too much.

    Achievement wise, expect something very similar from previous episodes. Each story has its own respective achievement, as well as an achievement for completing the special epilogue story. However, there are two achievements which are in fact missable because there's only one opportunity to obtain them. They aren't that hard though, and you are able to replay any of the 5 stories via the main menu, so basically you have nothing to worry about. Simply enjoy
    the game and go back for the two missable ones if need be.

    So in summary, 400 Days is satisfying, but it would have been even better if it was a little longer. Putting into perspective how long each of the stories are, the emotion involved is very good, and each character is interesting and different enough to keep you interested throughout. Another thing worth mentioning is that there are some connections that stories make to each other, so be on the lookout for those! Well worth a purchase if you own the first 5, but if you haven't played those yet, I would say play all of them before giving this a go!
    4.0
  • inspectorpjinspectorpj64,754
    06 Jul 2013
    5 0 0
    The first season of The Walking Dead series was a huge success, Telltale Games received numerous awards for their work and they were certainly deserved. Now in 2013 Telltale goes back to the land imagined by Robert Kirkman, this time though the expectations are high, so the question is, have they done it again? Or did they succumb under the pressure of success?

    Story
    This time around instead of following one or two fixed protagonists, Telltale opted for introducing five at once, while at first the only thing they seem to have in common is the fact that they are all screwed thanks to a certain zombie apocalypse, as time goes on, you will find that they have more in common than what appears at first glance.
    400 Days serves as a stepping stone between the 1st and 2nd season of the series, introducing new characters that according to what I understood, will make an appearance in the future. It is an incredibly intelligent move on Telltale part if this is true, that means that in the 2nd season right from the start you will have an emotional connection to some of the survivors. Brilliant!



    There is just one problem, the fact that 400 Days is such a short chapter and introduces so many characters at once, might make you care less for them, you never have the time to really get to know them and build up an emotional relationship with all the protagonists like you did with Lee or Clementine. It certainly seems like a missed opportunity.

    Gameplay
    400 Days remains true to the series, I would call it a point and click on rails. Avoiding any situation where the player might get stuck seems to be one of the goals set by the developers, it's a nice change of pace from other adventure games, it certainly puts a lot more focus on the story telling rather than the puzzles.
    Telltale tries to introduce more action sequences this time around, it's a lot of fun trying to figure out if you should run for your life or do the right thing, these sequences could be a bit harder if only to add some more suspense and excitement, still they are really well structured.



    Graphics and Sound
    Once again this seems to be the area where Telltale struggles a bit more, not that the graphics or art style are bad, they still have the cartoony style that will look good forever, it's just that the lip syncing is terrible, it does not ruin the experience in any shape or form, but in a tight package such as The Walking Dead series has been, any kind of misstep seems like a big deal.
    Thankfully the voice acting is still near perfect, making each character feel alive and unique.

    Final Thoughts
    Even if it's just a short preview for the 2nd season, 400 Days is well worth the download, Telltale Games showed that they still got it and that success in little has affected their ability to produce great games.
    Robert Kirkman should be proud!

    Year of Release: 2013
    Plaform: Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Mac, iOS
    Developer: Telltale Games

    9 out of 10

    For more news and reviews check out:
    http://noreviewleftbehind.blogspot.com/
    4.5
  • BigFriendlyGeekBigFriendlyGeek213,990
    12 Jul 2013 12 Jul 2013
    3 0 0
    External image


    Those were the days of our lives…

    Telltale Games’ The Walking Dead was one of the surprise titles of last year. Bringing the point & click adventure back kicking and screaming into the collective consciousness of gamers everywhere, the universally acclaimed episodic title eschewed traditional zombie-game fare of shooting everything in the face and asking questions later (leaving that to the more universally-reviled ‘The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct’) and focused less on the zombies and more on the survivors of the zombie apocalypse and the affect of the world around them and the choices they make. So, exactly like the comic book on which it is based then.

    Due to the success of ‘The Walking Dead’, it is pencilled in to return for a second season (it still sounds strange referring to games as having seasons) somewhere around the third quarter of 2013. To plug the gap between Season One and Season Two, Telltale have given us ‘400 Days’. However, there are no appearances from any of the core characters from the first season… at least, no-one living. Instead, it give us a look into how the lives of other people are coping since all hell broke loose, and also I imagine as a way to introduce some (or all) of these characters into Season Two.

    External image


    400 Days is split into five short chapters, each revolving around an individual character, and these all happen within various points within the first 400 days of the zombie apocalypse and after completing each chapter, it culminates in an epilogue that will vary slightly dependent on the choices you make in each of the individual character chapters.

    The five characters you focus on are, in roughly chronological order, are:

    Vince: a young man who commited a murder to help his brother, and is being transported to prison on a bus with a handful of other prisoners.

    Wyatt: a man, along with his best friend Eddie, try to escape an unknown pursuer.

    Russell: a young man trying to make his way to his grandmother’s to see if she is still alive.

    Bonnie: A drug addicted woman that was rescued on the brink of death by a married couple, Leland and Dee.

    Shel: a young woman that is part of a small survivor community located at a gas station, along with her younger sister, Becca.

    External image


    All of these chapters crossed over and like the core episodes of Season One, it’s all excellently told and very well written and as with the main game, there are some tough, tough choices to make. You can play any chapter in any order, which gives a Pulp-Fiction-With-Zombies feel, and it does work well. However the main problem with this format is the length of the chapters, which only weigh in at around 15 - 20 minutes each.

    The Walking Dead’s main strength was not in it’s story-telling, or even the choices that you had to make, but it was the emotions that you felt for each character that you encountered and the way they made you care for, or despise, each of them. But with 400 days, each chapter is so short that by the time you actually start to feel any sort of attachment or empathy towards the character, the chapter is over. This sort of diminishes the impact of each of the decisions you have to make, and while that’s not to say they’re still not difficult decisions, it is certainly less difficult and less impactful than any of the choices you had to make in the main game. The only real exception being Shel’s chapter which also happens to be the longest, where any choice you make will also affect Shel’s sister, Becca, who is an instantly effective character.

    With that being said, Telltale still manage to cram in more personality and character traits into five characters in a couple of hours than many games do over the course of fifteen, and I think it’s a credit to characters that it’s disappointing we didn’t get to see more from them, instead of just with a feeling of dissatisfaction.

    This all sounds more negative than it really is though. The simple fact is that if you enjoyed The Walking Dead then you will enjoy 400 Days. It’s a very good piece of bridging DLC that leaves you wanting more for the next season of the main game, and I look forward to seeing if and where these characters turn up in the main game, and what effect the decisions I made had on them. Just don’t expect to go into 400 Days and get the same scale of emotional rollercoaster that you got with the main season, and you’ll have a wonderful time.

    External image


    Positives

    + More ‘The Walking Dead’ is a good thing
    + Five different perspectives to experience
    + Looks just as good as the main game
    + The crossover of the chapters works very well
    + Leaves you wanting more

    Negatives

    - Each chapter is too short
    - Not enough time to really empathise with the characters
    - Multi-perspective format needs some work

    Verdict: A worthy, if too short, addition to Telltale’s masterpiece.
    4.0
  • Warrior DingoWarrior Dingo106,499
    27 Dec 2013 27 Dec 2013
    1 0 0
    A decent setup for Season 2 of the walking dead, though some annoyances.

    This final chapter contains the short stories of 5 different characters. I found they vary from great to kinda terrible.
    I'll start with the ones I liked and do my best without spoiling.

    smileThe Good:

    VINCE - I recommend starting with Vince. He is easily one of my favorite characters from this chapter. An interesting little tale and a pretty great lead up to season 2.

    SHEL - Some more fairly interesting characters, decent story.

    BONNIE - My 2nd favorite character, has a good setup and her relationship with one of the other characters is quite entertaining and well written. Has a unique sequence, making it my second favorite story as well. I recommend playing her or Russell last.

    WYATT - Wyatt's story was kinda funny... I guess?

    RUSSELL - My 3rd favorite character and story. He's a fairly straightforward character, it's the secondary character in his tale that really mixes things up and makes for a fairly odd and funny story.

    ENDING -
    *** Spoiler - click to reveal ***


    angryThe Bad:

    SHEL - The story skips out on some fairly important information and tells you after decisions are made which was quite annoying as it would have affected my later decisions.

    WYATT - Definitely the dud of these stories. Wasn't a huge fan of how these characters were executed. Things get kinda confusing during some dialogue and there are moments where your choice is flat out ignored or the character just takes full control. Also, just not a fan of Wyatt to be honest. There is also an achievement that can be missed here which normally is great for replay value but not in this case.

    ENDING -
    There simply wasn't enough time for some of the characters
    *** Spoiler - click to reveal ***


    shockTHE VERDICT:
    I'll cut it a little slack as i'm sure some different decisions could have made for a better story. Perhaps I'll replay it and update my review... Here's hoping it all pays off in Season 2.
    4.0
  • RoboShatnerRoboShatner195,601
    05 Nov 2013 05 Nov 2013
    2 4 1
    Continues the tradition that was established in the main game of there being virtually no game play.

    Experience such thrilling highlights as moving sideways and forward through a cornfield or pressing A repeatedly to move over a body.

    It's about an hour long, which may be a good thing given how bad it all is, but whatever way you cut it it certainly isn't worth the €5 asking price.

    The main game had a very small inventory. This has no inventory.

    The main games had stupidity easy puzzles. This has no puzzles.

    Filler story material.

    Mostly unlikable cretinous characters. It seems like everyone is either a psycho, pervert or deviant.

    Choices that amount to absolutely nothing.

    Contains such masterful dialogue as "F*** me? F*** you motherf***er!"

    Avoid.
    1.5