Genre Discussion: For The King Forum

A messageboard for all things genres

For The King Multi-Genre Discussion

Related game: For The King

AuthorMessage
Information Posted on 10 May 19 at 03:19
Please use this thread to discuss this game's classification under the multi-genre system.

If you disagree with the current genres, please click the "Add genre disagreement" button below.
Information Posted on 10 May 19 at 03:19
BigWiIIieStyIe has registered their disagreement about the genres applied to this game
Turn Based needs added
Schinderdiv
Schinderdiv
Posted on 10 May 19 at 05:00
Maybe also Roguelite and Adventure? I'm not too good at defining genres of games as they're so strict on this site but I believe this game features both elements.
Streets Ahead
eohjay
eohjay
Posted on 11 May 19 at 13:36
After spending a few hours on this I'm going to vote for quite a few genres, it's definitely a bit more of a blend than your standard game.

Turn-based, Role playing, Strategy and Roguelite

The vast majority of the gameplay takes place on a hex-grid world map very much like Civilization Revolution. Your units are moved in a turn-based fashion, and you have to manage various resources like Chaos, Favor, Health, Gold, etc.

The individual battles take place in typical turn-based RPG fashion. You characters level up and loot different equipment with different skills, as well as manage an inventory.

Lastly, it's got rogue-lite features in the respect that you'll be starting the game many different times and each time to restart you stat from scratch and the world/dungeons/events are randomized (other than the storyline). It looks like the main campaign, For The King, is only going to be about 5 hours of playtime for a successful run. I'm almost done with Act 2 of 3 on Apprentice and have only played a few hours and reach level 5.

It plays like a short tabletop campaign that you would sit around and play with a group of friends in your basement to pass a couple of nights.