50 Cent: Blood on the Sand Reviews

  • RitzOmegaRitzOmega834,345
    09 Dec 2009
    24 4 1
    When a mega-star such as 50 Cent explores a different avenue, it tends to be something related to his career or lifestyle. With this new venture, 50 Cent creates a satisfying, yet short, game that keeps up to two players engrossed from start to finish, with bullets, explosions, and over the top violence that only serves to entertain.

    The premise of the story is outlandish, but simple enough to be followed. After a gig in some war-torn eastern country, 50 Cent demands payment from the promoter, who is unable to come up with the money that was promised the rap star. Instead, he hands over a skull that has been covered in diamonds, indicating that the object is “priceless”. 50 accepts, and then is ambushed while traversing the road, which leads to his new prized possession becoming stolen. Getting the skull back is the main focus of the entire game, as you’ll be hunting it down across nine missions. The various cut scenes only provide enough to progress the story along, and allow the players to connect how each level begins and ends.

    The gameplay is straightforward: kill people who are shooting at you. However, there is a scoring system that will let you rack up multipliers for multiple kills, type of kill, use of environment, and whether or not you decide to sling verbal insults at your newly defeated foes. It functions as a basic third person shooter, with you (as 50 Cent) and a partner (one of the three members of G-Unit) going through level by level. Cooperation is necessary at times: there are a few jumps that require one of the players to boost the other upward, as well as garage doors that can only be opened with the strength of both players. In addition to the standard ‘plug bad guy with bullets’ gameplay, there is also something called ‘counter-kills’, which function as the game’s form of melee combat. It only requires hitting one button at the right time, and will make the character do anything from tae-kwon-do style moves, to inserting a knife multiple times into the victim’s stomach. It is tough to get close enough to an enemy sometimes, but it looks extremely cool, and satisfying.

    Throughout the entire game, there are random ‘scenarios’ that usually involve tasking the player with killing a certain amount of enemies in a certain time. These enemies are highlighted in red, which aids in the targeting and ease. All throughout the on-foot levels, are payphones scattered and allow for the player to phone an arms dealer, which will allow them to purchase better weapons, counter-kills, and taunts. The last aspect of the game is what is called “gangster fire”, which is the game’s bullet-time mechanic. It has it’s uses, and allows a player to chain up combo-kills, as well as shoot down rocket/grenade fire, or provide that necessary split second that is needed to quickly clip an enemy when they pop out from behind cover. It is restored through acquiring points, but runs out so quickly, that players will save it for those necessary moments when things are desperate.

    A few things seem stolen from other games, such as the cover system and weapon selection from Gears of War, but are significantly different enough and tailored for the gameplay. The cover system has a few flaws, as half of the time popping out from cover is more of a hindrance than benefit. On one particular level, I noticed that I was being shot through the cover, and died within moments.

    There are two levels that involve driving a military Hummer across open road (or dirt terrain), and are enjoyable from start to finish. The second player (or computer AI) serves as the gunner for these missions, and will have a difficult time running out of targets to shoot. The one mission that is entirely different from the others is the gunning mission, in which both players are gunners of some troop-transport helicopter, and are tasked with destroying everything that lights up red in their crosshairs. While this particular level is short, it’s extremely enjoyable, and serves a plate of action directly to you.

    The graphics are good, and while each level looks like a war-torn landscape, it gives the feel of being in some middle-eastern country. Characters are highly detailed, with practically no slowdown despite the constant barrage of gunfire and explosions.

    However, where Blood on the Sand really shines, is the audio. The entire cast, including 50 Cent, G-Unit, and even standard enemies, all have perfected how voice-acting should be done. Not a single word seems out of place, and the commentary between 50 Cent and his co-op partner are direct, and realistic. Guns fire loudly and explosions sound like explosions. What really stands out, is the musical score. A customizable playlist that plays a bevy of 50 Cent songs, including ‘In Da Club’ and ‘Piggy Bank’, provide a soundtrack that sets the mood and tone of the entire game, and urge you to press onward. This playlist grows as the game progression happens, with the ability to change out songs on the fly in the pause menu. Sixteen songs were custom made for this game, and each of them are well-placed in the setting of the game.

    There are some flaws that prevent this game from achieving something greater than it is. The cover system that was mentioned earlier seems to have little effect on stopping injury, especially on the greater difficulty levels. It’s easier to stand behind a pillar without the cover system, and not get shot. The fourth mission seems convoluted, which seems entirely out of place based on the plot’s premise of getting a jewel-encrusted skull back. The final mission is a bit of a letdown, merely because of the lack of resistance that is offered throughout it. The biggest gripe that I found was that if during co-op play with another player, if one of the two gets injured enough, the other can revive them, but this feature is missing altogether in single player. The A.I. could have easily been coded to come over and revive 50 Cent should he be shot up enough. The game itself is short, and can be completed in four hours maximum on the normal difficulty. The harder difficulty tacks on a bit more time hiding behind walls, and the occasional restart from being flushed out with grenades, but otherwise it’s still the same game.

    If you’re a fan of 50 Cent, action games, or general mayhem without a need for a complex story, this game is worth your time. The worst aspect about this is the length of the game. The best is that the game is enjoyable from start to finish, even if it is a bit too easy to complete. It’s worth renting, but a full-fledged purchase would have to have at least double the amount of levels that are in this game. Unless of course, you are a die-hard fan of 50 Cent. Which this game could make you. laugh
    3.0
  • xaeroxaero1,407,154
    15 May 2011 14 Dec 2014
    24 5 1
    One of my favorite things to do is to buy unpopular or bad games for dirt cheap for two reasons. One, because sometimes playing the game actually proves me wrong and I end up liking it, and two, I could make fun of the developers for sucking at making games!!!11!!!!!!

    So here we have 50 Cent: Blood on the Sand.

    Yes, Mr. Cent. Now, it's easy to pass this game up because it's endorsed by a not-so-decent sellout of a rapper and because the first game was an absolute disaster trying to pass itself off as a video game. Considering that every single song in the game is a 50 Cent track would make you believe that you almost have to be a fan of this douche to pick this one up.

    BUT AH-HA! THIS IS WHERE YOU'RE WRONG!

    Aside from the self advertising that 50 Cent is absolutely obviously guilty of, this is actually a pretty decent straight-up shooter. Almost all the mechanics are borrowed from Gears of War and Army of Two, but the scoring system leaves the game with that sweet arcade taste. This game is full of straight up killing enemies with random vehicle sequences thrown in. Really, if you're into mindless frantic action, this game definitely delivers.

    One thing that I like about this game is that it does not take itself seriously. 50 Cent apparently has a huge fanbase in the Middle East and closed the tour in some fictional city there. The concert ends, and he tries to be all thug and beat the crap out of some guy for protection money (which is completely hilarious considering that he's getting his ass kicked by someone who endorses Glaceau vitamin water). So this wimp of a middle east guy or whatever gives him this diamond encrusted skull as payment. Fiddy later gets this skull stolen and pretty much starts a war just to get his toy back. Bitter bitter Curtis Jackson. Obviously didn't get spanked enough as a child.

    Visually, the game looks decent. 50 Cent looks, well, like 50 Cent. However, I didn't pay close enough attention to see if his the nine bullet wounds on his chest were perfectly rendered. Everything else, however, just looks orange and bland. The enemy models are your generic Middle Eastern bad guys that you've probably seen in 600 other shooters.

    But, If you're looking for a surprise, try 50 Cent: Blood On The Sand out. You'll be surprised at how much fun you can have with it. Worth a rental, or hell, just buy it since it's probably dirt cheap.
    4.0
  • SnrmSnrm417,626
    09 Jul 2010
    13 1 0
    50 cent BOTS is a game much like Army of two but different in many ways. Don't expect to be much of a gangster in this game , cause as far as i know gangsters don't use choppers and explode things in Army warfare.

    Graphics: 7/10
    They were O.K graphics, they were bearable. The Devs really captured what 50 cent looks like. He is wearing a bandana with a hat on top. Whenever i think of 50 cent i think of him looking like that.

    Gameplay: 9/10
    If you like Army Of Two you will probably like 50 cent BOTS. It shares a similar concept. They are both great Co-op games. You earn money as you kill and bash crates to buy guns, counter kills, and taunts with. The game features side "Scenarios" for example" Kill 3 heavy weapon soldiers in 40 seconds" The scenarios make the game a bit more fun.

    Co-Op 9/10
    This game is one of the best games for CO-OP. I would give it a 10/10 for co-op if there was local co-op. Surprisingly many people play this game online co-op so you can still play it with others. The host is always 50-cent and whoever joins can pick from 3 different members from G-unit

    Difficulty 3/10
    Easily one of the easiest "hard" difficulty games i have played. you should have no problem beating it on hard.

    Replay Value: 2/10
    This game is just a quick rent, If you are a achievement hunter or not there isn't much to do after getting all gold badges on all the chapters. I basically turned my system right off once the OG achievement popped. Theres not much to do after getting 1000/1000 in it, because getting 1000/1000 is doing everything the game has to offer



    Achievements: 10/10
    Extremely easy. Just use the guides True achievements have and you should be good. Some problems could be are finding someone to do the "Complete missions as a member of G-Unit" Achievements. Beating the game on hard is easy to do after one "easy" playthrough, after a easy playthrough buy all the best guns and play on hard. While playing on hard tear down all posters and shoot all targets to get maximum points for the OG achievement. Overall a very easy 1000/1000 and you will have fun doing it.
  • dudecrazy108dudecrazy108376,725
    13 Jul 2009
    16 8 4
    Story: Someone stole something from 50 and G-Unit and now they are going to another country to retrieve it and extract revenge on those who betrayed them. Its a 50 Cent game, what do you expect.

    Sound: Liking 50 Cents music does help. The music does make the game good as for some reason it just makes the game feel good. You can turn it off though if you want. Also the taunts and quotes that he says are funny and valgur.

    Graphics: Pretty good graphics. Not the 360's best but pretty decent.

    Controls: Are just like Gears. Quite simple and easy to get use to.

    Gameplay: Plays like a Gears Of War meets The Club. The game runs on a combo system for points and everything. The game also gives you the ablility to buy new guns, weapons, taunts, and finshers which are good. Can get repetitive but online coop is fun but if your partner quits then you have to restart from your last checkpoint.

    Achievements: Easy list mixed with some time taking ones. Beating the missions in single player and coop is easy along with beating it on the different difficultys. With a guide shooting all the extras shouldnt be hard. Buying all the different things along with having 1,000,000 dollors could take awhile but with some effort you can have 1000.

    Long rent/Cheap buy

    8.5/10

    copyrighted by dudecrazy108, written for gamerc.net, posted on trueachievements.com
    5.0
  • Bec9209booBec9209boo44,109
    12 Jul 2011
    6 1 0
    This is a short and cheap game and guaranteed easy 1000g. I would recommend getting a friend to get the game as most people on TA now seem to have completed it therefore you may struggle to find a co-op partner. You could easily just join a game but the chances that the randomer will want the achievements will depend upon your luck as some just seem to wish to mess around on the game.

    The gameplay is straightforward as you just have to kill the bad guys in order to complete the mission. Multiple kills and skill moves will improve your chances of getting the score achievements but you will have to attempt to this on 'Hard difficulty' which is actually pretty easy. In order to get the whole 1000g i had to go through the campaign three times; once for the 50 cent achievements, once as the co-op partner to get the co-op achievements and once to gain the score achievements, me and my friend had to get the multiple kills and the posters and shoot all of the targets on this run through.

    This game took me about 15-20 hours to complete, which is worth the easy 1000g. I would recommend this game to people who want to play an easy shooter game. Even if you dont like 50 Cent or shooting games, you should still be able to obtain this easy 1000g.
    5.0
  • Removed Gamer
    Gamer has been removed
    5 1 0
    When I picked up 50 Cent: BITS on Black Friday I was honestly not looking foreward to the game but for $8 I figured it was worth a gamble, did it exceed my expectations or was it a wasted $8.

    The game is a two player co-op game, when you play solo you get to choose from three members of G-Unit to accompany you along your journey. The commentary is the same half dozen lines over and over. If your a fan of rap music there is plenty of tracks for your listening pleasure. If your like me and do not perfer rap music the mute button works wonders.

    The online co-op functionality is glitchy and somewhat flawed. I have joined at least a dozen different games and twice it was glitched, once I was stuck in a wall and couldnt move and the other it looked like when people would do the wall glitch on Gears 2. Both times I backed out and rejoined and everything was normal. The community is still going, I never had a problem finding a game. I usually found anywhere from 3-10 games going at a time. One major problem with the co-op comes if someone joins your game, if they choose to leave you are sent to the last checkpoint, its not a gamebreaker but it could get frustrating when it happens several times.

    The gameplay is an arcade style third person shooter. You get points for killing enemies, kill streak, type of enemies, finding collectables and blowing up stuff. You get medals based off the points earned, which help you earn achievements assuming you get silver or gold. There were times I had issues with the cover system but it may had been an operator error. They used the same style as Gears but there were some times I wanted to roll out of the way and I would end up hugging a wall, which generally ended with me dying.

    As for the achievements as a whole they are rather easy. The list has you do everything the game has to offer, which is play every level on single player and co-op. There are also achievements for saving money and to unlock all weapons. The only hard achievments are to get gold medals on each level. For the full 1000 your looking at 8-12 hours.

    At the end of the day all your getting for your money is the campaign with online co-op. The game is an enjoyable experience, I found that it wasnt to short but it wasnt dragging on. I would reccomend it to people that enjoy playing a games campaign but if your looking for some versus than your better of looking elseware.
    4.0
  • Baby SheamusBaby Sheamus1,691,564
    06 Jun 2022
    1 0 0
    Welcome to my review of 50 Cent: Blood on the Sand!

    External image


    Released in February 2009 as the sequel to 50 Cent: Bulletproof, Blood on the Sand was developed by Swordfish Studios and published by THQ. Bulletproof, released in 2005, had mostly mixed and negative reviews. However, Blood on the Sand was completely different...

    Gameplay 4/5
    The gameplay is pretty basic, with an emphasis on cover shooting mechanics similar to Gears of Wars. While the gunplay is not as smooth as Gears, I found the controls to feel very good, even when playing over a decade after its release. The game also lets you choose from a wide selection of armed weapons, of course, many of them need to be unlocked via purchase with the in-game currency. Lastly, the game features a couple of mechanics to enhance gameplay: Gangsta Fire slows down gameplay to give you a better shot (similar to Dead Eye in Red Dead). Counter-kills can also be performed, which are close-range attacks activated from a QTE to perform a kill.

    Graphics 3/5
    While nothing is overly spectacular in this department, the graphics are fine for the game. 50 Cent's model looks great, but everything else is just okay. It's clear that beautiful graphics weren't the main focus of the game.

    Sound/Music: 5/5
    As you'd expect, the music is all from 50 Cent. The game gives you a wide variety of his songs, some of them exclusive to the game to select from. The music essentially plays during the gameplay at all times, with the song depending on what you put in your playlist. Besides the music, the sound effects are also surprisingly well. Gunfire and explosions sound great!

    Story: 2/5
    Once again, it's clear where the devs put less effort into the game. The story is rather dull and straightforward. The main plot is that 50 hunts down a skull worth $10 million, and of course, there are some plot twists along the way. Being a game focused on fun arcade-style gameplay, the only pro I can give for the story is that there is voice acting.

    Co-Op: 4/5
    The Co-Op partner gets to play as either Lloyd Banks, Tony Yayo, or DJ Whoo Kid. They have unique dialogue, which makes the second player feel involved in the game, rather than just playing as a nameless character or a clone of 50. No local play is featured, so you'll be forced to play via online play. No issues are presented in Co-op mode, and the fun is doubled!

    Closing Thoughts

    External image


    Blood on the Sand turned out to be a pleasant surprise that nobody saw coming. It's far from a masterpiece, but it's a great game for some fun with a buddy.
    4.0
  • Removed Gamer
    Gamer has been removed
    0 0 0
    One of the first things I did when I dusted off my old Xbox 360 was to start looking for games that I might’ve overlooked or just straight up missed out on playing. I had a bit of narrower mind when it came to what games I wanted to play during the Xbox 360 generation and as such, my game library wasn’t nearly as diverse as it could’ve been. Well, 50 Cent: Blood on the Sand was a game I came across that seemed interesting (having been a fan of 50 Cent’s music in my teen years), but didn’t expect to be all that good, given how his last game reviewed. After finishing the campaign on Hard mode and collecting all the Gold badges for each mission chapter, I can safely say that I’m surprised at how much fun I had with this game. It’s a mindlessly fun, “over-the-top” shooter that’s pretty easy to pick up and play, even now. I kind of wish I had picked it up around the time it came out, since the novelty of playing as 50 Cent would’ve carried the game a lot further for me than it does roughly 12 years later. The timing of it becoming a backwards compatible title couldn’t have been better, since I felt more comfortable playing this game on Xbox One than Xbox 360.

    The game opens with 50 Cent and members of the G-Unit, Lloyd Banks, Tony Yayo and DJ Whoo Kid (who I can’t say I’ve heard of), giving a concert somewhere in the Middle East. They’re owed a cool 10 million dollars for their performance, but are unable to collect because their promoter, Anwar, gets robbed. After 50 Cent threatens Anwar, he produces a rare artifact: A diamond encrusted skull that supposedly belonged to a long deceased prince’s wife. Anwar claims that the skull is considered “priceless” and 50 ends up taking it in lieu of payment. Before they can even leave the city, however, the group is ambushed by a paramilitary gang and skull is stolen by a woman named Leila. This leads to 50 (with the help of which ever G-Unit partner you’ve picked) shooting and fighting their way through bombed-out, decrepit, urban environments. They eventually catch up to Leila, only to learn that this paramilitary group is led by a warlord named Kamal, who is just sort of a “one note” villain character. Kamal eventually betrays Leila and her and 50 team up on the premise of “The enemy of my enemy is my friend” and organizing an assault on Kamal’s compound. This is all done with the singular motivation of 50 wanting his skull back, to the point where it becomes this game’s version of the Holy Grail.

    The writing and the story is not the reason I picked this game up. It’s pretty schlocky and a bit too “on-the-nose” at times, but that’s about what I’d expect from a game that features 50 Cent and truthfully, I’m all for it. If you take the writing in this game too seriously, then you’re kind of missing the point. If there’s one criticism I have of the overall story, it’s that feels a bit too drawn out for my liking. Which is kind of hilarious when the whole game only took me about 5 to 6 hours to complete. The plot suffers from the same issue that Far Cry 3 did: where you spend the majority of the game pursuing who the game largely establishes as main villain, only to kill him off in a boss fight and have the game go “Oops, here’s a another villain that was supposedly pulling all the strings from the shadows, that we’ve never mentioned and are just trotting him out now! Go bother him for a bit.” This results in another 2 missions including a boss fight and while it only take about 30 to 45 minutes to finish those last two chapters, it all just felt like needless padding. The story concludes as well as it could’ve after mission 7 and that’s about where I would’ve ended the story.

    The core gameplay loop will feel familiar to any one who’s played a Gears of War game or something comparable to that. Blood on the Sand is a bog standard third person, cover based shooter where you can snap to cover, pop out to shoot enemies, blind fire from behind cover, dodge roll to avoid grenades and taking damage and you have regenerating health. The level design and art direction are similar to what you’d see in games like Call of Duty or Gears of War. That’s not to say it’s bad or unoriginal, the levels function as needed, they’re mostly well rendered and will feel familiar to a lot of gamers. Weapons are all based on real world models and are broken down into 4 categories. You’ve got Assault Rifles and LMGs, close combat weapons like Shotguns and SMGs, long range weapons like sniper rifles and Rocket Launchers and Pistols that have infinite ammo. You can also collect money from smashing open crates and killing enemies in order to purchase weapons through pay phones found throughout each level. There’s incentive to try and collect as much money as possible, not just by killing enemies but seeking out and smashing all the crates in each level. Aside from the “Millionaire” achievement, which requires you to have $1,000,000 in the bank, the weapons in this game can be pretty expensive but you’re going to want to start buying them as soon as you can. The starting weapon is an AK-47 with a 25 round magazine that does fuck all damage. But collect enough money and you can buy what appears to be a scoped G36 that can double as a long range rifle. Or and LMG with a 100 round magazine that cuts enemies down with brutal efficiency.

    The combat in this game I’d say is pretty decent. There are some good blood, gore and particle effects when killing enemies or when bullets are whizzing by you and bouncing off walls or objects. The Shotguns and LMGs have a pretty heavy sound to them and they’re both fun to use. The game even has it’s own version of bullet time called “Gangsta Fire”, which will feel familiar to anyone who’s played a Max Payne or F.E.A.R game. Enemy movement slows down to a crawl, but you can move at normal speed allowing you to dodge enemy fire and have more precise aiming. You can also use Gangsta fire to help you get in close to enemies and perform a “Counter Kill”. Hit a series of button prompts with the right timing and, if done correctly, it allows 50 to pull off what is essentially a Glory Kill. While it won’t regenerate your health, it does regenerate your gangsta fire, offers up huge points bonus, feature some pretty brutal animations and the enemies can’t fuck you over while this is happening. The one interesting and kind of funny gameplay mechanic is the “Taunts” system. I’m trying to think of a game where shit talking enemy NPCs as you put a bullet through their brain was a part of a game’s core loop and I honestly can’t think of one, before or since this game come out. Immediately after killing someone, click in the Left Thumbstick and 50’s going to throw out some hilariously “scathing” one liners. Call some one a “Punk Bitch!”, a “Fucking cocksucker!” or to “Eat this, you pussy!” and it gives you a score increase of +25% per kill, on top of whatever bonuses you accumulate as well with each kill. This all helps culminate into the game’s end of level points system, so spam click that left thumbstick and tell enemies to “Step up, pussies!” every time, because I sure as shit did. On top of that, as part of the game’s economy, you can also buy “Taunt” packs as well as “Counter Kills” to go along with weapon purchases.

    The game also functions a lot like an arcade style shooter, where points and combo multipliers are popping up on screen almost constantly. You get extra points by chaining together multiple kills, for lighting enemies on fire, blowing them up with explosives or getting a headshot among other bonuses, while using mechanics like the “Counter Kills” and “Taunts” to bolster your score even further. Several times during each chapter, these “Scenarios” pop up that require you to complete a specific task within a time limit. These “Scenarios” are optional in the sense that you won’t fail the chapter if you miss them, but the “Scenario Master” achievement requires completing 50 of them (which will happen pretty easily during the run of play) and they also give you points towards your end of chapter score. Theses “Scenarios” aren’t all that hard to complete and they largely boil down to “Kill X number of enemies with a certain time” or “Collect X amount of money within a certain time”. At the end of each chapter, you’re awarded either a Bronze, Silver or Gold badge based on how high your score is. There’s achievements tied to getting all of the Silver and Gold badges, but if want those Gold Badges, you’ll have to play on Hard mode since the game doesn’t afford you enough points on the lower difficulties. Don’t let that dissuade you though, this is a pretty breezy game even on Hard mode with only the last few missions providing anything remotely challenging. Certain levels end with a boss fight against a helicopter that gets rehashed three times and it just feels really uninspired and repetitive; use “Gangsta Fire” and shoot rockets at it until it blows up.

    I’d say the way the game flows is pretty good. It boils down to the structure of: hallway, arena, hallway, arena, with the combat having a decent pace to it, for the most part. Watching enemies hurtle through the air when getting blown up or sending enemies flying back 10 feet after pumping a shotgun slug into their chest really helps embody the over-the-top, arcade shooter that it is. My one criticism revolves around the posters you collect and targets you have to shoot placed around the level. These serve as the games collectible strands and they also tie into the points system in the game. Finding all 5 posters and shooting down all 5 targets results in an extra 600,000 points collectively. There are exceptions, but you have get between 1,000,000 and 1,600,000 points (depending on the level) in order to get the Gold badge for that chapter, in fact, it might be borderline impossible to get the Gold badge in a level without finding all posters and targets. This is a problem for two reasons: 1) it grinds the combat flow to a halt, having to search the area and make sure you didn’t miss a poster or a target and 2) the game’s point system should’ve been balanced in a way that getting a Gold badge on a mission is still reasonably obtainable, even if you’ve missed one or two posters or targets. This is the one part of the game that I can say that I truly disliked, but knowing that it was virtually required to get the Gold badges, I begrudgingly pulled up a locations guide and hunted them all down.

    The music in this game I suppose hinges on whether or not you like 50 Cent’s music. Although if you’re buying a game with 50 Cent in it, I assume you must like his music to some extent. There’s an in-game music player that allows you to pick and choose songs from various albums and have that be your in-game soundtrack. I’m not as big a fan of 50 Cent’s music as I used to be, but I still manage to find about a dozen songs I remember from back in the day and then just shuffle those songs during the gameplay.

    On a technical level, this game is mostly fine. It runs pretty smoothly on both Vanilla Xbox 360 and Vanilla Xbox One. The loading times are pretty quick and I experienced no freezes or crashes-to-dashboard. The game does hitch for a moment when saving a checkpoint but run pretty smoothly otherwise, with not much in the way of lag or stuttering during combat. The game runs on Unreal Engine 3, so graphically, it looks fine. It does however suffer from pretty noticeable texture pop-in, especially when initially loading into a level, that UE 3 became infamous for.

    In terms of achievements, it’s a pretty easy list to get through with most being tied to completing each mission for both single player and co-op. there’s your standard difficulty based ones, as well as ones for unlocking all weapons and ‘Taunt” packs and one for having a million dollars in the bank.

    Overall, 50 Cent: Blood on the Sand was a pleasant surprise for me and I didn’t think I’d enjoy this game as much as I did. It’s just a mindlessly fun, third person shooter that’s easy to pick up and play, while coming in with a play time of around 5 to 6 hours. If you’ve got a weekend to kill or if your in between your favourite releases, you could do way worse than 50 Cent: Blood on the Sand.
    4.0
  • donjokajonesdonjokajones2,436
    05 Aug 2009
    1 6 0
    50 cent blood on the sand is NOT a bad game despite what you may think.
    we all know bulletproof wasnt the best game by far but BotS makes up for bulletproofs crappyness.The story is 50 cent and G-unit are doing a show in iraq (they don't have running water but they have 50 cent playing a concert?)laugh
    After the show fifty wants his money but the guy instead gives him a jewel encrusted skull instead (ok?) then they are driveing and some terriosts attack the car then steal fiftys skull. From there 50 goes on a violent rampage killing everybody he sees just to get his skull back. the game itself is a mixture of gears,army of two,and the club. the game uses an arcade style point system in which for example you kill 3 enemys in a row you get more points.the sound is 3 things 50 cent's music,explosion/gunfire,and 50 cent himself screaming swear words.overall the game is good. not great but good. recommended rent not buy