Banjo-Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts Reviews

  • Blackflame0729Blackflame072979,153
    28 Dec 2008 13 Apr 2009
    45 18 11
    A good game with many good points and unfortantly some bad points too. But if you like the the original games, you will more likely like this game. So lets kick it all off with the story:

    -Story:
    Banjo and Kazooie are relaxing one day in spiral mountain, playing their Xbox360 when they hear some noise but can't see anything so like normal heros, they go and check it out. Banjo and Kazooie have become fat and lazy and cannot move very fast. They find the head of Gruntilda down at the end of the path and right as they are about to fight, The Lord Of All Games (also called L.O.G.) interupts them saying it would be a boring fight. So L.O.G. restores them to fighting form (giving Banjo muscles and Gruntilda a body) and then ships them to a video game town where just you must gather Jiggies from levels to gain back entrance to Spiral Mountain. Along the way you will gather different types of vechiles which will help you overcome the challenges in the different worlds.

    -Pros:
    ~This is a great game if you love to become creative because there is a wide selection of vechile parts to choose from for you to create your own planes, cars, trucks, or wheatever you have in mind.
    ~The graphics are great. From Banjo's fur on his face to the sewed togather landscape of Nutty Acres. Its all great.
    ~The achievements are both easy and difficult. And then there are the fun ones. Pick up a cow and throw him in the volcano? Sounds good.
    -Great for all ages of gamers.
    ~The physics of cars, boats and planes are just like real life!

    -Cons:
    ~Some vechicle controls are difficult.
    ~Camera still isnt the greatest out there.
    ~The physics of cars, boats and planes are just like real life! LOL!

    -Overall:
    A great sequeal to a great game. If you liked the other, you'll most likely like this one. Good gameplay with many hours of gameplay.
    5.0
    Showing most recent comments. View all comments.
    SS PainterI have to disagree and say this game is nothing like the vintage Banjo Kazooie Games. Instead of the massive amount of collection and platforming, you only have to track down the challenges (which are marked on the radar) and ace them. Besides Musical Notes (which are pretty useless once you amass a certain amount of them), there is no motivation to explore and collect items in any level except the overworld.

    However this game was still fun for me to play and it's definitely not Rare's worse game ever (still bottom of the list though :-/
    Posted by SS Painter on 08 Sep 10 at 05:40
    JuicedBeaverGood review! The game basically set itself up for disappointment by using the Banjo Kazooie name but creating a very different game. There is nothing wrong with the game itself, just the expectation it creates.
    Posted by JuicedBeaver on 18 Dec 10 at 16:51
    GaTechGradJust read the review blurb from the game page. It's an okay racing game that gives tons of customization for building vehicles. However, anyone expecting a traditional Banjo-Kazooie experience similar to the original games will be highly disappointed.
    Posted by GaTechGrad on 22 Jul 12 at 03:51
  • ljp0390ljp0390110,031
    27 Apr 2011 27 Apr 2011
    18 2 0
    Like many fans of the original series of the N64, I was extremely excited to hear that a new Banjo-Kazooie was making its way onto the Xbox 360. Although this entry in the franchise is different then the first two, for the most part, it does well in keeping the magic that made the original so good.

    Story

    The story takes place eight years after the events of Banjo-Tooie. Due to the fact that Gruntilda, the main villain of the series, has been dead all these years, our heroes have been rather lazy and have let themselves go, with Banjo and Kazooie both overweight and laying on the couch and playing nothing other then, yep you guessed it, the Xbox 360. However, they are quickly sprung into action when the head of Gruntilda comes back to Spiral Mountain, the home of Banjo-Kazooie, and demands a fight. Just as they are about to however, a new character, L.O.G., comes in and offers a solution: To settle their differences by competing in a series of games to see who is truly the ruler of Spiral Mountain. They both agree, and are thrust into L.O.G.'s world to begin their challenge. Overall, the story is rather enjoyable and has the same sense of humor as the first two. Any fans of the original series will find themselves enjoying this story just as much.

    Game play

    This is where you start to see some differences in this game versus the first two games. Some things, such as music notes, jiggys, and jingo's are still in the game. However, two of the most notable differences are the fact that moves are non-existent in this game. In previous installments, you would collect music notes in order to buy different moves, whether it be separating the two heroes or using kazooie as a weapon. In this game, however, you have no moves, for the exception of jumping. The reason for this is due to the second game play change, which is the use and creation of vehicles. In order to get jiggys, which are needed in order to advance the story and unlock the different game worlds, you must complete different challenges, such as getting from point A to B in X amount of time or transporting items to places. In order to do these challenges, you must have a vehicle, with each vehicle being tailored for that specific challenge. For people who are really creative, there is a lot of fun to be had creating different types of vehicles to complete challenges. I have even meet people who spend their time in the workshop just creating vehicles for fun and not for any specific challenges. However, if you, like me, aren't that good at creating well and unique vehicles, this feature might not appease you. Each challenge offers you the choice of using an already created vehicle, but in order to get the best score possible, it will be necessary to create your own. Also, the final boss requires you to build a super vehicle in order to defeat her which can be tough for the reason I mentioned above. At the time of writing this review, I have yet to beat the final boos for this reason cry. Fans of the previous installments might be put off by the changes present in it but if you are new to the series or enjoy the vehicle aspect of the game you will have a lot of fun with this game. Overall, the game play is pretty solid

    Multiplayer

    Although the online community is scarce, if not dead already, the games available are pretty fun and vary. You can play either split-screen or online. The games vary from regular racing around a track to games such as seeing how far you can travel after soaring down a ramp. All in all, this game could be a lot of fun if you have friends to play with, especially if all of you have crazy vehicles like a Bowser car, for example. This is the type of multiplayer that you have more fun playing and losing then simply trying to win. If your looking for a stress free multiplayer, then look no further then here, just make sure you have friends to play with.

    Achievements( No bearing in my score, but I am featuring this in here as this is an achievement site).

    The achievements in this game are ok for the most part. They vary, with some of them being collectibles, some of them for simply progressing through the story, and others that are random but fun. The multiplayer ones are not hard if you boost, which, unfortunately, might be the only way to get them since it does take a while to find a game. This game, while a little hard to get all of them, is possible with patience and perseverance. Luckily, there are no glitched achievements so completionist's have nothing to worry about. This game does include DLC as well but I don't have it so cannot comment on it.

    Final Thoughts

    All in all, this is a very fun and enjoyable game. There is a lot of things you can do, from trying to collect all jiggys and notes to trying to build the craziest vehicle you can. Although there is a noticeable difference from the first two games, especially if you are big fans of the first two like myself, the vibe of the game is still the same. I highly recommend both fans and newcomers alike to give this title a shot.

    4/5

    Like always, I would highly appreciate any and all constructive criticism you all have to offer in order to improve my reviews in the future.
    4.0
  • MrGrinch989MrGrinch989178,050
    25 Mar 2012
    12 2 0
    I remember when I was a kid the first time I saw the game Banjo Kazooie for the N64. I thought it was the coolest game ever, and I was actually right, because even to this day, game developers look back at it and compare their own adventure platformers and ponder how they can make their own game reach the standards of Rare's Bear and Bird duo (if they can't reach Mario standards of course :) ).

    Anyway, since rare is now working for Microsoft and seeing how I recently got my Xbox 360, I thought it would be fun to play all previous Banjo Kazooie games and the brand new one( this one) on my Xbox 360.

    For those of you who don't know, Banjo Kazooie games are about a bear named Banjo who walks around carrying a backpack where he also carries his life mate Kazooie the smart-mouth Bird.

    I downloaded the first Banjo Kazooie game, and it was just as I have remembered it, classic, I beat it in 7 hours or less. The seccond game Banjo Tooie, I didn't enjoy that much. It was still good, but it was over complicated. The levels took forever and sometimes I would spend more than an hour until I would find a single collectable. I guess the idea was to make the sequel more challenging. I should also point out that the Stop n Swop trick actually worked in this game.
    Before I begin describing my experience with this (third) game, I'd like to point out that the basic idea of the first two games was to go from level to level, do various events and quests in order to obtain collectables.

    In Nuts and Bolts, however, you do the exact same thing, except, you use vehicles. Yup, instead of walking around with Banjo and Kazooie while jumping, shooting eggs, flying and all that good stuff, you will simply jump into a car, boat and an airplane and do the same things you did in the last two games.
    Before I get any deeper into the subject I should start this analyzing the story.

    The story (if there is one) is this: Banjo and Kazooie, after not being in a game for over 10 years, have let themselves go and and are lazily resting in their house, when suddenly the Lord of Games appears, and scolds them for their inactivity. Seeing how he is the Lord of Games, he makes them fit again and sends them into his brand new AWESOME game, he created just for them. The game consists of getting Jiggy pieces whilst performing from simple to complex tasks (HOW ORIGINAL) by using vehicles. He even brings back Gruntilda, or at least what's left of her, to be the villain of the game.
    Well that's the story. Hopefully the gameplay will be a little better...

    The gameplay is simply this. You drive a trolley cart around town and enter levels that contain quests which upon completing earn you a Jiggy. The main town (hub) called Showdown Town is a very lively place indeed, it almost looks like a GTA town except with animal residents. You can drive your trolley around this town and collect musical notes, vehicle parts and secret stuff. When you enter a level things change slightly. You won't be able to do all (any) of the quests with your trolley, instead you will have to select or make another vehicle.
    This is where this game shines. You have your very own garage where you create your own vehicle just the way you want it. It's as simple as making a car out of Legos. You put a seat, the body, an engine or two, a fuel tank and of course the wheels, and that's pretty much all the basics. The beauty of this feature is that as you progress through the game and gain more parts for your vehicle you will be able to let your imagination run wilder and wilder. If you want to create a rocket car, there's nothing stopping you. Big foot? You name it. A car that can fly, float and shoot lasers, YUP, this game has it all. And of course, after you make your vehicle, you can use to your hearts desire. How fun is that? Just wait...

    Let's talk about the numerous quests in the game. Each quest can award you a single Jiggy and seeing how there are exactly 131 jiggys to collect thru out the entire game I think it's safe to say that we can expect a lot of various challenges. Right? YUP! You may be surprised by my statement because most other reviews state that this game is lacking in variation of quests, but the way I see it, that definitely isn't the case. You will have regular races, fetch missions, shoot offs, defending spots or people, shooting hoops with a basketball (from a vehicle), knocking out dominoes, driving with reversed controls, staying on the correct path, vehicle sumo wrestling (I'm not kidding), and many many more. So as you can see, variation isn't the problem.

    The graphics are nicely pixelated and look fresh and cartoony. The music consists of remixed tunes from the previous Banjo and Kazooie games.

    So why did I give this game a low score? What is the main feature any game needs to have in order to be successful? Fun factor? So is this game fun?

    Yes it is, for about an hour or two, too bad you have to spend at least 20 hours until you beat it.

    Like I said, there are various quests and challenges that you can undertake, but after a while they just STOP BEING FUN, and a game that isn't fun is just an empty shell without a soul.
    So how did this game stop being fun all of a sudden? Well there are 3 main problems to why and here they are:

    1. The controls - Good god, It's like the game is made from butter, Ice and floor wax all mixed together. The controls are so loose that even the most hardcore players can't help but crash at anything in their way. When you turn left or right, you risk you car flipping over, when you hit a mailbox with a car that's as big as a mountain, you will flip over. When you hit another opponent you might as well restart the challenge because your car can even fly to another dimension from the impact. To sum up, physics in this game make no sense. Either they are to extreme or too loose. The flying sequences work a little better but when racing on land, anything can happen, no matter how well you craft a vehicle.

    2. The difficulty- I already stated that once you beat a challenge you earn a Jiggy. Is it hard to earn a Jiggy. Not at all, in fact it's ridiculously easy, even for little kids, but luckily, you can also win a T.T. trophy along with the Jiggy which you need to get even more Jiggys. To earn a T.T. trophy you usually have to do a challenge faster, and during the first few levels I was earning them without even trying. The problem arose during the middle when I needed more specific vehicles in order to do the challenges faster. So, I went back to the garage and made a new vehicle. The problem is that as you progress more and more, you will need to keep doing like this until the point to where you will need a new vehicle for every single T.T. Trophy challenge. Sometimes I thought that a challenge was impossible, until I crafted a vehicle that made it the challenge look easier than Fable.

    3. The most obvious problem of this game is - WHAT THE HECK DOES ANY OF THIS HAVE TO DO WITH THE PAST TWO GAMES! This game is the equivalent of Mario putting on a power armor and going to outer space to hunt Goombas with a Spartan Laser. If it weren't for all the characters from the previous two games, I would have forgotten that I was even playing a game with "Banjo Kazooie" in the title. Why is it that you can't use feathers to fly, that you can't shoot eggs, that you can't fall asleep in your backpack and that you can't even punch anymore? It's all about the stupid vehicles that aren't even that fun.
    I really loved it that at the end of the game, you got a quiz from L.O.G. after he said: "It wouldn't be a Banjo Kazooie game without a quiz".

    YES, IT WOULDN'T BE A BANJO KAZOOIE GAME WITHOUT A QUIZ, BUT IT'S "DEFINITELY" A BANJO KAZOOIE GAME WHEN YOU DRIVE CARS, PLANES AND BOATS!!!!
    Speaking of Banjo Kazooie, Banjo is the driver of all the vehicles right? So what is Kazooies role? Well, she has a magic wrench that can move objects around, which you don't use that often. This could have easily been done by Banjo alone, so I believe it's safe to say that Kazooie is just along for the ride.

    There is also a multiplayer mode which allows you to race via split screen or co-op. So tell me, if this game has a grade of 8.5, why was I never able to find anyone online to race with?
    Not only that, you actually have a marathon mode that includes 34 races for you to beat in one go. Too much, for you? Well, it's not a problem seeing how this IS A "GREAT" game!

    In conclusion, this was a neat idea by Rare. The problem was that the controls needed some more polishing and that they chose Banjo and Kazooie to be the main characters. They could have made anyone else and the game would have gotten a better rating (from me at least).

    My advice: if you have a creative mind, give this game a try, and you might like it. If you are a fan of the Banjo Kazooie series or not that creative, steer clear of this game, it's just not worth it.
    3.0
  • Josh LandonJosh Landon453,712
    14 May 2009
    18 11 3
    I agree with both of the above two reviews. I liked this game a lot, but it is absolutely nothing like the previous two Banjo games. I loved both Banjo Kazooie and Banjo Tooie, and was very much looking forward to this game, so I was a little disappointed when I started this one to discover that it's completely different. But after a couple of hours I liked this game in its own right.

    The game is all vehicle based and you earn your jiggies by completing various challenges. For most of these challenges you can design your own vehicle (or just use the default ones that you are given). It takes a bit of practice, but once you get into it, it's really fun to build and try out your vehicles, and it's very rewarding to finally beat a challenge using a vehice that you built. The challenges are varied: from standard racing (where fast vehicles are required), to fighting (so you'll need firepower), to sumo (big vehicles required here), fetching, and many other interesting challenges. You'll need lots of different types of vehicles: watercraft, land (cars, trucks, bikes, etc.), and aircraft (planes and helicopters). The physics for all of these are amazing and very realistic, which as an above reviewer mentioned is both great and can be fustrating!

    The graphics are incredible, and all the Banjo characters look great. Like I said earlier, this isn't really a Banjo game, more like a different game set in the Banjo universe. Kind of like Paper Mario or Mario RPG is to the regular Mario games. I still hope that Rare does make Banjo Threeie one day, as this is not that sequel, but this is still a very fun game.

    As for the achievements, I think it's a great list and they're all doable. The single player ones should come with time, by far the hardest one is "Jiggilionaire", which involves obtaining all 131 jiggies, and will test your patience a lot! Some of the online ones can be a pain due to lack of people playing the game online so it can take awhile to get a game. Also, there is now DLC (for another 250 GS) which is great and well worth the $5 (400 MS points) for anyone who enjoyed the main game.
    4.0
  • AV8OR ACEAV8OR ACE81,477
    19 Sep 2012
    7 2 1
    I have not played any of the previous Banjo games, but from what I've read this is a departure from those.

    Whit that said, I give this game 5 out of 5 jiggies.

    I am an older gamer with three children, and this game has provided us with many hours of fun together. It is challenging enough to keep experienced gamers playing, yet simple enough that younger children have fun without getting frustrated.

    It would be hard to classify it as any one type of game because it has lots of different elements that can keep you busy depending upon which activities your in the mood for.

    It has elements of: platforming, racing, building, and strategy.

    The achievements are fun and varied.

    The graphics are beautiful.

    The physics work quite well for the game.

    You can spend hours on many different types of activities, from:
    Building different types of vehicles-cars, boats, planes, and helicopters. It's quite limitless. I've seen some really cool designs on-line. You can also upload your designs and download others from the community.

    Competing in the competitions in either single or multiplayer.

    Searching the beautifully rendered levels for collectibles.

    In conclusion,
    Banjo Kazooie Nuts & Bolts offers many hours of fun for old and young gamers alike. If you're looking for a game you can play with your children that will keep everyone involved and having fun I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS GAME!!!
    5.0
  • Activ3 Rel0adActiv3 Rel0ad275,646 275,646 GamerScore
    21 Sep 2012
    7 3 0
    I'm a big fan of the Banjo Kazooie and Banjo Tooie games from a couple of years ago, it is fun playing and discover some places in the game. When I first start the Banjo Kazooie Nuts & Bolts game I was a little bit confused, because in the other games you could not even drive in a car and in this one you can build your own one !

    It is fun playing this game, also the multiplayer makes it more fun to play with friends.

    When you'll play the game you will find out that this is a other game then we used to expect from Banjo Kazooie. I agree alot what is told in the other reviews that this one is a hole other game, but that makes it more fun and exciting to play this new one.

    - Achievements
    There not so hard to get, only the mulitplayer are frustrated ones sometime because not a lot people are playing anymore.

    -Gameplay
    It is a hole another gameplay then we used to know, but that's a challenge to get in the game.

    -Story
    It is a great story to play, a lot things to do and have fun walking/driving/floating around the worlds to get some achievements.

    A great game to play as a fan or just wanna try something new. I'll gives this a 4 star, because I'll have fun gaming and love this game a lot, I can recommend this game for fans !
    4.0
  • nomunonomuno158,774
    13 Dec 2014
    5 3 0
    When hailed in comparison to its predecessors, Nuts & Bolts lacks the "energy" the previous games captured so well. As a whole however, the game is an enjoyable experience any casual gamer could enjoy.

    PLOT:
    Following eight years after the events of Banjo-Tooie, the dynamic bird an bear duo now find themselves fat and lazy from the years. Gruntilda, now reduced to a skull, escapes into Spiral Mountain where she is confronted by Banjo and Kazooie. Their ensuing fight is, literally, paused by the Lord of Games (L.O.G. for short). To settle their dispute, L.O.G. issues a series of challenges over many alternate worlds. Then, after restoring the physical attributes each character once possessed the Lord of Games takes the three to Showdown Town where duo must battle the witch Gruntilda over the control of Spiral Mountain, or eternity in the Lord of Games's video game factory.

    GAMEPLAY:
    As opposed to the traditional "move-based" game, Nuts & Bolts removes moves all together. Instead the player is given a trolley car and a workshop. As the player gains new parts, they may build any variation of vehicle from land, air, and sea. The more challenges completed, the more parts earned. Each challenge is vehicle specific, so more parts means more challenges.
    Challenges can be anything from transporting an item, fighting another vehicle, or simply racing. Regardless, the challenge is certainly going to be a test of the players skill and imagination.

    AESTHETICS:
    Naturally the graphics are a step up from its previous games. My only criticism, really, is the fact that much of the music is just remixed versions of those previous games. Other than that, the controls are a bit loose, but easily adaptable.

    ONLINE:
    Even a year or two after the games launch, online was very empty. Now, almost seven years later, you may be lucky to find one or two people still playing. Regardless, Nuts & Bolts's multiplayer modes are good for a little fun, and better for adding new cars to your collection.

    Final Thoughts:
    If you purchase this game expecting it to be exactly like those previous, then you might as well take it back. Banjo Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts is almost complete a divergence from its originals, but change isn't necessarily a bad thing. Open your mind a bit, and you will like this game.
    3.5
  • Removed Gamer
    Gamer has been removed
    1 6 7
    If you're going to make a negative vote, at least tell me why in the comments.

    In 1998, a franchise was born, and in 2000, it seemed to have ended, with a mere GameBoyAdvance game pleasing the fans two years later. However, I can't compare this game to the others in that franchise - and why? Because it's completely different.

    The story really lacks in this game. Grunty's back, and that's about..it. Banjo and Kazooie have grown rather obese from eating pizza. It sounds like Rare's smoking material is going a bit dry. Maybe they need some new stock?

    The characters are the most annoying yet, the Lord of Games being the worst. Why he couldn't go and destroy the Halo franchise instead baffles me. He comes into the Banjo-Kazooie universe, declares the worlds fake, everybody actors, and basically ruins the charm and everything good about the first game. He takes away platforming and replaces it with dry nothingness.

    I got 100% on absolutely everything on this game. The challenges the game presented me are wonderful. The graphics are amazing.

    In fact, everything's brilliant about this game except Trophy Thomas and the Lord of Games.