Bayonetta Reviews

  • Zach Cooper FBIZach Cooper FBI0
    23 Feb 2010
    75 13 9
    The average person will take one look at Bayonetta and assume that it is a low quality game with no redeeming qualities, relying primarily on the main character's sex appeal in order to siphon money from the pockets of horny adolescents. The average person will also miss out on one of the most amazing gaming experiences in existence because they are foolish meat heads who can't see past a great set of bosoms.

    I will begin with saying that it is a game like Bayonetta that truly reminds me why I love video games. It is a game like Bayonetta that comes along when I am losing faith in gaming, yet fills me with such excitement and energy that I can't help but want to live life with infinite enthusiasm and play even harder. A game that lets me experience things I may never see in my lifetime. A game that takes my fantasies and puts them on the screen in front of me, giving me the opportunity to reach out and touch my dreams.

    Now you are probably sitting there, wondering why you are still reading my review, while giving me some fairly odd looks. As I have been going on poetically, about a game that features a woman who runs around fighting angelic looking monster with guns, demonic swords, bazookas and many other crazy weapons, all while wearing nothing but her own hair. Now half my audience has stopped reading this review because they are running to the store to go and pick the game up. While the other half is about to stop reading because there is no way such an over the top concept could make a good game. To that I say, such a game that holds onto the ridiculous with such passion and then blows ridiculous away with a ankle mounted shotgun, you would have to be mad not to experience it.

    Bayonetta is a stylish action, beat em up fest. The closest games I could compare it to would be Devil May Cry 4 and Ninja Gaiden 2. Now before you run away screaming like a sissy, because I am mentioning two of the most difficult games on the 360. Beating the game and getting all the achievements is not nearly as challenging as in DMC4 and NG2. In fact if anything playing a game like Bayonetta will train you and give you the skills to triumph over those games. In fact the director of Bayonetta is Hideki Kamiya, the man who helped create the original Resident Evil game, directed Resident Evil 2, the original Devil May Cry and Viewtiful Joe. So if anyone knows how to make over the top action, it is this guy.

    Now I think I have expressed enough about how I love the game, I might as well get this review really started and lay down some key details. I think I will start with the story because that is what I randomly decided while sitting here.

    Story
    If you come to a game like Bayonetta and expect it's story to make you feel as though you have just experienced the world's next great literary masterpiece, well then you must find yourself disappointed in life because you're the same guy who goes to hotdog stands expecting Joel Robuchon to appear out of thin air and take you to his secret moon base which hides the temple of the culinary elite who have decided you must taste their holy creations. Bayonetta's story is what you would expect from a B Movie, most of the time it is implausible, ridiculous, disjointed and pumped full of hearty cliché juice that would complete any breakfast. Yet regardless I found all the characters charming, enjoyable, memorable and I would like to see them in a sequel. They also contain enough originality and complexity to keep you interested and make them stand out from other games. By the end of my time with Bayonetta I wanted to join the characters in one big happy family, like in a sitcom of the 80s.

    Gameplay
    I guess some of you people care about the gameplay, I mean it only has to do with how the game actually works and feels. The gameplay is solid, sexy, smooth, sensual and... Um, super duper! The combat mechanics of this game work wonderfully, I felt the combos were easy to pull off, simple to learn and the different weapons did not overwhelm me. Basically I cannot remember an occasion during the exploration or combat part of the gameplay in which the controls bothered me. I did not even think about the controls as I went about raining wanton destruction on everything in existence.

    I also enjoyed the camera and for the most part it went where I wanted. I will admit there were times where it would do some odd things that I did not appreciate. Yet for a game that has you running up and down walls, ceilings, flying debris and riding motorcycles into space, the camera gets the job done. I find it easy to forgive any hiccups it may have, especially when you have games like this which are made or broken by the camera. You want something that works and for the most part in Bayonetta it works quite well, in many ways what it does right, it does better than other games in the genre.

    As you progress through the game, the experience is kept fresh as you unlock new powers, gameplay features and weapons. Each new aspect really changes the way you approach battles, move about the environment and how you play as a whole. Your first play through of the game may go one way while with your next, you may discover a whole new way of approaching the game's challenges, which you will find can make the game feel completely different. Throw in some beautifully animated 'torture attacks,' impressive demon summoning super attacks and artifacts which give you different abilities that really change up the game play. With all this, you will be able to experiment for quite some time to find different play styles that truly appeal to you.

    Also while we're here I will mention the boss fights. They make me want to seek out Mike Tyson and try to fight him using only my pinkies as weapons and a George Forman grill as armor in order to recapture the same feeling of excitement, intensity and wowie zowie that I get when squaring off against the game's colossal bosses.

    I do have one criticism that I am going to address. I did not enjoy how the game uses quick time events. You know the things where you are watching a cutscene and suddenly it tells you to push 'X' or your head explodes? Yeah, the game has a few of those. As well, some of the more complicated attacks will have you mashing your buttons and swivling your sticks as fast as you can in order to charge up your super mega, kill everything attacks. This is a problem because when I am told to mash a button as fast as I can, I usually end up spraining my mashing fingers or the controller explodes under my button pushing fury.

    Another thing that really gets my goat would have to be the amount of invisible walls throughout the game. It is especially troubling when a game that inspires you to explore and interact with its unique level designs, makes such blatant use of invisible walls.

    The final thing I would like to mention about the gameplay is how they mix it up is by featuring a nifty arcade shooter minigame at the end of each level. Not only does it add a change of place and a nice refresher, do well enough and you can earn bonus items for the next level. The game also departs from its core, kill everything that moves gameplay and has you participating in some other truly fantastic sequences, filled with spectacles of badassaitude (I don't need real words baby!) These sequences which I will allow you to discover for yourself may either be hit or miss, they really are quite a departure from the rest of the game but they are not featured so often as to completely derail everything. So if you enjoy them great, if you despise them well at least you don't have to play them all the time.

    Sound
    I want to buy the soundtrack to this game, I have never actually bought a game soundtrack before but I would for Bayonetta. The music throws a bowling ball of delight up my alley and scores a strike and then wins the championship and gets carried out of the bowling lanes on the shoulders of a cheering crowd. Perhaps I am getting a little too excited and praising the soundtrack all willy nilly without properly considering it, but really it has everything I love. It is a mixture of Classic, Jazz, Blues and even a bit of Swing accompanied by more contemporary Rock and Orchestral theme.

    The sound effects are rather swell as well, crunching, slicing, explosions and all sorts of other demonic noises really complete the overall effect. Granted the voice acting probably is not the best but I don't really worry about it all that much. The game also features heavily the song "fly me to the moon" which has been redone by Helena Noguerra. It is quite an upbeat, jazzy version which I find quite engaging, yet it also is referenced in other aspects of the game.

    Visuals
    The graphics are quite enjoyable. I am not really a graphics person but for what it is, I have to say the art style and the character models really appeal to me. The development team spent days trying to get Bayonetta's beautiful bum just right. It has unique and interesting character designs, enemy designs and world designs. To me everything appears to be sharp like a knife and oh so very colorful. I would say that even the basic character models are better than those used in CG sequences in other games. I would also like to mention that the way the characters have been animated seem more fluid and lifelike than most any game I have played on the 360. Much more convincing and enjoyable than any game that tries to perfectly mimic human expression.

    I would say the biggest visual drawback is that in many of the less substantial cutscenes. they choose to simply speak over still images rather than animate the cutscene. Not all is lost though, usually those cutscenes are more dialogue focused anyway. Overall everything is done in a sleek, sexy, artistic, incredible and fanciful style which I found to be rather appealing.

    Something I also found interesting was how the designers of the game had female gamers in mind. They tried to bring a bit of a feminine feel to the world and wanted to make Bayonetta more than a character for male gamers to fawn over. Many of the colors, effects and little artistic touches feature more traditionally "feminine" themes. You have butterflies, roses, candy and much more, which I really enjoy as well, but hey they are trying to reach a wide audience. I have shown this game to quite a few of my female friends who are less inclined to videogames and they do seem much more receptive to Bayonetta, even asking to see more, which was not the case with Halo. (Some people just can't understand the sexiness of Master Chief.)

    Multiplayer
    You have leader boards, enjoy!

    Achievements and Replay Value
    It took me less than 30 hours of actual playtime (closer to 20) to achieve the full 1000 in the game. There are some collecting achievements but most of your time will revolve around beating the game on the hardest difficulties. Add in a couple oddball achievements and you have a fairly basic list of Achievements. They could have been better but really it gets the job done. If you also find the game is too hard there are some cheats you can exploit in the game to make getting the achievements easier.

    I would like to mention replay Value because even once you get the full 1000 there is more to be found and unlocked in Bayonetta. Additional characters, costumes, weapons and even some secret levels

    Closing Statement
    This game truly struck me on all the right cords. I admit I am probably so awestruck with the game I may not be able to see the flaws very well, but if you're like me, perhaps you will have the same experience. It is one of the few games I still play regardless of having the full gamer score and I find myself googling Bayonetta now and then to see what is out there. In many ways this game is my muse, it inspires me creatively and drives my various passions. It has also truly cemented my admiration and loyalty to those at Platinum Games. I really hope the series continues and evolves even more over time, since Bayonetta is a character and game which has forever redefined how I look at gaming.

    That about wraps it up, goodnight my babies, live long, prosper and please play this game.
  • DimitriDimitri210,020
    06 Jan 2010 01 Dec 2011
    39 22 11
    Bayonetta is a witch who awakens from her slumber only to find her memory wiped clean and a mystery to solve before an inevitable end of the world scenario unfolds. The gameplay is extravagent and the story is not half bad either.

    As for graphics, the game couldn't be any more pretty. My only real personal beef was that some of the cut scenes (actually about half) consists of slide shows and dialog, a real draw back when you come off a huge battle scene to a slide show, but that aside, I couldn't have asked for more from a game like this.

    The sound is about what you'd expect, changes with the gameplay, serves its purpose of filling the silence, but other than that, there isn't much to mention. This is the type of game that requires you to go back and play levels over for a medal system, so its a good thing they included a custom soundtrack, because this soundtrack does get old.

    The controls have a descent learning curve, a sort of rhythym that you'll have to master to get the most out of the game. Button mashing works, but your fingers will tire quickly and you won't be able to utilize the fighting system to its full extant. Once you get the hang of it, this game is well worth the work, using iron maidens and guillotines to dispatch enemies and for the big ones, and they come as big as you could imagine, call for the summoning of demons to take them down in fantastic cut scenes.

    The game's mechanics consist of a basic punch kick button system and a plethora of witch magic to choose from. The magic speels range from teleporting kicks to Bayonetta actually changing her form. Once mastered, the game controls smoothly and responsively.

    The game itself is a real jaw dropper on the way through and seems to have quite a bit of replayability, but once you master all the levels, there doesn't seem to be much else. The box doesn't indicate the possibility for DLC, so it looks like this is it, once its done, its done.

    All in all the game is definitely worth the play, but the lack of possible DLC makes it a toss up as to wether you should buy or rent. The graphics, again, are amazing and the boss battles (those really big baddies) are jaw droppers. The controls do take some learning, so be patient when you first start, the work is worthwhile. Overall, I give it a 4 out of 5.



    PS
    It should be mentioned that just because the box says no DLC doesn't mean there will be no DLC. Borderlands, for example, does not state DLC on the package, but there have been multiple DLCs. However, there has been no hint of DLC from anyone, but who knows...
    4.0
  • Solamon77Solamon77134,769
    15 Feb 2011
    19 4 4
    Wow, so much better than I expected. I avoided this game for over a year because I thought it pandered to the least common denominator and I don't like to think of myself in this category. I must admit, I was wrong. While Bayonetta may be sexy, she exudes a type of power that is neither masculinizing or marginalizing. It is this very power that places her as a character among the ranks of Lara Croft as a strong female main character. She has style to spare, isn't afraid to show it, and will kick the butt off of anyone who gets in her way... all in a very womanly manor!

    Graphically, the game is impressive, but not because of how many polygons Platinum games has fit onto the screen, but because the game runs at 1080p while still maintaining an impressive 60fps (at least on the 360, the PS3 version suffers). Considering that most games these days run at 720p / 30fps, the difference is immediately noticeable. Of course, this is not with out sacrifices: some of the areas in the game end up looking a bit bare from time to time.

    Artistically, Bayonetta must have been designed by the collective efforts of a lunatic asylum. Last night I fought a monster that was a giant upside down human head with two dragon head sprouting from it. There is not a single character in this game that isn't over the top and while some people will certainly find this game not to their sensibilities, nobody can claim Bayonetta isn't creative.

    Of course, great graphics are only one part of a game. Every gamer knows that gameplay trumps everything. If your game doesn't play well it doesn't matter how nice it works. This is the area where Bayonetta shines the most. Controlling her is a pleasure for the very start. The number of combos you can execute with just two buttons is astounding. The developers designed an ingenious system where by allowing a brief half-second pause in-between certain button presses changes the combo. It is this dynamic that really opens up Bayonetta's control scheme and prevents it from falling into the realm of button-mashing. Combine this awesome gameplay with a smooth 1080p/60fps
    (at least on the Xbox 360, the PS3 version stutters and hiccups constantly) and you really have a game to behold.

    Perhaps the one area of the game that will turn off the most people is the music. Bayonetta sounds great and has a vocal cast that perfectly gives voiced to the myriad of characters in the game, but the music... First off, I personally loved the music and felt it fit perfectly into the ambiance of the game, but my wife and a number of other people I showed Bayonetta practically insisted I shut the music off. The soundtrack consists mostly of a bunch of bouncy JPop-ish songs (with singing and actual lyrics) that you will either love or hate. They never feel out of place in the game and fit perfectly into the over-the-top feel everything in Bayonetta has, but certainly aren't going to be for everyone.

    In closing, this is a great game that anyone who appreciates fantastic gameplay will enjoy. I have never been more happy about being wrong about a game that I am right now. I only wish I had bought the game new so the developer could have benefited from my enjoyment of their product. Be sure to play it on the 360 if possible because the PS3 version has some serious issues.
    5.0
  • Smokin JoeyBSmokin JoeyB129,954
    26 Jun 2011
    13 4 2
    Lifted directly from airfuel.tumblr.com

    Sega, amidst their recent junkyard of re-releases (see Sonics’ 20th anniversary), are known to every now and then throw the gaming community a bone. In this case, the bone just happens to be made of diamond. An edible diamond. Which doubles up as an aphrodisiac. In other words, Bayonetta is a brilliant game, no two ways about it.

    Developed by Platinum Hits, the studio responsible for sleeper hits such as Vanquish, Bayonetta puts you in the highly customisable leather boots of the title character who is charged with the task of expelling the evil forces of... well evil forces of God believe it or not. The game revolves around a universe thrown out of balance by Bayonetta's birth from a Lumen Sage and an Umbra Witch, which was strictly forbidden by the clans’ ancient commandments as it would bring calamity to the world. Hence why Jubileus the Creator and the gang decide it’s high time to take you out. Bayonetta, who has just awoken from a 500 year sleep isn’t entirely sure what the deal is with these ugly angels and why she’s being so relentlessly pursued by them. Although, this doesn’t stop her going on a ridiculously over the top adventure to seek out some answers and along the way have a few scuffles with her mysterious sister Jeanne. Plot-wise the game is found rapidly building toward an encounter with Jubileus the Creator (aka God), who on an interesting note is a female.

    The gameplay harks back to titles such as Ninja Gaiden and Devil May Cry, with a large emphasis on gory –weapon based fighting and creating devastatingly beautiful combo’s which are necessary if you wish to conquer the tougher difficulties. There are 5 difficulties in total: Very Easy and Easy work off of an automatic combo system therefore if you are seeking even a mild challenge, these are best avoided. Normal offers the occasional tough battle particularly towards the end, but with many items available coupled with generous checkpoints this should pose no real issues. However if you wish to jump in straight at the deep end I’m afraid you can’t. Hard must be unlocked through a playthrough on any difficulty, and the biggest challenge, Non-Stop Climax difficulty is unlocked after a playthrough on Hard. I managed to tame Hard difficulty, but by then my fingers were crippled and I could go no further. Non-Stop Climax removes the ability for Bayonetta to use ‘Witch Time’ which is a unique feature of the game allowing her to slow down time for a brief period after evading an attack in order to get in a quick combo that can turn the tide of any battle. Take my word for it; you come to rely on witch time heavily throughout the game, so having the ability taken away from you creates a real challenge.

    There is more to Bayonetta than just solid visuals and a gritty combat system which includes brutally rewarding torture attacks, this is a game with real charm which is evident not only through the games surprisingly effective storyline, but through the sheer amount of customisation and extras which are on offer. Replayability is increased ten-fold when the prospect of (15+) various new costumes, collectables/combat tips, hidden boss battles, concept art, 3D models of characters, rewarding achievements, and other goodies are presented. Not to mention the in game challenge of Alfheim Portals which pit you against numerous enemies with differing restrictions to how Bayonetta can dispose of them, offering a new twist on tactics and encouraging players to learn techniques or skills they previously would not have considered. These Alfheim Portals, of which there are over 20, are often more of a challenge than the core game itself. After each chapter, of which there are 18, you are given a score which combines three factors: Combo, Time, and Damage taken. This is then converted into a trophy ranging from Stone all the way to Platinum. There is also a curious little mini game after each chapter which gives you the opportunity to earn some extra coins, which are the games currency. The height of the Bayonetta’s charm is truly revealed once you complete the game and the end sequence begins; I won’t ruin it, but it had me in stitches no word of a lie and is definitely worth checking out (preferably by playing the game and not via youtube!)

    Now you’re probably expecting a game with such an emphasis on combat to fall at the final hurdle here of sound. Well you couldn’t be more wrong if your surname was Wilson, Evans, Close, or Cunningham. The game features an original soundtrack of over 1 mirrion troops 150 tracks, which at first may seem like they don’t fit the gore and brutality the game is known for. Quite the opposite in fact, once you are a mere hour or two into the game and have experienced your first cutscene you will begin to understand this game is more than a simple hack and slash title, but instead plays on the genres conventions, offering a tongue in cheek interpretation of gory combat, imploring you to see the more enjoyable side of it along with Bayonetta herself. But don’t get me wrong, this game can be serious when it gets down to the business end of game. When any new enemy is introduced, a short but sweet sequence appears which sends shivers down my spine every time without fail, for an example click here. There are some magnificent orchestral pieces during climactic battles which can often be overlooked as the sound effects are slightly too loud at times which is a shame. Despite this, the vast range of original musical set pieces set this game apart from games it had it all to prove against such as Ninja Gaiden.

    All in all, Bayonetta shows not only other hack and slash titles, but all developers across every genre how to make a game that is not only serious fun, but also has uncompromising depth and the charm necessary to create a loyal fanbase. I can’t help but be serious when it comes to a game this good, it is almost flawless in its execution and in Bayonetta herself, the gaming community has a new icon who I would bet good money on making a return to our consoles in the near future.

    9/10

    -Smokin JoeyB
    5.0
  • Izzy of AlbionIzzy of Albion595,759
    06 May 2012 13 May 2012
    5 0 0
    It is not uncommon for western gamers to find Japanese action games to be impenetrably complex in both story and gameplay. Platinum Games seem to make no apologies for this in Bayonetta. It's likely enough to keep the average westerner away. Well that's a real shame, because from it's slick, stylish, gameplay to it's stunning graphics, Bayonetta is nothing short of a masterpiece.

    The game is set in the mythical town of Vigrid. The eponymous heroine, an Umbra Witch, is tasked with fighting hordes of angels in a bid to preserve the balance between light and darkness. This pseudo-theological theme is carried beautifully through every aspect of the game. Enemies appear as if from the pages of an ancient religious text. Environments vary between the heavenly; shimmering and sparkling with gold and feathers, to the hellish; dark and destroyed, spitting lava and fire, or lashed by rain and carnivorous winds.

    The music that accompanies these locales and the frequent battles that happen on them is equally varied. Whether it be angelic choral music, piano-led jazz numbers ranging from sexy and sultry to fast and exciting, or the sort of epic score you'd usually expect, it's always a perfect fit for the mood.

    The gameplay is as complex as you want it to be; the frequent battles and boss fights fought using a variety of weapons including swords, shoe-mounted guns, and far more exotic offerings later in the game. It'll take experience and practice to master all of the moves and combos, but the less gifted will be happy to hear that the easier difficulties offer this automatically, enabling the most ham-fisted button masher to enjoy the game. Once cleared, this automation can be bought for use in harder difficulties, in the form of one of many "accessories", all of which provide a tweak to the gameplay.

    Another key component of Bayonetta's inventory is her lollipops, which can be bought, or concocted from gathered ingredients, and used at any time to provide boosts to health, magic, durability or damage. It is perhaps these lollipops that provide a clue to Bayonetta's greatest allure: sex appeal.

    Her suggestive sucking of said lollipops is accompanied by impossibly long legs, feline mannerisms, cut-glass English accent, dry wit, and a tendency to get almost naked during the game's signature "torture attacks". Platinum Games have held nothing back in making Bayonetta the sexiest gaming character of all time.

    But it's not purely hormonal teenage boys that the developers seek to impress: it's gamers in general. Homages to Sega games of old such as Outrun and Afterburner are neatly woven into the experience and cannot fail to put a smile on the face of the veteran Sega fan. And as if the epic, grandstand finish wasn't enough to satisfy the most boss-hungry gamer, the reward includes a barrage of extras such as detailed character models and concept art.

    Achievement-wise, it's not the easiest 1000G, if only because it will require at least 3 play throughs due to the fact that higher difficulties must be unlocked by beating the previous, and it is strongly advised to start on Easy or Very Easy. Failing to do so, it is easy to hit a wall of difficulty and stall at around 200G. The collectibles can be tricky to find (or complete, in the case of the challenge-based "Alfheim portals") and will likely require a guide, but with around 20-25 hours investment, 1000G is very doable.

    In short, this is a stunning and triumphantly indulgent example of the game developer's art and should not be missed.
    5.0
  • StarSnapshotStarSnapshot160,561
    31 Jan 2011
    10 5 2
    *Fifth review*

    This time guys, Bayonetta is the subject of our discussion. Platinum games first ever OTT game filled with gratitious ass shots and insane combos.

    Story:

    The story intially doesn't play out much with Bayonetta, as it focuses more on pouring on the power and showing you how too slay them enemies with speed. It throws an enigmatic opponent at you, and gradually increases other 'characters' like the shopkeeper Rodin, your information friend and Luka, the man whose hunted you since Childhood.

    Towards the end, the game picks up on story and uses it as a reason too throw bosses and locales at you in quick succession. Not that i'm complaining, since the bosses are scaled down (I can't say why, for spoiler reasons) and the locales are stunning, But more on that later.

    Unique components:

    Witchtime. A component relatively unique to Bayonetta and very successfully implemented. The slo-mo is activated by using the dodge technique at the very last second, rendering your enemies helpless against your raging onslaught.

    The lollipops are hardly unique, but i'll put them here all the same. You can recieve minor or major power boosts, shield boosts and health regens with these either bought, discovered or crafted. Very useful in the game.

    Accessories and outfits. They play very little role in the earlier difficulties, but later on, Accessories become pretty needed. Like the Evil harvest rosary on Infinite climax difficulty. Disabling witchtime in favour of leaving an explosive after every dodge may sound silly, but in a difficulty with no witchtime? Godsend.

    Outfits are completely useless. But sexy all the same. Dress too taste, and kick some angelic ass.

    Gameplay:

    The gameplay is superior to nearly every other game like this i've experienced. It's complete carnage in a button-mashing way;
    Angel after angel leap and dash at you, and you can take them down in a variety of ways.

    With an unprecedented amount of combos, Bayonetta will take a while too visually get boring. Mix it up with the 2 weapon sets, with equipment on your hands and feet, then take too the streets.

    No framerate losses during the flashier sequences.

    Torture attacks can be used too terminate (or at least highly damage) enemies in a dire situation, athough the magic bar used too activate it depletes when damage is taken. So get practicing with that dodge button!

    Alfheims are portals that will take you too special locales in 'Paradiso' for challenges. Complete them for rewards such as the Max Hp boost items or Magic bar increasers. Some can be challenging, although most are a breeze. Oddly good fun.

    Missions/Events:

    Bayonetta plays out in stages, Each stage given a score and a medal is calculated. Pure platinum being the best, Stone being the worst. It's a linear process, with little leeway given for collectibles.

    Bar certain points, most points in the game you would expect a cutscene, a reel of images with a voiceover was put into place. This may be an example of budgeting, but I give favour too that choice. Sacrifice of cutscenes over gameplay anyday.

    Difficulty Settings:

    There are lots of difficulty settings in Bayonetta. I'm not even gonna list them all. Easy isn't too difficult, and Hard can be a pain against the more agile enemies (Looking at you Grace and Glory!) but overall, they pale in comparison too infinite climax mode.

    Not too gloat, but on average, a game's hardest difficulty normally takes little over half a day for me too complete, with one straight speed through with no stops for collectibles and such. With all of Bayonettas upgrades, it took me nearly 3 days. It's hard, (unless you glitch) painful work. Witchtime is abandoned, so most boss fights just became alot longer as well. Then again, you maybe a gaming-god of Bayonetta. Either way, good luck to you!

    Learning Curves:

    Bayonetta truly does no ttake long too fully master. A few of the subtle accessory powers may take a few tries too accomplish, but the mainstream of gameplay is picked up in little under an hour.

    With the fine points of witchtime nailed, you'll be hammering those combos at lightspeed, and enemies will be falling too your blade. Or whip. Or iceskates.

    Collectibles:

    Health upgrades, Magic upgrades, Weapon pieces and Alfheims. The Umbra tombs that contain a large portion of the first two are easy too find, and your likely too get them all through 2 playthroughs.

    Weapons pieces (Angelic Hyms) are often just given too you, but the few you have too search for aren't very hidden. Not too difficult to find. Remember, the last one is recieved for completeing hard.

    Alfheims. Glowing orange portals, not hard too see, unless your in Paradiso. Just tend too deviate from the given course (or just backtrack alot) and you'll find them. Always try too look very hard left and right as well, cause some of hidden very far away, requiring things like Crow form to reach.

    Of special note are the Antonio's notebooks. All of these should've been discovered by the end of the main game. Don't worry about them too much, just keep an eye open.

    Not an overly hard game for collectibles, and occasionally enjoyable.

    Graphics:

    For a budget game, the graphics are impressive, and the cutscenes are pretty cool. The image-reels aren't much too call upon, but they're still pretty sweet.

    Bayonetta's a pretty hot witch, and the game doesn't suffer slowdown (Other than witchtime!) and to me, is graphically impressive.

    Sound:

    Beware of Bayonetta's sound track. It suits her personality, but past that, it just seems to be a joke. It doesn't take itself seriously, and can get annoying past a certain point. Always remember, there IS and audio mute option.

    Overall:

    I enjoyed Bayonetta. I thought it was a solid game with quite a few hours gameplay, and the 1000gs isn't very hard. Gameplay was addicting to me, and I regretted that it was over when I finished.

    After I gave in after months of my friend and I convincing each other too buy the game so the other could play it, I was thoroughly suprised by the outcome of the game.

    I'd recommend it if your looking for a little fun that'll last longer than a night. No pun intended.
    4.0
  • Limelight1979Limelight1979124,546
    30 Nov 2011
    7 5 0
    Pros:
    -Fast, frantic gameplay thats surprisingly easy to pick up yet takes time to master.
    -Excellent graphics and sound.
    -Classic Sega music is peppered throughout the game- great fan service!
    -The main character's personality shines throughout the game; she is strong, protective and likeable all at the same time.
    -Great voice acting by the whole cast.
    -Some fun achievements.
    -Tons of different things to do that arent necessary, but add lots of replay value and extend the campaign.
    -Upgradable costumes/abilities/moves, etc.
    -Massive bosses that are a blast to fight against.
    -Many levels are like different games altogether which keeps the gameplay VERY fresh and wanting me coming back for more.
    -Lengthy single player campaign.

    Cons:
    -It ends.
    -No extra DLC content to keep the game going.
    -It ends.
    5.0
  • ryanlegend95ryanlegend95179,792
    20 Oct 2012
    4 4 0
    If you love the Devil May Cry series. Then you will fall in love with Sega's Bayonetta.Bayonetta is non-stop carnage. Playing as a bad kinda person really has never felt so good like it says on the back of the cover.

    External image


    In this game you play as a sexy cheeky witch called, you guessed it, Bayonetta. She's bad, sexy and hairy considering that her dress is made out of her own hair. Told you she was bad. Bayonetta is probably one of the most uniquely made characters I have ever seen. For starters her dress is made out of hair, She has guns on her feet and she is the first ever witch not to have a wonky over sized nose. This character is definitely one of my top ten favourite characters. Detective Francis York Morgan from Deadly Premonition being my favourite. Check out the review. If Dante got into a fight with Bayonetta. Bayonetta would kick his arse. Perhaps even spank it. You naughty saucy witch.

    Now time for a spanking review.

    Graphics:
    This is probably Sega's most prettiest game since well... ever. Bare in mind Sega didn't develop it they just publish it. It's developed by Platinumgames. The game is stunning all the way through. The textures are mostly great. character models are beautiful with slick animations. (Bayonetta and her crotch shots. naughty girl).

    External image


    The special effects are also great with great use of particle effects and lighting. The game also performs well but does suffer the odd frame rate trouble though but that's what you expect from such a chaotic game.

    I give the graphics a 9/10.

    Sound:

    The sound design is spot on with familiar sound effects from Sega's older games. The soundtrack is also great with familiar tunes like Splash Wave from Outrun. The game is just one great big tribute full of Sega's older titles. The voice acting is fantastically done with great choice of dialogue. Some are even clever and sexy. Gigidy Gigidy Goooo!

    I give the sound score a 10/10.

    Gameplay:
    The gameplay is the best there is. Killing angels (sorry God if you exist) has never felt so satisfying. There are dozens of combo's and dozens of ways to kill the enemy. There is also a large selection of weapons and costumes that you can use to change your gaming style e.g. you can use a sword if you want a bit of Devil May Cry in there.

    External image


    That dragon is made out of Bayonetta's hair you know.

    There is large roster of difficulty's. There is even a difficulty that allows you to complete the game with just one button so even the noobs can play. The games strongest point is the boss fights. There are so many of them and they are all well designed and fun. Literally they are all epic fights. The game is long with plenty do with plenty of content.

    I give the gameplay a 10/10.

    Storyline:
    The storyline is just as wicked as the gameplay. The story is fun and funny and not at all cheesy. I'm not even joking. The story is funny and yet it has a compelling storyline that draws you in and makes you want to see the ending.

    I give the storyline score a 10/10

    Is it your cup of tea?
    If your a Devil May Cry fan then of course it is.
    If your a newcomer then this will blow your mind.
    If you hate this type of gaming then this might change your mind.

    Summary:
    Good:
    -The most fun there is.
    -Funny story.
    -Being bad has never felt so good.

    Bad:
    -Occasional frame rate trouble.
    -Trying to see her naked but can't.
    -Dante can suck on it.

    Overall I think that this game is one of the best games around and definitely beats Devil May Cry by a long and I mean a long shot.
    5.0
  • DavieMarshallDavieMarshall211,262
    31 May 2010
    34 37 23
    Bayonetta was a game I didn't expect much from, but I thought would be fun. Somewhat surprisingly, even with low expectations this was a game I did not enjoy one bit. Not at all.

    I'll start out by saying that I'm certain I'm in the minority here. On the back of the other two reviews here (at the time of writing) and the feedback of other gamers on here, it seems to be the general consensus that the game is not half bad.

    My problem was mainly thus; I expected the game to have precisely zero plot, be grossly exaggerated in every way but for it to be arcadey and ridiculously good fun slashing my way through the enemy.

    It turns out the game has no plot (until the end where it begins to take itself somewhat seriously) but even with my preconceptions Bayonetta is just way too over the top. Check some gameplay out on Youtube if you don't understand where I'm coming from. I don't mean to sound miserable, but I never knew there was a boundary, past which point you'll find yourself saying, "Oh you know what. I can't even be bothered to see any more of this".

    I could forgive all of the above though if the game was fun. For me. It just wasn't. The combos you can pull off look great, and are very flashy and showy, but they just seem to deal next to no damage to your enemy who keep coming at you relentlessly. Especially in boss battles which can last around fifteen minutes. That's just boring.

    Despite your ability to deal very little damage, (and this isn't difficulty level related, more on that shortly), the enemy is able to mercilessly pound you and very quickly deal a fatal blow. It's upon dying for the eighth time at the hands of a 'lesser' enemy you'll be screaming and cursing the logic behind the positioning of checkpoints in the game. You'll find yourself covering old ground time and again as the game wears on. In some boss battles you'll also find yourself subject to repeat the first ten minutes of each fight.

    Now to the difficult which I touched upon. All of this dying at the hands of your enemy occured to me on 'normal' difficulty. I fully expect what I am about to say to draw fire, but I think this is up there with one of the hardest games I've played. The difficulty balancing is just very, very poor. The boss battles are difficult to the point they become terribly wearisome and the 'standard' enemies fare no better. You will become better as the game progresses and you learn the 'cheap' combos to exploit to your benefit, but it shouldn't be that way.

    The developers developed a comprehensive move set for Bayonetta, but you don't get chance to fully explore this as each fight dissolves into frantically dodging in a bid to activate 'Witch Time' (slow motion fight scenes in which you can move at normal speed effectively) and then button mashing.

    You can try to break out the longer combos but the enemy can cut you down midway through with a single move and then you're a passenger to what follows as you remain unable to break free of their clutches. Disheartened by the lack of success after you bothered to practice and remember the combo you'll just reduce yourself to inducing as much pain as possible by equipping the sword-esque weapon and stabbing out the combo of RB & Y then Y,Y,Y,Y,Y,Y,Y,Y,Y,YY and, should you have the time to sneak in B at the very end of the combo, so much the better.

    Once you limp through and complete the title you'll unlock Hard mode. I tried it, for a laugh. I found myself saying at the end of Chapter 1, "You know what, I'm not bad at computer games. And I know what I'm doing here, I've completed it once. I don't deserve this"'. And with that, I turned it off.

    In short, I found it staggering that I went into this title expecting nothing and still came away disappointed and fed up. It's honestly no exaggeration to say that every hour spent playing this game felt exactly like an hour. I didn't enjoy myself or the game and was happy to hang up my controller at the end of each session.

    I'll earn several down votes for this review, but I thought it was important to get a viewpoint at the complete opposite end of the spectrum to the others available.
    2.0