Dead Space Reviews

  • TumyStxxTumyStxx319,353
    24 Feb 2009
    85 5 16
    Dead Space is a Sci-fi horror based game where you play an engineer that is sent to find out what happened to a "planet cracker" class freighter and along the way, run into heaps of trouble.

    Visually this game is absolutely stunning, ESPECIALLY when played via HDMI. The amount of gore in this game could be put somewhere inbetween "epic" and "biblical". Throw that into the mix of the whispers that you hear as you walk down dark corridors and "jump" scenes and you are in for a real treat. I cant even begin to tell you how many times the hair on the back of my neck stood up. And if you can play this game with surround sound it multiplys the scare factor by at least 10. You will litterally feel as if you are being watched and followed through out the game.

    Gameplay itself is seemless and doesnt have any glitches that I ran into. One of the coolest things about Dead Space is anytime you have to enter a "vaccum" or "zero g" area. Once you do, you can no longer think liniar. You are forced to think 3 dimentionally and that really can throw you for a loop. There are a couple of spots where you can get so twisted around and backwards that you dont know if you are standing on the wall, cieling or floor! Just keep your wits about you and focus on where you need to get and it wont be to much of an issue. Other neat perks are that with every creature, you have a finishing move against them. Nothing like throwing a tentacled baby on the ground and kicking it across the room!

    The creatures in the game are beautifully designed and have a wonderful "scariness" to them. They are also incredibly viscious and like you, have finishing moves that they can use on you if your health runs to low. Some of them take evisceration to an entirely new level.

    The story line is easy to follow and there are even animated novels available for download on XBL that tell alot of the "pre" story of the game. I would suggest watching them after you have played the game to give you the "ohhhhhh, thats why that is the way it is". There are also numerous items to pick up along the way that will help fill in alot of the gaps of the story. Much like Bioshock where you picked up the recordings.

    Weapons.......What is not to love about using advanced mining tools to tear your enemies to pieces? This game requires you to evicerate your enemies to get the kill. Just going for the headshot wont drop them. You need to remove at least 2 limbs from them to drop them. And just when you think you've downed one....think again. They will drag themselves along the ground to get to you. Best bet, go for the legs and once they are down.....curb stomp them. The "squishy" factor is high in this game.

    Achievements get handed out along the way in the game. But the final achievement, "Epic tear 3 engineer" will completely change the way you play the game. It was one of the harder achievements I have had to get but anyone can grind it out. My advice would be to play on easy all the way through to unlock everything, then make your run for this achievement.



    Over all I give this game a 9/10. The only thing being that once its done, its done. There is no multiplayer so the only thing you would be trying to do would maybe replay for a "speed run". Other than that, Dead Space, in my opinion is one of the best games to have come out for the Xbox 360 console.
    5.0
    Showing most recent comments. View all comments.
    ParanoidRobJust finished the game tonight, loved everything in it ;) Sweet review as well
    Posted by ParanoidRob on 14 Nov 10 at 02:33
    ProjectREBORNxdead on it's a great game in every aspect it has a great delivery and is probably the best game all around i have ever played on xbox
    Posted by ProjectREBORNx on 14 Dec 10 at 05:23
    ArdentShaarit was an awesome game. only problem is i only shat myself for the first half hour. after that it seemed to become less scary and more predictable. it was still awesome nonetheless!
    Posted by ArdentShaar on 15 Sep 11 at 17:33
  • SpectreSubZeroSpectreSubZero282,419
    15 Jul 2009 15 Jul 2009
    51 6 0
    So I went to Gamestop and traded in Oblivion and Mass Effect. I walked around the store trying to come up with a game I could trade for and reluctantly grabbed this game. Let me tell you, this is by far one of the best games for the 360. This game will blow you away with its' graphics and gameplay.

    The setting is a futuristic shooter-thriller style game. There aren't swarms of enemies but believe me on difficulties higher than easy, they can be hard to kill. You feel very much like your playing in a movie with it's exceptional graphics and storyline. The story reminds me a little of the movie Event Horizon. I've played a lot of futuristic games due to the fact you can consider me somewhat of a trekkie. The thing that set this future game apart from the other is the terminology and weapons. They are very original!

    So not to spoil the game's story your basically a salvage team that has to get a huge Frigate(Planet Cracker) up and running again, but to do so you have to basically get every part of the ship working again while killing alien life forms.

    Aside from the awesome array of weapons, which all have two firing modes, you can also use stasis modules to freeze enemies, then pistol whip them or curb stomp them. You also have the ability for kenesis(spelled wrong), to pick up and throw object. An awesome part of this game is the fact that you blow enemies limbs and heads off. Or even blow chunks out of them with your pulse rifle.

    In some of the levels you have to do space walks or zero G containment areas which is really cool and unique. I haven't ever played another game that has this. You can walk on the ceiling and walls in a zero g area.

    Anyways here is my breakdown for this game:

    Graphics: 10/10 (Visually Stunning)

    Story: 9/10 (Feel like you in a movie)

    Sounds: 10/10 (Lots of ambient noise)

    Enemy: 9/10 (Sci-Fi Monsters and Undead)

    Mulitplayer: 0/10 (There is NO multiplayer)

    Game Length / Replay Ability: 5/10 Linear game play(The game is somewhat lenthy and you may have to play 2-3 times through to get all the achievements, but it is single player only, so once you get all the achievements, game over)

    Achievement difficulty: 6/10 (Achievements aren't that hard to unlock for the most part, except for beating the game on Insane(really, really hard)

    Recommended Retail Value: $49.99
    Actual Retail Value: $27.99

    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw?url=search-alias%3Daps&...

    A must have for all sci-fi or thriller game lovers. If you like Quake style games and Condemned style game, you will love this game 5 out of 5!
    5.0
  • I TeMpLaR I UKI TeMpLaR I UK227,113
    08 Dec 2009
    34 4 2
    Dead Space is a visceral, claustrophobic horror story that like any genuine chiller keeps you hooked right to the end via a nightmare ride of twists and turns, shocks and scares and the occasional moments of downright terror that reduce you once again to the six year old boy who has just watched his dad's copy of the thing.

    Created by EA, Dead Space is a third person survival horror set in the 26th century, you play the main protaginist Isaac Clarke (A noteable homage to the great Authors Isaac Asimov and Authur C Clarke) who is part of a small response crew dispatched to aid the planet cracker class vessel the USG Ishimura; who whilst on a mining expedition to the planet Ageis VII has reported communication problems shortly before going dark. A scrambled message from you girlfriend Nicole reveals all is not well on board. As you soon discover when you crash land that the ishimura has deeper problems than a lack of communications and your routine repair mission becomes one of survival, eventually leading to a centuries old Government conspiracy.

    The plot thunders along as at first you attempt to deal with the shock of your findings, surviving against your terrifying foe - the Necromorph and attempt to restore vital failing systems on board the ship. Later chapters deal with the search for Nicole and the relevation of the conspiracy and the desperate attempts to right the wrongs that lead to the current horrific situation. Encounters and battles are aplenty often leaving you wishing for a well lit room where you can have a lie down, the presence of a recurring 'special enemy' leaves you permanently on edge.

    Attempting to stop you in your quest by means of chewing off your head, impaling you or generally ripping you limb from limb are the Necromorphs - dead former crew members who have their tissues reanimated and mutated by a retro-virus of unknown origin designed to create more corpses to infect. Fast and deadly you face a range of Necromorph types that get progressively stronger as you advance through the game. Stopping these creatures is no easy task and Isaac is forced to rely on his engineering skills to utilize a variety of engineering tools as well as the Stasis and Kinesis modules built into his suit as weapons.

    Killing Necromorphs is as unorthodox as the weapons you fight them with - proving highly resistant to head and body shots players must use 'strategic dismemberment' to effecitvely dispatch enemies, conserving ammo that becomes a precious commodity on higher difficulty levels

    The game design is of the highest quality, every region of the ships is bathed in an oppressive atmosphere enhanced by the chilling signs of death and destruction that are liberally present throughout giving you some idea as to the carnage that swept through the ship. Isaac's travels often take him to locations on the hull of the ship, presenting stunning visuals of the planet and asteroid field that you could quite happily spend all day watching - were it not for the limited air supply. The Necromorphs are suitably grotesque, if not generic and Isaac's death scenes are that well presented you (almost) want to let that Necro Brute rip your leg of again. The audio quality compliments the visuals perfectly, with terrifying noises rattling through the ventilation systems and the unabated savageness of a Necro attack leaving you reaching for the mute button. Strategically placed audio logs provide an excellent supplement to the main story and account for some of the grisly scenes you find on your travels.

    Gameplay is polished with a stripped back feel there is no comforting HUD displayed on screen; instead vital information such as health and Stasis energy are intergrated onto a RIG system on Isaac's back and inventory and ammo stores can be seen via holographic displays. Inventory management is done in real time - often leading to panicked situations as you frantically dig out a new weapons as the Necro horde advances, mercifully health and select weapons can be hotkeyed reducing some of the stress levels. Isaac's engineering background allows him to upgrade weapons and his RIG via the use of power nodes found throughout the vessel, giving you a headache as to where to spend your hard earned nodes.

    The achievement list is a good effort with many tied to storyline completion and X kills with X guns etc. There are a few inventive ones thrown in for good measure - such as the one gun and the extremely fiddly 'don't get cocky kid'. An easy diffculty play through will net you 600 - 700 gs and can take anywhere up to 15 hours to complete with at least half another playthrough required to mop up the remaining non diffculty based achievements. The real challenge lies with the Epic Tier 3 Engineer Achievement requiring a playthrough on impossible mode; while not impossible it certainly provides a challenge for the 150gs.
    5.0
  • DavieMarshallDavieMarshall217,955
    26 Jan 2010
    27 5 0
    Dead Space

    Now something of a benchmark for horror/survival games, the Dead Space series is set to come under scrutiny again with the imminent release of Dead Space 2.

    Dead Space sets a high standard to be followed employing some of the most cinematic and professional flourishes yet seen in a game of this genre on the Xbox 360.

    Great attention has been paid to the plot, characters, locations, enemies and musical score in addition to the more 'obvious' considerations, such as graphics and controls. All of the above are brilliantly realised and make the game easy to pick up and play which allows you to lose yourself in the character and atmosphere of the ill fated Ishimura.

    Ishimura is the spaceship upon which the action takes place. Sent on a 'planet cracking' mission to harvest rare and valuable minerals from the very heart of an interstellar body, the Ishimura instead finds itself overrun with 'necromorphs'. These are the result of a habitat changing alien life form which is able to reanimate human corpses to perform their vicious bidding. This remains unknown to your repair crew who are en-route to a standard distress call from the Ishimura.

    The action starts with a wonderful introduction movie which introduces the style of the game with a jaw dropping presentation of the Ishimura as viewed from your shuttle. The atmosphere quickly darkens and the plot kicks in with full force from the word go.

    From there on in you can expect to be on edge for the next twelve levels and terrified to turn every corner.

    The fact the game is presented in the 3rd person style means that it's a wonderful break from the bloated FPS genre, and also means you can enjoy the animation on offer from your character and the many enemies you'll encounter.

    There are various innovations in the game such as 'zero g' (zero gravity) which removes all concept of 'up, down, left and right' and forces you to thinking in a three hundred and sixty degree model. Sometimes it's easy to become lost and disorientated in these situations, and your navigation unit seems to suffer the same fate, offering little help as to where you should next be heading. All of this as your oxygen reserves in your suit plummet.

    However, fortunately the zero g elements are often fairly short and not to strenuous once you take a moment to familiarise yourself with landmarks and notable features before entering zero g so that you can orientate yourself later on.

    The game clocks in a respectable amount of playthrough time as well, and cannot be rushed through in a day or two. To earn some of the harder achievements you will be pushed into attempting a second or third playthrough on higher difficulties too which adds a nice touch of longevity to the game.

    All in all, between the environment, dark atmosphere and superb music/voice acting. You'll feel like you're watching a top class horror film and be utterly engrossed in this fantastic title.

    I'm not ashamed to say, playing in a pitch black room, on a large LCD HD TV with an appropriate sound system meant this was the first game I've ever played where I had to occasionally save my progress and walk away thanks to the overall experience feeling so daunting. And isn't this what we pay for from a game like this?

    A fantastic 'must have' for any Xbox 360 gamer.
    5.0
  • CyberMartyr88CyberMartyr88266,269
    26 Mar 2010 26 Mar 2010
    21 5 2
    My first impressions after buying Dead Space were instantly 5/5. Smooth motions, film like game play, intense ambient sounds, sweet weapons and stunning graphics. Let it be known that this is one gory game. Dismemberment, blood, guts and strong violence are part of daily life while you struggle to survive in the dead husk of the once magnificent Ishimura space ship.

    I'm currently timidly progressing through the 4th level of the game and so far it has been a pleasant, if not tense trek. Unless the missions start getting shorter I predict that this game has a lot of life in it (despite being a lone survivor on a dead alien infested ship anyway)...So far the game play has been solid, and on normal difficulty the game thus far has been challenging but not too difficult. I think I've died 3 times thus far and 2 of them deaths are due to one of the puzzle rooms...This is not a bad thing. Another great point is that the guns are beautiful; each having different and useful roles. They all seem quite believable and they all pack a rather large punch.

    With a lot of nifty downloadable content (which is all reasonably cheap) and an anime (which isn't spectacular but helps with the narrative) that goes hand in hand with the game, I think this is a great game for anyone looking to immerse themselves in to a good, solid/dependable game. Another note would be that the achievements are fairly accessible to obtain, which is a plus for any respectable TrueAchievement junkie!

    This game is quite easily related to that of Bioshock, although in my opinion, both are quite separable and both stand steady on their own - So if you like Bioshock, you'll love this...And if you buy and love this and haven't played Bioshock, then I would definitely suggest that too!

    All in all Dead Space is easily a 5-star game. Well worth the reasonable price it now holds.
    5.0
  • Dale Norris 25Dale Norris 25703,230
    12 Jan 2014
    16 1 1
    The game thrusts players right into the action on the U.S.G. Ishimura after Isaac’s smaller ship crash lands inside its docking bay. The first thing players notice is the unique HUD – built into the actual game, as opposed to an on-screen set of numbers and meters. Isaac’s health bar is displayed on his spacesuit’s back, and menus appear as hovering holograms in front of his visor, his eyes following along with whatever is being selected. In a horror game, where immersion is key, this little touch goes a long way. The game doesn’t stop when you decide to rummage through your inventory or check the map, adding a subtle layer of tension to every action.

    As for the game itself, it’s remarkably well oiled. While Dead Space does nothing new from a gameplay perspective, wandering around the Ishimura is a fresh and rewarding adventure. Most of the time, the game withholds enemy encounters and forces the player to drown in the soundscape, full of rusty creaks, ominous rumbles, and sudden crashes. The music, too, weaves a delicate atmosphere that could break at any moment – like the best horror movies, the scariest part of Dead Space is the good portion of it where nothing happens. The game moves forward, puzzles are solved, and Isaac gets one step closer to solving the mystery. A sense of security, if you will, is developed.

    That’s when the living corpse with claws for arms decides to pop out of the ceiling.

    The beauty of Dead Space lies entirely in its presentation, and has little to do with amazing gameplay conventions. The combat is satisfying, yet simple, revolving around a limited assortment of guns. An emphasis is placed on dismembering your ghastly foes, stopping them in their tracks and ripping their dangerous limbs from their bodies. Still, is it this gameplay mechanic that’s interesting, or the way it plays out? The punchy gunfire and nauseating fleshy sounds are what really stick in the mind, as well as the horrifically detailed Necromorph gore strewn around the floor after a fight. It’s a great sounding, great looking, and overall, great playing experience
    Dead Space is a good example of refinement over innovation. By taking a fairly standard horror-shooter hybrid and applying an absurd amount of atmospheric polish to it, EA has created an instant action classic. While the ride is fairly short – the game could be completed in a few evenings – and offers no real extras, it’s perfected to the point where it’s entirely satisfying. It’s a visceral, enthralling title that will leave players nothing short of breathless
    4.0
  • Ragey DaveRagey Dave570,383
    26 Sep 2010
    15 1 1
    Ok being a big fan of the survival horror genre i had massive hopes for this game - undead monsters in a sci fi setting = heaven for me being a massive sci-fi fan as well, though being from EA i held back from getting too excited. From the opening credits i knew this was going to be something a little special. The lighting effects were the best i've seen this generation, graphics were superb, the setting brilliant and the sound was really really fantastic.

    the story in a nut shell is mining ship - Ishimura ("Planet Cracker") has gone black and no one has heard from the crew for several days, you are part of a small team sent to investigate the problem and help repair the ships comms. On a side plot your girlfriend is on the ship as well adding a little extra passion for the character and helping to form a good link with him. Because of this added spice to the story when he dies your gutted and really want him to find his love and get the hell out of there. Upon boarding the ship the crew are found to be dead and the monsters then appear - you have to kill your way around the ship to get certain things done in able to make your escape. Constant back tracking can prove to be a little tedious after several trips here there and everywhere to start this and move that.

    The game is a 3rd person shooter and holds a big resemblance to the resident evil games in terms of camera views - this can be a royal pain in the ass at times but you soon get to grips with the way things work. Another important feature are the weapons. Theres a great range from pistols to sub machine guns to flame throwers so something for everyone. Another massive plus is the use of stasis means you can freeze enemies to make nice easy kills or run the hell out of there, this brings a lot of joy to your work.

    the enemies are also a nice mix. Some big, some small, some fast and some slow and basically covers all aspect of a range of enemies any game should have. That Being easy to kill, high in number and volume enemies, a few bigger tougher enemies for more of a challenge and some epic bosses to make you stop and just gawp with amazement. the only way to kill these feckers is by de-limbing them - hours of fun to be had. Graphically this is one of the best and most polished games i've played to date, some epic back drops through out the game. The zero gravity sections are nicely done and the vacuum entering and exiting scenes are pure brilliance. Also the in game holograms are nothing short of amazing - blew my socks off the first time i had one pop up - basically you can keep moving and move the camera around the hologram to view it from every angle (small thing but makes a big difference).

    The sound is also a great treat. The sounds make you jump at just the right times and create a great tense atmosphere - that coupled with the constant shadows and glimpses of enemies round every turn. the sounds in zero atmosphere sections is muffled well and helps create the feeling your in an area with no atmosphere and takes you to were the game creators want your mind set to be. So to conclude, if you like sci-fi games you have to play this, if you like survival horror games you have to play this, if you like 3rd person shooters you have to play this, in fact i'd recommend this to any gamer to see just what can be achieved on the 360 and PS3. For me it is more spectacular than playing bioshock for the first time and why it never got the praise that did is beyond me - truly one of the greats of this generation and is promising to see EA branching out onto new franchises and taking a gamble.


    9.5 - Presentation

    A deep story and incredible atmosphere with tons of horror influences make Dead Space one of those titles that is a great starting point for a franchise.

    10 - Graphics

    Visually striking, everything from the holograms to the Necromorphs is incredible. depressurization is to be seen to be believed.

    9.5 - Sound

    Voice acting is delivered beautifully, but it's the sound design that will have you jumping out of your seat and sending shivers down your spine.

    9.5 - Gameplay

    A strong mix of action and exploration is only hampered by repetitive, though appropriate, backtracking - control systems is easy to get to grips with but in game menus can be a bugger to deal with mid battle

    8.5 - Lasting Appeal

    You'll have to play through the game multiple times to improve your equipment and understand the full story. Achievements will also mean several playthroughs if your going for the 100%


    OVERALL - 9.5/10
    5.0
  • Necrobot20XXNecrobot20XX225,407
    13 May 2010
    19 5 1
    Dead Space is a third person survival horror shooter in a sci-fi universe. The game was developed by EA Redwood Shores and published by EA and was released in the US on October 13, 2008. Isaac Clarke, the protagonist of Dead Space, is an engineer on his way to the spaceship USG Ishimura. Once there he plans on reuniting with his girlfriend Nicole who had sent out a distress call to Isaac. Once Isaac and the rest of the crew aboard their transport, the USG Kellion, arrive and dock with the Ishimura they quickly realize something is very wrong. Most of the Ishimura's crew are either missing or dead. Once they decide it would be a good idea to leave the Kellion is destroyed and they get stranded on the Ishimura and have to try and survive until they can leave. This will prove to be no easy task as the ship is full of a seemingly unstoppable and frightening enemy, the necromorphs.

    Gameplay 9/10
    As far as third person shooters go, you couldn't ask for much better controls. When you factor in that it's a survival horror game, the controls seem even tighter. The Left Stick controls your movement while the Right Stick controls the camera and where you aim. Once you pull the Left Trigger you can aim, reload, use your special abilities (more on that later), and use your weapons alternate fire mode. The way you aim your weapon is with laser sights that have a different look from weapon to weapon. I know most people will probably think of Resident Evil 4 and 5 when you hear that but that isn't a fair comparison. In Dead Space the laser sight is static where in Resident Evil 4 and 5 the laser sight moves all over the screen. Another huge difference is that you can actually move while aiming! These two minor changes in controls left me wondering why Resident Evil 5 didn't adopt something similar. Besides the controls for shooting, Isaac has two different melees, a wild swing type punch and a very brutal stomp. Both will come in handy when fighting off the necromorphs. Isaac also has a few tricks up his sleeve besides being able to shoot and have a brawl with these creatures in the form of stasis and kinesis. There are a few uses for these in combat and kinesis allows you to pick up and throw large objects at the necromorphs, where stasis allows you to slow down their movements. A lot of the puzzles in the game revolve around the stasis, kinesis, and zero gravity jump which is used in the parts of the levels where you are outside the ship in space and often times your oxygen level is a factor. Clicking the Right Stick allows for Isaac's suit to display a laser like trail for him to follow to his next objective. This makes it nearly impossible to get lost and keeps you moving through the game quickly but if you do more exploring you will find many more secrets and money to help out in the long run. The game features an upgrade system for both your suit, which you can upgrade to have more health and oxygen, more stasis, and more powerful kinesis. You can also upgrade each weapon to have more ammo, a higher rate of fire, and to make them deal more damage. One important thing to know about the necromorphs that seperate them from other horror creatures is how you are able to defeat them. In most shooters headshots are great and enough body shots will also do the trick. The necromorphs however, need to be dismembered limb from limb to be able to defeat them and have enough ammo to make it through the game, especially on the higher difficulties. All in all, Dead Space takes survival horror and blends it with good third person shooting mechanics to where you should never blame the controls on your deaths, only your skill or lack there of.

    Storyline 6/10
    The story in Dead Space isn't the best thing ever, but in a genre full of evil corporations and the undead and ghosts, they blended horror and sci-fi together in a not so silly, ridiculous way. Most of the story is told through old security camera footage and interaction between Isaac and the crew of the Kellion. Isaac himself is silent throughout the entire game so we never really get to know anything about him. Eventually he runs into some crew members of the Ishimura, including his girlfriend nicole, where we learn more about what happened to the ships crew and what the necromorphs are. While the story isn't anything fantastic, Dead Space does succeed in creating a great universe and atmosphere for the game to take place in.

    Visuals 9/10
    Everything about Dead Space looks fantastic. The Ishimura and it's interiors are beautiful, dark, cold, and uninviting like a horror title should be. The exteriors looking out into space with the planet in the background look nice. The characters facial animations and movements are very good, especially the necromorphs very crazy and sporatic movements which make them feel very creepy and scary. Since this is a horror game it should be noted that all of the gore is very intense and bloody and violent. If you are a horror fan like me you love it or if not then it works wonders psychologically, where you are frightened and often times, grossed out. If there is one thing that can make a horror game even more scary it's the lighting. Dead Space shines in this area with it's dynamic lighting system where things can hide in shadows and every little light flicker makes you nervous of whats around the next corner. Another thing that makes Dead Space stand out is how there is no constant heads up display like is most games, especially shooters. Isaac's health is displayed on the back of his suit, his ammo is displayed on the gun itself, and when you bring up a map or menu it pops up in front of Isaac as it's projected from the front of his suit. This leaves the screen free of any clutter and allows you to view the environment in an almost cinematic experience.

    Sound 8/10
    Any one who knows how horror movies and games work, knows that the timing of the music and sound effects can dramatically change something from boring to scary. Yet again Dead Space accomplishes scaring the crap out of people by having wonderful mood setting music and the horror genre staple of sharp piercing sound effect to make you jump out of your seat. All of the weapons and creature sounds are all great and work well and the voice acting is pretty decent considering the horror genre's achille's heel of having horrible acting. One very cool semi-realistic sound design choice is when Isaac leaves the inside of the Ishimura and is in the zero gravity locations of space. When you walk into these sections of the game the sound is heavily dampened and muffled making it hard to hear approaching necromorphs, making you even more paranoid of being attacked. At the end of the day the sound design completes the all around package to really flesh out the horror and sci-fi aspects of the game.

    Overall 8/10
    Dead Space was one the best experiences I've had with a new game on this generation's consoles. The controls are tight, it looks and sounds great, the story is half bad, and it was a blast to play. If you are a fan of survival horror this is a must buy, especially if Resident Evil 5's lack or horror and emphasis on being an action game left you craving the days when you were afraid to sleep without a night light. If you are a shooter fan it may be worth checking out for you too as I felt the shooting controls and unique dismemberment mechanics made what could have been a stale game, feel fresh.
    5.0
  • THMSTRCHFTHMSTRCHF218,727
    13 Feb 2011
    21 10 0
    With Dead Space 2 out and my copy still in the mail, I thought it would be a good idea to run through the game that got the franchise its start to get me back up to speed before plunging into the very well-received sequel (with an average rating of 90 from 73 critics on Metacritic). I only played through the game once when I originally purchased it, and that was a couple years ago, so playing through it again was a relatively fresh experience. For this review, I decided to go at it on Impossible.

    As an avid fan of the horror genre, in film as well as games, I find myself drawn to titles with promise of scares regardless of production values—it’s usually a question of when and not if I will get a “survival horror” game. With that said, I’m a sucker for environment and psychological scares (like those offered in the Silent Hill franchise); the kind of stuff that really messes with your mind and affects you beyond your play time. With games like Resident Evil (another franchise I hold in high regards)—at least the pre RE5 games (don’t get me wrong, I love RE5… it’s just not a survival horror)—you are treated to “jump scares;” the kind of stuff that “gets” you while you are indulging yourself in the interactive medium, but once the startle is gone, you move on with your life and don’t really think much of it (unless it’s a very well-constructed jump scare that stands tall above the rest (I’m looking at you, dude in the locker in Condemned… that game is freaky)).

    Dead Space is an ambitious game that attempts to combine the atmospheric tension and psychological scares with the jump starts and falls short of its lofty goals by being painfully predictable. That isn’t to say that Dead Space isn’t a fun game to play or that it doesn’t have its moments, but the scripted ones fall short of the desired effect and leave you wishing that they would have spent time constructing something more unique instead of relying on their heavy Doom 3 and Resident Evil 4 influences. Scripted moments aside, some of the most intense situations in the game are when you find yourself oblivious to an enemy in a combat arena (something we’ll discuss further down thither) and you think you’re clear to progress only to be greeted with an unexpected death from behind.

    Dead Space is an action game that presents itself as a survival horror but manages to abandon some of the finer points of the horror genre by supplying you with endless amounts of ammo (which can also be purchased in shops) and health—there’s rarely a moment in this game where you can’t just shoot your way through a problem. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, shooters are fun, too, but it is a downfall that robs the game from being a true redefinition of the horror genre by presenting you with a scenario that could have been heart-pounding in its intensity only to be a mere speed bump to be resolved with your upgraded weapons and copious ammo supply (playing on Impossible, I started with default equipment; I had no money or upgrades when I began playing on the hardest difficulty in the game and still found it to be relatively easy to just shoot my way around a problem without fear of running low on ammo).

    Running away should always be an option available in survival horror games—when you don’t have enough ammo to kill everything on screen, so you use your gun as more a last-ditch effort to stun an enemy long enough for you to pass by than your means of progression. That’s hardly even a choice in Dead Space as throughout the game you will find yourself locked in a combat arena (you’ll hear a computer voice announce, “Anomaly detected. Lockdown initiated,” and all the doors will lock) and you’ll be unable to progress until you’ve killed everything in the room with you. This isn’t a survival horror mechanic—this is an archaic relic from a bygone era of action games intended to artificially increase a game’s duration (combat arenas still exist in games, yeah, but it doesn’t mean they should… at least not in the main campaign—that kind of gameplay should be reserved for a challenge mode or something supplemental).

    I know it sounds like I’m being overly harsh on the game but, when I first purchased it, I had high hopes that it would be something truly great and was disappointed by the lack of horror in this supposedly scary game. So, what did I like about the game? As I said earlier Dead Space attempts to combine the jumps with a memorably creepy atmosphere and psychological scares and, even though the mind games Dead Space tries to play with you fall short, the environment is wonderfully dark, disturbing, and creepy. It’s unfortunate, then, that areas are reused multiple times as you have to backtrack through the Ishimura to complete redundant objectives that no one else seems capable of completing. The backtracking through environments is somewhat forgivable, though, as there are changes with each passage that helps quell the repetition (some nasties may have grown around the environment, new passageways opened, and new lockers with goodies inside become inexplicably unlocked).

    Combat and the enemies you face are also thrilling in Dead Space (yes, I know I complained earlier about how combat is over-emphasized in Dead Space, but it’s well-done, so I can’t fault them for that). Even though it may grow tiresome or repetitious to be locked in a room with a set amount of enemies time after time, the combat mechanics themselves never grow old. Strategic dismemberment is key in Dead Space; opting out of the traditional “just shoot ‘til it dies” gameplay of action titles, Dead Space has you use your arsenal of weapons to free the necromorphs of their threatening appendages. Each weapon features an alternate fire mode which can allow you to better place your shots for a more accurate dismemberment (e.g. the plasma cutter rotates between a horizontal and a vertical beam). Necromorphs vary widely in levels of threat and intensity and you’ll find yourself constantly switching between fire modes to keep the upper hand.

    One complaint I do have with the combat is the lack of a quick stasis reload (you have a stasis module which is often used in solving minor puzzles in order to progress through the campaign, but it is also very useful in dispatching enemies by slowing them down and allowing you ample time to take aim). You can quick heal yourself by pressing “X” (I imagine it’d be square in the PS3 version) to use a med pack (something I wish they would have done is take into consideration how much health you have to decide which size health pack to use—there’s three sizes of health pack (small, medium, and large), and if I’m in the red on health in the heat of battle, it would be nice if it used a medium or large instead of small), but there’s no equivalent to reload your stasis—instead, you’re forced to open up your real-time inventory (which means that when you open your inventory, the game doesn’t pause… so, if something is trying to make a meal of your face, tough noodles, you’re likely going to die trying to get your stasis refilled) and fumble about trying to get your stasis refilled before death comes crashing down upon you. Sure, you can use a start menu cheat code to instantly refill your stasis, but that, as the name implies, is cheating.

    Dead Space also weaves an interesting tale, which is a refreshing breath of air in the stagnating genre (as much as I love the Silent Hill franchise, they haven’t told a worthwhile story in years (I, sadly, haven’t played Shattered Memories, but I do look forward to Downpour)). The game’s main plot is told like a search and rescue/repair mission gone totally wrong and becomes a desperate fight for survival against an unknown enemy dubbed “necromorphs.” That plot is supplemented by a back story told through written, audio, and video logs which detail the outbreak of this gruesome infestation and the radical religious ideals that caused these horrors to be unleashed. There’s obviously a lot of story to be told in this universe; it’d be impossible to fit it all in one game (which is why there’s the sequel, Extraction, the comics, as well as the two animated flicks out) and it’s a lore I would very much like to continue exploring.

    One of my favorite things, if not my favorite thing, about Dead Space is the upgrades. It’s similar to an RPG system, but rather than focusing on customization, it’s all about making your armour and weaponry the most badass of them all. It’s an idea they borrowed from RE4 and made their own and a feature that makes the game exceedingly replayable (all of your upgrades will carry over into each subsequent playthrough on that difficulty (this is another thing I like about Dead Space—upgrades don’t carry over into higher difficulties. This is something I admire because it means that difficulty levels still have weight—hard or impossible would be a cakewalk if you were fully upgraded)). Throughout the game’s campaign, you will find power nodes (which can also be purchased at the store) which you use to upgrade your weapons and armour by assigning a node to a circuit. Not every node actually makes an improvement, however, but bridges the gaps between stages of improvement; it’s a neat feature that prevents you from becoming too overpowered too quickly.

    Dead Space is a game that draws obvious influences from games like Resident Evil and Doom while trying to stand on its own, shaky ground. It’s not truly revolutionary, but it’s a game that shows great promise for a franchise that could redefine horror games. The broken and creepy halls of the USG Ishimura might not haunt you beyond the 10-13 hours it takes you to beat the game (on your first playthrough—each subsequent playthrough, with all your upgrades and such, will be even quicker), but it gives you hope for the future of the franchise—and the genre.
    3.0
  • Zoku GojiraZoku Gojira225,432
    02 Aug 2010
    12 11 2
    Brilliant game which borrows heavily from the best sci-fi horror films ever made, then surpasses this source material.

    The USG Ishimura is a terrifying place, but it is also endlessly fascinating. Exploring this environment provides at least as much of an incentive for carrying on through the alien plague altered hellscape as the excellent story centered on a bizarre, nihilistic cult and a mysterious artifact.

    As frightening as the game can be at times, there is no reason to let this deter you from trying what is frankly the best single player experience of this console generation. I'm a bit on the jittery side myself, and I completed this game three times, and could go for a fourth.

    It is a can't-miss experience whether you're a fan of science fiction, of horror, or of action games. If all of the above appeal to you, close your web browser, shut down your computer, find a copy for sale, and play it immediately.
    5.0
  • JakThaRiPP3R84JakThaRiPP3R84161,649
    26 Apr 2018
    2 4 0
    This is truely one of the best games ever made.

    the story flows perfectly, plenty of mystery and intrigue, guided from one believable goal or objective to another. Your weapons aren't all the usual types you'd find in a normal shooter and thats a good thing, great variety and upgrade options.

    now, where the game really shines.. atmosphere! definitely a creepy game, and downright frantic at times. The enemies dubbed Necromorphs are very well animated, and are genuinely freaky.. inspired by the thing, the blob and other gore-fiend 80s remakes this is a true homage to horror, and a must own in every xbox gamers' collection.

    if you like hunting for achievements - you will like this game, only one achievement will really give you trouble. overall I rate it highly.
    4.5
  • Haseo ATCHaseo ATC142,870
    07 Jan 2010
    6 11 2
    The other reviews for this game are a bit long, so I'm going to go for short(er) but succinct. (There's just so much to write about this game, you can't blame us reviewers.)

    If you like the idea of a sci-fi horror game, then you can't go wrong with Dead Space. If you scare easily and/or have a weak bladder, this game may not be for you, but if you think you're made of tougher stuff, this game is more than worth the $30 price.

    While it has no multiplayer, the achievements encourage at least 3-4 playthroughs. The biggest achievement in the game is "Epic Tier 3 Engineer" for 150GS. It requires you to beat the game on the "Impossible" difficulty, which, while challenging and just as scary as your first playthrough, isn't impossible, and the downloadable Level 5 Suits and weapons can give you a big step up in the beginning.

    The plot is well-structured, the weapons provide enough variety, there are many different ways to kill (and be killed), and so on. Read the other reviews; this game is well worth your time.
    5.0
  • fowlmowffowlmowf88,257
    11 Aug 2009
    14 20 1
    Dead Space is a third-person so called ''survival horror'' game. It takes place place on the USG Ishimura which is a planet cracker class freighter. You play as Isaac Clarke an engineer working for the C.E.C. who is sent out on a routine repair mission but things aren't what they seem. After discovering that the ship is almost deserted with human life. Isaac and his co-workers are attacked by Necromorphs. Necromorphs are creatures from a planet called Aegis 7, The comics are set there. There are 2 jobs for a necromorph and i qoute ''one seems to be for infecting corpses, the other.... making them''.

    Dead space's graphics are really incredible, almost every wall you see makes you think what the hell happened here?, as some are blood-stained with no body or limbs to be seen, some are clean and you think well no-one died here, others are infected with some kind of organic tisue which is all over the ship and colony. The graphics for the NPC's are suprisingly good. The enemys look stunning, The survivors which are VERY scarce look like they just had a fight with a wall, guess who won.

    The gameplay is fun and at times scary. One of the unique things about dead space are the enemys. Shooting an enemy in the chest or head hardly seems to work instead, you use mining tools to dismember your enemys limb by limb. Take out the legs they crawl at you, take out the arms they run and try to bite you.

    Other notable things are its HUD doesn't exist. Your RIG which is basically your armor displays your map, inventory, objectives, videos, ammo and other stuff as holograms. Also your health bar is on your back and looks like a glowing blue spine. I do not reccomend getting any downloadable content even if its free. The first time i went through the game, i had the elite suit after level 1. Also i reccomend playing normal or hard difficulty first.
    4.0
  • MazraelMazrael287,566
    24 Nov 2009 17 Apr 2011
    2 11 0
    EA's benchmark in quality, & it's well deserved, this is between Gears of War, Silent Hill, & Resident Evil.. actually, Resident Evil (4+) wished it was this game.. it has atmostphere, tension, action, & just plain wtf.. on my third play on impossible, I still have my back to the wall, since it's throwing out an extra enemy.. Issac Clark isn't a fighter, or a marine.. he's just an engineer.. before long you get your plasma cutter, which is the best weopon is the game.. there's a mounted cannon to defend the ship during the game, it's controls are awkward - but you are only an engineer.. this is far better than Resi 4 - but not as scary as Resident Evil 1 on the game cube..

    (The reason I hate RE4 is Ashley)
    5.0