Enslaved: Odyssey to the West Reviews

  • SlackerchanSlackerchan240,024
    12 Oct 2010
    99 3 16
    In 2007 a lesser known independent developer called Ninja Theory published a major Playstation 3 exclusive in the form of Heavenly Sword, a title that, while short, was praised for its storytelling and stellar graphics. Despite community pleas for a sequel however Ninja Theory decided to go in a different direction with a new IP. Enslaved, Ninja Theory’s newest title, marks the company’s first entry in multiplatform development while staying true to many of the design rules of Heavenly Sword.

    Is it worth your money though?

    A Monkey By Any Other Name
    Enslaved, like many popular titles over the past few years, takes place in a post-apocalyptic setting. Decades after two world wars lead to a mechanized apocalypse humanity has returned to a state of tribalism with communities banding together in order to survive. Mechs left over from the war litter the landscape and are still programmed to kill the humans they once obeyed though almost all of the giant ones, known as Titans and Leviathans, perished long ago. With this return to tribalism however so too has slavery, the main source of it being an unknown organization called Pyramid. The story begins onboard a Pyramid slave ship bound for the west. As monkey regains consciousness in his containment pod he witnesses a young girl break out of her pod and approach a console. Within seconds of her going to work on it alarms begin to go off and signal the beginning of the end for the aircraft. Monkey escapes and follows her to the escape pods only to find himself latched on to the outside of her pod which launches just before the ship crashes.

    Monkey reawakens a short time later after the pod has crashed into a ruined building. In an act of sheer desperation, the girl, Trip, has fitted Monkey with a slave headband that she’s hacked to work for her. Trip wants to get home to her wind farm community that’s hundreds of miles away but she knows she’ll never make it with thousands of killer mechs inbetween. As such she offers Monkey a deal: if he can see her safe return she will remove the headband. If she dies however so too does he.

    Enslaved’s story is loosely based on Journey to the West, a 16th century Chinese tale of a pilgrim’s journey to India to retrieve sutras from the living Buddha. However, other than the names of the characters the comparisons pretty much end there. Instead, Enslaved is more appropriately a tale of reaction and, later, revenge against the slaver organization Pyramid whose abductions of humans number in the tens of thousands. The ending to the game is nothing short of fantastic and brings to a close Monkey and Trip’s journey on a cliffhanger note, though no more severe than many other games nowadays. The ending fits perfectly with the overall moods and themes of the game so if you are looking for a singleplayer game with great potential going forward then here you go.

    One thing I found most interesting about the game’s characters is their explicit lack of knowledge in regards to the outside world. The first third of the game takes place in the ruins of New York City with crumbling skyscrapers and deep rifts into the ground signifying the end of civilization as we know it and yet Trip and Monkey know almost nothing about the city. There is even a point to where they actually speculate about how many “tens of thousands” of people used to live there and construe Grand Central Terminal as a kind of gathering place. The stark contrast between the most famous city in the Western Hemisphere with their complete ignorance of it gives an interesting look into the world they live in but it also makes the player wonder about the world that was. Enslaved does very little to allude to the world before the end of civilization but it is a bit refreshing to see a post-apocalyptic title that is focused on the here-and-now rather than of the remnants from the past.

    Bad Dog
    Enslaved’s gameplay can be split into two different categories: platforming and close/midrange combat. Monkey’s name is well representative of his nature as he is extremely agile and capable of some unusual, if not extreme, parkour, an element of platform games that have become far more common in recent years thanks to titles like Uncharted. Monkey’s agility in the game not only feels smooth and natural but it also flows very well in almost every situation. Several instances in the game have him dodging gunfire as he is flying across the side of a building and, as in this example, demonstrates how the game rewards the player for learning how to utilize Monkey’s rhythm of movement by having him take less damage.

    In addition to being light on his feet Monkey is also a strong fighter. The majority of the combat in Enslaved involves close-range melee fighting against an assortment of different mechs who have different rhythms and methods of attack. Utilizing both his fists and his staff weapon, Monkey is capable of causing unrivaled blunt-force trauma to his mechanized enemies. Though the combos Monkey can pull off are fairly limited but the flow of them, like Monkey’s parkour abilities, feel natural with nary an animation cut when switching from a heavy to a light attack or vica versa.

    While Monkey is to be considered the main character of the game Trip is far from a damsel in distress with nothing to add. Though it is in your best interest to keep her out of harm’s way Trip has several tools at her disposal that can make your job easier. In addition to being able to heal you with health vials should you be unable to find some first aid she can also distract mechs with a decoy light show. Should she be attacked by a mech she automatically engages an EMP blast that temporarily disables all nearby mechs, allowing you to rescue her.

    The End of the World Never Looked So Good
    These days, when games are set in a post-apocalyptic scenario, it is very common to see a dying world where hope isn’t something that’s widespread. Almost every end of civilization set-up in video games these days are composed of bleak, urban environments with nothing but shades of grey and brown to be seen all around. Thankfully Ninja Theory was smart enough to realize that a world without humans wouldn’t exactly be an ugly one. With the apocalypse having happened decades beforehand nature has taken its course and is actively in the process of reclaiming the land for itself. During the course of the game I couldn’t help but be awestruck at several sections of the game. One great example comes early on in the second chapter of the game where you get to explore the initial sections of New York. Amidst crumbling buildings and long since destroyed vehicles stand tall trees with various types of plants growing along and up the walls of humanity’s creations. There’s just something to like about seeing pieces of giant mechs littering the landscape and seeing strands of ivy growing up them.

    One thing that the game does provide very well is a sense of scale. As you travel through the remains of New York and beyond you get a much greater sense of the world before the end and just how chaotic it must have been in the final days. Several later environments actually tease you with just how powerful and large these mechs were, as one such environment has you fighting inside the palm of a long since dead Titan. You really get the sense that the wars before the events of Enslaved were massive in scale, far beyond what we experience in the first half of the 20th century but thanks to the art direction it certainly doesn’t feel like a dying world. Rather, thanks to its design it feels like this is a world that is recovering and on the way to a renewed state of liveliness not seen since before the industrial age.

    The good looks aren’t limited to the environments however: much of the beauty of the game comes from the character design. Using NaturalMotion’s Morpheme animation system, Ninja Theory has created some of the best looking and best acted faces and bodies in Trip and Monkey that I’ve seen since Uncharted 2. You can really feel and see the emotions on these characters, especially Trip, as she experiences fear, shock, loss, and all those other face-wrenching emotions. It’s not just limited to the facial animation though. Andy Serkis, the award winning actor who played Gollum in Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings trilogy, stars as monkey and his acting of the part is nothing short of stellar. Lindsey Shaw, a young actress whose career has begun bearing strong fruit, plays a delightful and completely believable Trip.

    A Journey Well Traveled
    If you would have asked me three years ago if Ninja Theory had enough under its belt to stay alive in an industry filled with fierce competition at every turn I’d have said no. Heavenly Sword, while a good game, was far too short to merit a $60 price point and its console exclusivity really cost the game any replay value. With Enslaved however I think that Ninja Theory has succeed in bringing strong, mature storytelling to the masses with enough content to justify a full price purchase and with DLC on the horizon designed to compliment rather than intrude on the story it certainly is a keeper in my book. During this review I tried my best to not ruin the story for you: what you read above is mainly a glancing pass at a deep and wonderful story with excellent potential. So if you’ve been looking for a unique title this year that doesn’t follow the norm when it comes to game design be sure to check out Enslaved. If anything, experience the story in its whole with a friend.

    Oh, and someone get Roger Ebert on the phone; I can’t find a better candidate out there for cinematic storytelling than this.
    5.0
    Showing most recent comments. View all comments.
    Sly StrategistGreat Review. Had mixed feelings about this game, but going to give it a go now. Thumbs up from me.
    Posted by Sly Strategist on 20 Dec 11 at 19:46
    Energizing SoulExcellent review, I agree with you 100% ! The cinamatic storytelling in this game is the best I've experience in the past years. :)
    Posted by Energizing Soul on 15 May 12 at 00:21
    Chris1984ukOne of the best reviews I've read on this site, which the game deserves. This is definitely in my Top 10 games such a gem.
    Posted by Chris1984uk on 22 Feb 13 at 11:43
  • Sora401KSora401K93,806
    21 Mar 2011
    28 1 2
    I have always loved the classic Journey West. It's been retold through many different mediums (Dragon Ball started out as a retelling of it, as was Sayuki. I have played games based off it before, and I've seen a few movies), and this might be one of the best I've experienced.

    Gameplay: 9/10

    The gameplay centers around Monkey, your player character and the hero of the story. Living up to his name, Monkey has the ability to climb large structures and use free running techniques. It reminded me of Assassin's Creed in this way, the scaling of the buildings is very similarly done.

    During the game you are charged with protecting Trip, a teenage girl who has made an initially uncomfortable alliance with you. Your objective is to keep her safe. If her heart stops your head gets pumped full of electricity until you die, so you're given good reason to be protective. Trip supplies you with an upgrade system for Health, Shield, Combat Techniques, and your Staff.

    The Staff you carry is your only permanent weapon. It's an extend-able rod, which doubles as a plasma gun. You use it for all combat, close and long range.

    As far as vehicles go, you only get one. A hovercraft called a Cloud. It's a small floating disk that lets you fly above most surfaces.

    The combat is entirely against mechs. There are a variety of mechs to face off against, each with unique abilities, so it takes a bit before it risks getting too repetitive, but it can sometimes feel that way.

    The bossfights and puzzles provide breaks from normal gameplay at a good interval, and you get to fight a nice variety of big-mech creatures.

    Graphics: 9/10

    The locals you visit range from post-apocalypse New York, to a mountain town, a giant salvage yard, an abandoned factory that once produced Colossal mechs, ships, and more. You never stick in one place for more than two or three chapters, but it's plenty of time for you to see the great detail put into the environments.

    The characters aren't quite as pretty. But they aren't bad by any means. I would call them standard. The art direction all around is great, though. While they may not be overly realistic, the game has gorgeous graphics.

    Plot:

    The plot is a fresh twist on an old Folk-Tale. You've been captured by a slave ship and you end up crashing into post-apocalyptic New York City. While no real explanation is given for the destruction, you slowly piece together information.

    From there, the characters focus on escaping the city and returning to their homes. You eventually are led onto an epic journey to find whoever was responsible for your initial capture.

    The characters are very well developed. You get a nice feel for their personalities, and the voice acting is superb. It makes them more believable than you'd expect. Monkey is the tough lone-wolf, Trip is the geeky teen. They may seem stereotypical, but you very well might fall in love with them by the end. The game is very plot driven in this regard, because it makes you want to know what happens to the characters next.

    Overall: 10/10

    This was a unique game. I enjoyed it more than I thought I could. I highly recommend you pick it up. I got my copy for 12$, but would of been willing to pay full price had I known how much I would enjoy it. This is a very underrated diamond in the rough. It's hours of enjoyable gameplay with a nice range of achievement difficulty.

    The few flaws that it as aren't much to speak of. The enemies could be a little more varied at times, the graphics on the characters could be a little more polished, and the puzzles could be a bit more obvious on where to start sometimes. Other than that, however, I see no reason to ignore this game. You can get it for less than 20$, when it is well worth 60$.

    Final Score: 28/30
    5.0
  • VinchuccaVinchucca179,674
    24 Oct 2010 11 Jan 2011
    27 5 2
    If there’s one thing that plagues Enslaved Odyssey to the West above all else it is the fact that it’s release-date sits squarely between such big budget titles as Halo Reach, Call of Duty Black Ops, Need For Speed Shift and Fallout New Vegas. So if I can give you one piece of advice: don’t let this little gem sneak under your radar as it is well worth checking out.

    That’s not to say Enslaved is a masterpiece. It has some rough edges here and there. For example while the gameplay is very reminiscent of Prince of Persia it doesn’t feel as fluid. Some awkward animations, a few invisible walls and a camera that needs some manual input to stay on track don’t help either. But you’ll easily forget about these minor issues once you start playing the game.

    The highlight of the game isn’t so much in it’s gameplay, but rather in its storytelling, pacing, character development and voice-acting which all set new standards for games as a whole. By the time you’re a few chapters in you’ll really grow fond of Monkey and his companion Trip (or is it the other way round?). You’ll laugh with their small quirks and genuinely care about the peril they’re in. Seldom does a game achieve these goals with such ease.

    But don’t let me give you the impression gameplay is bad, because it isn’t. While playing as monkey you’ll really feel like an agile, powerful beast of a man as he’ll climb, roll, and fight his way through rough terrain and troops of mechs, the enemies for this game. His weapon of choice, a staff, is really powerful and can even be upgraded in many ways, as can his shield and combatmoves. Shame however there aren’t as many combo’s as you’d like and it mostly boils down to hitting X a couple of times before finishing off with a more powerful Y-button attack. Still, blocking, stunning, evading and countering can be done and sure have their uses. Even more exciting is Monkey’s ability to rip enemies apart and to use their limbs as weapons! There’s even some strategy involved as Trip can mark different kind of enemies for you and the order in which you take them on can really make your life easier of harder.

    Trip comes in handy in other area's too. She’s smaller and lighter than you, which means she can sometimes climb under roadblocks to open new ways for you. She can also divert enemy’s fire, allowing you to sneak by and plan a flanking attack. However initiating her abilities is a bit cumbersome as you’ll need to press LB, which is fine, but it pans the camera towards her. Useful if you’ve lost her for a moment in the richly detailed and lush scenery (truly this post-apocalyptic New York is a marvel to behold), but in a combat situation I’d rather keep my eye on the blade-wielding mech that’s rushing in to make my acquaintance!

    At about 10 hours the campaign isn't exactly short, but you'll still get the feeling it's over way to quick. On the bright side the game never really repeats itself. It keeps things fresh and interesting, which I always prefer to games that seem to drag things out just so they can put “80 hours of gameplay!” on the back of the box. The replay-value of the game depends entirely on your obsessive compulsive disorder to collect things. Getting all the collectables and achievements will probably take 2 or 3 playthroughs, but inevitably you'll be threading the same ground as the first time.

    All things considered Enslaved is one of the surprises of the year for me. It might not be perfect, it's spectacular story-telling; pacing and quality acting is second to none and even for that reason alone it is well worth playing!
    4.0
  • iAmTheTotiAmTheTot93,563
    13 Feb 2013 10 Apr 2013
    14 0 11
    Enslave Me

    External image


    Ever heard of Ninja Theory? Neither had I. Prior to the release of Enslaved: Odyssey to the West in 2010 the team only had one title to their name (with one more title, but under a different developer name). I didn't need to know anything about the developer to know that the demo gameplay for Enslaved made it seem like an interactive movie with some truly hair-raising scenes. The game's been out for a few years now, and I've finally had a chance to sit down and play the game. How did the rest of the game pan out compared to the demo?

    I admit being immediately attracted to the idea of Enslaved. It's a futuristic scifi retelling of an epic classic Chinese novel, Journey to the West. If the similar names doesn't make it obvious, trust me when I say the characters, plot, and many of game concepts are direct references and homages to the novel. While drawing very heavy inspiration from the novel, rest assured that the futuristic spin on the concept takes the characters in some wildly different directions.

    We begin the game aboard a slaver ship, locked in a cell. A short introduction cutscene shows the main character, a burly shirtless hero voiced by Andy Serkis, escaping from his cell as another character, a woman, begins to systematically sabotage the airship in an effort to escape. Released from your cell, the game tosses you right into an intuitive interactive tutorial that covers the basics of the game: platforming and some combat.

    “Monkey,” as the main character goes by, proves to be very adept at climbing and combat. Right from the get-go the game is tossing nerve-wracking cinematic platforming sequences at you, such as clinging on to the outside of the airship as pieces of its hull break off and fly by you. After some sequences like this and a little combat, the short tutorial level comes to an end with Monkey catching the last available escape pod. The catch? That mysterious woman who started all of this beat you to it, and she's not giving it up easy. Albeit through less-than-desired means, Monkey and the woman both jettison from the ship before it crashes into a post-apocalyptic, over-grown New York City.

    A cutscene shows why the game is aptly called Enslaved and the real game shortly begins. Monkey finds himself stuck with the woman, revealed to be named Trip, whether he likes it or not. Luckily, Trip proves to be quite useful through the game. Though she admits herself she'd never be able to survive alone in this post apocalyptic world (which is filled with homicidal mechanical creatures), her abilities as an engineer aid Monkey's brute and raw strength perfectly. As the game progresses, she provides the player with abilities such as a decoy to distract ranged mechs, will continuously scan environments for the player (acting very much like a navigation system), will reveal threats for the player, and most importantly will use her expertise to improve Monkey's combat prowess or longevity.

    The game generally plays out like this: platform around a level to pass an obstacle, making a path for Trip to get through; then combat sequence to protect Trip; repeat until end of level, or boss. It may sound boring, but the formula works marvelously well when the simple ideas are coupled with the game's great cinematography. Combat is somewhat sparse at first but becomes increasingly more common as the game progresses to much satisfaction. The combat mechanics progress from basically being “press these two buttons” to eventually encompassing quite an array of attacks and abilities, such as a counter-attack, knock-back attack, stun attack, and various projectile attacks. These eventually become not just fun to use, but essential on the harder difficulty as the game throws newer and improved enemy types at you in larger quantities.

    External image


    As you and Trip progress through the levels, the characters will naturally interact and discuss plot events such as the beautiful decaying ruins of New York City. The dialogue is generally well written and pleasantly cryptic; through out the game the characters don't explain anything to the player outright. That is, they don't “break the fourth-wall.” Instead they'll talk about where they're headed, how little even they know about the events that led to the post apocalyptic world, and generally try to get to know each other better (typically this is Trip talking – Monkey's not all that interested in Trip's life at first).

    The game progresses at a very nice pace. There are a few parts that feel like they're too hard too early, but they're very, very few and far between, and they usually only feel hard because you don't understand what to do yet – chiefly this happens against bosses. Other than that, the game steadily tosses more difficult platforming sequences at you (though they still are all generally easy), harder enemies, and takes you to new locations as soon as you feel like you've seen enough of the last one (each of which is as beautiful and detailed as the last).

    If I haven't said it enough, let me say it again: this game is wonderfully cinematic. Ninja Theory knows they crafted incredible levels with awesome scenery, and they're not afraid to flaunt it. Very often the camera will fix in on something eye-catching – like wrapping up a round of combat, an important or epic jump from obstacle to obstacle, or highlight an obstacle that's crumbling. And the boss take-downs, oh man the boss take-downs. When I say this game has some of the most satisfying bosses I've ever fought, it's not really so much because they were the hardest to beat, or the hardest to figure out. But each one comes with such a satisfyingly epic take-down scene that it's worth playing through a whole level again just to see them.

    External image


    Unfortunately, the emphasis on cinematography isn't all positive. Undeniably, the camera in some situations can be downright frustrating when you're trying to focus on something but the game insists on the camera being fixed another way. This doesn't happen a whole lot, but there were some cases where the camera was really getting on my nerves – particularly during a certain battle sequence where I was supposed to be protecting something from enemies, but the camera kept circling around to this forsaken angle where I couldn't even see what I was doing. Rest assured, these are isolated incidents.

    The game's pretty straightforward linear. There are collectibles, some of which can be fairly off the beaten path, but that's only a handful on each level. A run-of-the-mill player will probably run through this game never even knowing that some of these side areas exist because of the way the camera usually encourages you to take a certain path, which ultimately progresses the level. There are three different difficulties to play through, so players may find some replayability here. But with no multiplayer aspects at all, this game offers very little else in store for replayability.

    On top of that, it's somewhat short to boot. Aiming for 100% collectibles can garner some extra game life out of this title, but with fourteen chapters that range from 45-90 minutes each makes this a 10-15 hour game that, more than likely, you'll never touch again after completing it once. If I had been releasing this review immediately after release, I would have recommended consumers holding out on this one for a while. But now? It's been a while.

    Since this game's release, Ninja Theory went on to develop the reboot of the Devil May Cry franchise and has received very mixed acclaim for their job on it. I'd hate to see something like that get in the way of Ninja Theory growing as a developer, because if Enslaved is just the beginning of what they are capable of, I would love to see what else they have up their sleeves.

    Achievements
    A lot of this game's achievements can be earned just through the natural course of the game. They include story progression, combat milestones (“kill X enemies”), and unique combat scenarios (“kill X enemy with Y method”) that you may end up getting on accident just by playing. A few of the more annoying ones, such as collecting all the orbs or masks – two kinds of collectibles presented in this game – can be something of a nuisance when you complete an entire 60 minute level only to find out you missed one (even with a guide handy). Apart from these, a handful of achievements requiring a DLC may annoy the completionists out there.
    Achievements never affect the score of a game and are included by reader request. Only the categories below influence the final score.

    Summary
    Graphics: Beautiful scenery, epic animations, and wonderful cinematography are marred only by an occasionally finicky camera angle.

    Sound: A very small but wonderful cast of voice actors give life to the colourful characters.

    Plot: A fantastical retelling of the already fantastical Chinese novel with a surprise, albeit not wholly original, ending.

    Gameplay: Platforming that's never too complicated is interspersed with increasingly difficult combat sequences, which usually end with a satisfying killing blow.

    Length/Replay Value: Short, but sweet. With little-to-no replay value it's a sad truth this one may get played once, then collect dust.

    Yea or Nay? As mentioned, if I was publishing this review when the game was brand new, I would have suggested very strong caution putting down full price for such a short, though enjoyable, game. Now that the game is over two years old and used copies should not be hard to find for a fiver in the States, it's hard for me to say not to buy this one. There are worse ways to spend five bucks.

    Final score: 6.8

    I claim no right to the pictures used in this review, and they will be removed if requested.
    3.5
  • Spiderman NoireSpiderman Noire854,416
    21 Feb 2013
    13 2 1
    This review is late but beneficial to anyone who goes to a game store and sees it covered in dust and under other lost games. Too sum up what this review is about...if you see this game...please pick it up! this game opened my mind to not just buying the big ticket games but the underdog that beats down the giant. Since this is a achievement site, I will include achievements as part of my review.

    Story - 8/10

    Out of the many aspects of this game, i believe this is the weakest of all aspects of this game but no doubt is it terrible. I enjoyed the simplicity of Monkey (the main character) and the friendliness of the second major character (cannot remember her name off the top of my head). Pigsy is a character you see later on in the game and is a refreshing glass of water. the emotion that is conveyed b Monkey in cut scenes and through game play is genuine and real not forced like other games. This is one of the few games in which i did not skip the cut scenes and was actually tense in some of the later chapters as Monkey hangs from extremely high cliffs that crumble as you progress.

    Game play - 9/10

    Game play is varied and not really remains the same throughout he game. The bosses are entertaining to destroy and the combat i believe is smooth and entertaining to smack the crap out of robots with a stick like Donatello!. I think this game is on the same level as Batman Arkham Asylum as in pacing of action and style.

    Achievements - 8/10

    A lot of this game can be achieved through story progression and simple upgrades but this game as one of the most frustrating collectible achievements know to man. I thought Arkham City and Alan Wake was bad but this is worse because of the game. For example, there is a tech orb in a chapter that you need to land on before the cut scene starts. Many times the tech orbs will be invisible and drop off the map. I love achievements and this is the only one that i don't have. cause one chapter is at 99% cause of one missing orb.

    DLC (Pigs Perfect 10) - 8/10

    This expansion takes you into the shoes of one of my new favorite characters, Pigsy. This DLC is priced at 800 MS points which i believe is value because of the amount of time you can get out of it and the lack of content that recent DLC provides. You get a similar experience as the main game but with a variation based on the expanded skills that Pigs provides. Story is pretty good but i picked this DLC immediately after completing the game cause i couldn't stop playing

    Overall

    This is top 3 games on the xbox because this game is fresh just like what dead space brought to the industry back in 2008. Good luck finding a copy of this game as they have been used as coasters or to stabilize tables. I believe if you go to an attic of a video game store and find a copy, you will not be let down
    5.0
  • jedimaster573jedimaster573305,297
    18 Apr 2012 18 Apr 2012
    12 6 5
    After recently picking up this game in the bargin bin at a friend's suggestion, I read the reviews posted and found them to a bit inflated. This review is not intended to be as indepth as the others already posted, but just a bit more realistic in a few areas of the game. I found this game to be decent overall, but definitely not worthy of a five star rating.

    The good:
    1) Hard difficulty can be accomplished on your first run through for the average player.
    2) MOST (not all) of the achs are fairly simple
    3) mechanics of combat are very simple
    4) levels have good variety

    In the middle:
    1) While the story and characters are somewhat interesting, they are by no means so epic to rate 5 stars. The game makes no attempt to explain how things came to be like they did. Finding masks provides flashback to the 20th century, but their significance (masks or flashbacks) is never revealed in a satisfactory way.
    2) Trip - At times the story portrays her as a scared girl in need of help, but in reality she is the thing she is fighting against. She has enslaved Monkey against his will, then fails to keep her promise to release him when he does as she asks. I also found her bossy attitude and frequent "hurry up" to be quite annoying.
    3) the Cloud hover feature is fun, but is limited.
    4) Although the game saves fairly often, it doesnt necessarily count as your last checkpoint if you reload.

    The bad:
    1) The camera in this game drove me crazy. Most games have an auto center button, but this game automatically centers the camera. This made it frustrating when looking around & trying to examine your environment. It also seemed too close during some of the combat.
    2) Enviromental traps on several of the levels will kill you instantly
    3) Chase sequences on 2 levels are a pain, especially on hard difficulty
    4) The 100% Tech Orb achievement is a real pain, even using a guide.

    Again, this quick review is just meant to assess this game in what I believe is a more realistic manner. I only paid $10 for this game, so Im glad I played it, but I honestly dont think it is worth much more than that.
    3.0