F.E.A.R.: First Encounter Assault Recon Reviews

  • dropK1CK ninJAdropK1CK ninJA572,616
    20 Jan 2010 20 Jan 2010
    55 20 18
    F.E.A.R. is a run-and-gun first person shooter. Many will tell you it takes skill to succeed at completing F.E.A.R. I say it takes a mixture of luck, skill, and patience to finish.

    Plot – 4 out of 5

    F.E.A.R. provides a good scare. In fact, at one point I put the game down for almost 2 years because I felt it was providing more cheap scares (door closing on you suddenly, people jumping out from around the corners) than story lined psychological scares. After finally going back to the game and finishing it multiple times, I feel the story line offers a very interesting plot that can be dissected and discussed.

    The game itself begins with you playing the latest recruit for the team -- First Encounter Assault Recon – and being thrown into the pot. As is typical with most cliché games, you learn all your mechanics within the first interval and experience your first disturbances right from the get-go.

    Your mission is to hunt down a man who can control a battalion of soldiers with a telepathic link. A very unique concept that I wish they had played up a bit more. All the while, during the course of the game, you are also haunted by a little girl named Alma. Alma is a carbon copy of the girl from the often parodied film The Ring.

    Graphics – 2 out of 5

    F.E.A.R. was a first year release title for the Xbox 360. The graphics are on par with titles launched during the same time period. F.E.A.R. was the first game I played on my 360 when I got it and I thought the graphics were stellar. Now the graphics look very aged. They remind me of going back and playing Half-Life after experiencing the newest iterations of shooters. 3D graphics in general don’t age well.

    Sound – 2 out of 5

    The music and sound effects for F.E.A.R. are a bit flat. One criticism of F.E.A.R. is that sound effect direction is very hard to discern. I agree that cardinal directions (left, right, etc.) are hard to distinguish but you can tell very easily if something is closer or farther away. The music itself becomes repetitious over the course of the game. The use the same score to create an atmosphere of unease but towards the end of the game it just becomes a parody of itself.

    Mechanics – 1 out of 5

    The shooting mechanics for this game are downright bad. There is no beating around the bush, or sugar coating this one. The aiming and precision for this game are non-existent. There are many instances where I was zoomed in attempting to snipe enemies when my shots would go wide of the target. Now you may chalk this up to brilliant realism, where in real life you are never ALWAYS right on the mark. Playing the game and you will quickly realize this is not the intended experience. When I was off the mark, I would consistently hit the same off marked spot. The lean function does not help either. It leaves you too exposed when you’re trying to hide and hit harder targets.

    You might as well stand beside the wall instead of trying to lean out from behind it. It just feels like the shooting mechanics were not polished.

    Grenades provide splash damage through walls and the lack of sprint button makes the game frustrating when trying to dodge grenades.

    Multiplayer – Not Available

    Multiplayer for F.E.A.R. is dead. The only way to obtain its achievements is through boosting. I will not penalize the game itself due to a lack of a community (and a sequel out there).

    Achievements – 4 out of 5

    I give the achievements high marks because I thought they were very creative. Playing through the campaign once will net you around 100 GS. That’s it. It is successive playthroughs on Extreme difficulties and handicapping yourself (no use of SlowMo, no boosters, etc) that give the game its twist and more rewarding achievements. There are two collectable achievements for this game but there are excellent guides out there for it. Approximately a third of the achievements are multiplayer related.

    Concluding Remarks

    At first I hated F.E.A.R. I found the games cheap scares and madding achievements huge turn offs. When going back to work on personal completion percentages, this game grew on me. I can appreciate the game for what it offered during its time period. This could almost be considered a “historical” shooter for the 360 generation and it does offer a very interesting foundation for a good story.

    Overall – 3 out of 5

    Edit: If you wish to vote negative, please provide your reason why in the comments section. That way I can improve on the review.
    3.5
  • Fatal x BladeFatal x Blade1,205,685
    08 Apr 2010 04 Aug 2019
    33 2 2
    FEAR is a psychological thriller that if given the chance will suck you in and refuse to let go. Meaning your addiction to it will be inevitable. We'll start with the story which in my opinion is extremely intrigueing. Considering that it is told without ever really disconnecting the player from the game with the usual flashy cinematics, that have almost become a second nature to videogames. Instead the story is able to be told through the gameplay itself and aside from a few brief nightmarish sequences the player will never not be in control of the character. This allows for the player to feel more connected to the game and will make the scares work in the games favor and seem that much more realistic to the one experiencing it. You play as a member of the F.E.A.R (First Encounter Assaust Recon) division whose job is to investigate the paranormal which is not lacking in this game. What with the army of super soldiers under the control of the cannibalistic Paxton Fettel, and the mysterious yet creepy little girl Alma. I can't say much about the story without spoiling it but just know that it offers enough twists and creativity to satisfy most everyone. Though there will be some people who play through the entire game and not understand anything that is going on. So for those people I suggest googling it and maybe that will shed some light on what was going on.

    The graphics, now it should be noted that this is an older game so the graphics aren't the best you'll see. But I for one fell in love with them, because the game lacks what I like to refer to as shininess,that a lot of games suffer from. This games graphics look gritty and in my opinion realistic which really adds to the whole horror aspect of the game. Though to some, the graphics may just appear to be bland. And since this is an M rated horror game blood should be expected. But, this game is full of it, I think the developers wanted to see just how much blood they could put in one game. A couple parts in the game you literally swim in it. Its also extremely satisfying to headshot an enemy especially in slo-mo(we'll get to that later) and watch the head disconnect itself from the body and start rolling around on the floor spewing you guessed it blood. Its quite obvious this game isn't for the faint of heart.

    On to the sound, which for the most part sounds pretty good (no pun intended). The score in the game will undoubtedly become repetitive but this is why the 360 allows you to play your own music. As far as the sound effects go, it all is pretty good. I mean the guns sound like guns so what more do you want. And, this is a horror game so it should be expected that things get knocked over and make a noise in an attempt to scare you. Which actually brings about a complaint, occasionally a vase or another object will get knocked over and the game will loop the same sound, though this mainly only happens on multiplayer (which most of you won't even play, shame on you).

    On to the gameplay which is where FEAR really shines. As previously mentioned you are able to activate slo-mo because your character has "reflexes off the chart..." due to reasons I can't discuss since it would lead to the revealing of spoilers (which is a no no). The ability to activate slo-mo is one of the best parts about this game. You just can't imagine how satisfying it is to walk into a room activate slo-mo and just slaughter the enemy infested room. To me this game has a perfect flow, the controls are tight and responsive and the button layout is perfect. Hell I just like the feel of moving my character. This is a fast paced game and is most definately a run and gun, the action never stops and neither should you. The game also has one of the best AI's in any game, they will communicate with one another and flank you. Their tactics can be quite brutal. It's also very helpful to listen to their dialogues and quite comical to listen to them drop the f-bomb when a grenade lands by their feet. Parents beware there is a considerable amount of cussing in this game but come on who the f*** wouldn't f***ing cuss when put in that situation. Actually you'll probably be throwing a couple f-bombs in the air or your controller because the difficulty of this game is very high.

    So I guess now would be a good time to start talking about the Achievements. Completionists beware because this game is not quite as easy as Avatar the Last Airbenderwink. Though this game has some of the best Achievements to date. They require you to run through the game quite a few times to snag some of the achievements like beating the game shooting less than 500 rounds or beating the game without using slo-mo, which I literally tore my LB off in order to obtain after having failed many times (imo the hardest achievement but for some reason no one agrees with me). You've also got your multiplayer achievements for weapons and winning 1000 matches. Most of you will boost all the multiplayer which is perfectly fine but please play a few legit matches because the online is extremely addicting. Good luck though because aside from a few hardcore fans, the online is dead. The instant action achievement on extreme is where the majority of you will meet your challenge. There are four maps which feature no checkpoints and are roughly 10min long. But, there not all that bad, and yes I am able to say that having done them on 3 seperate accounts. As long as you're dedicated enough the achievement will pop. This game definately deserves the 5 out of 5 but it should be noted that this game is not for everyone. Though I highly recommend that everyone try it.

    The Results
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Graphics- 4 out of 5 A little outdated and some may find it bland while others may see that blandeness as a realistic gritty look that helps the player stay more in tune with the horror vibe the game screams. Character models are a bit plasticy but do their job. On an upside the blood is nice.
    _____________________________________________________
    Sound-3 out of 5
    The score gets repetitive, but the sound effects are nice and listening to the AI can be quite comical.
    _____________________________________________________
    Story-5 out of 5
    A brilliant and creative storyline that may leave some confused and others wanting more.
    _____________________________________________________
    Gameplay-5 out of 5
    One of the best FPS's on the 360. A very addicting and rewarding experience. Controls feel right.
    _____________________________________________________
    Achievements-5 out of 5 (as goes for difficulty)
    Very good list, point distribution is a bit weird but oh well. Some may complain that its too difficult.
    _____________________________________________________
    Overall-5 out of 5

    Thank you for reading...
    This was my first review


    Youtube
    https://www.youtube.com/fatalxblade
    5.0
  • Haseo ATCHaseo ATC122,379
    14 Jan 2010 01 Sep 2011
    2 7 5
    Update 8/31/11: Now that I'm playing this game without surround sound, it's actually not too bad... With hi-def surround sound, I can't give this game more than 1 of 5 stars. But without it, I'll give it a 3.

    F.E.A.R. is a first person shooter horror game. It's hard to tell whether the developers intended the horror aspect to stand out more, or the FPS, because it seems like they tried to do both and failed. The weapons don't really stand out as anything special, and the combat is pretty much like any other shooter. The enemy combatants all have the same voice (they're clones), which you get pretty tired of hearing after a while.

    This game did scare the **** out of me, though. The surround sound quality of this game is terrible --- You hear a whisper, or enemy communications, anything, and you have no idea where it's coming from. This alone made the game ten times scarier then it should have been. The game is also pretty dark, with plenty of shadows and dim lighting, but after a while you get the feeling that the dark is more to cover up lousy graphics than anything else.

    As of the time I'm writing this, 98% of tracked gamers have completed Interval 2 of the campaign. But only 69% have completed Interval 3, which requires another thirty minutes or so of play time to complete. 39% went on to finish Interval 10.

    There's a reason for these low completion numbers: this game blows. As for the multiplayer, the achievements will have you playing this game forever.

    On the bright side: playing this game is bound to raise your TA ratio.
    3.0
  • Dj Sinister XDj Sinister XThis gamer has had their achievements removed from the site
    09 Apr 2009 09 Apr 2009
    24 32 6
    F.E.A.R. is one of the best FPS I have played. To me it is one of the few shooters that actually take skill to beat. I love the achievements, I know some people don't like them, but I liked playing through the game 3 times. The multiplayer was alright, it had it's flaws, but overall it is pretty good. The one major flaw in this game is the graphics, thier not the worst I've seen but they are still pretty bad. That being said, I give this game a 4 out of 5. Enjoy!
    P.S. If you get 1000 in this game, your a beast! smile