Forza Motorsport 4 Reviews

  • Drachen77Drachen77313,280
    13 Oct 2011 14 Oct 2011
    50 7 12
    Let’s just get down to brass tacks here; Forza Motorsport 4 is the best car game I’ve personally ever played. If you were to make a checklist for things that make a great video game, Forza 4 would get a check for everyone. Superb graphics, exceptional sound, robust on-line game play, a multitude of modes and options, and responsive controls. Redmond, Washington’s Turn 10 Studios has delivered the ultimate love letter to the car enthusiast in all of us.

    Since graphics are usually what’s on everyone’s mind, it’s easiest to talk about that first. In a phrase: they are incredible. The cars are rendered beautifully with every little detail preserved. The lighting effects on the cars give radiant reflections and give the game an amazing look. There are well over 500 cars and 80 manufacturers in the game. Everything from small hatchbacks to big SUVs to super exotics is here. The tracks are recreated faithfully from their real-life counterparts. There are a number of fantasy tracks as well but it’s almost impossible to tell the difference. In Autovista mode (which will be discussed) the cars are as close to perfect as can be created in a video game. This is easily one of the best looking games on your Xbox 360.

    Game play wise, the cars drive fantastic. One of the most noticeable improvements in 4 from 3 is the driving mechanics. The cars drive very close to real life. Braking is very responsive, where as slamming the gas will get the car fish-tailing. Small, agile cars can pull sharp turns while larger cars and trucks have a big turn radius. Electric cars like the Volt or Prius have a quiet, but smooth acceleration. Turn 10 shows how much they love cars by dedicating so much time and technology to make the cars as real as possible.

    The menus in the game are very easy to navigate and the menu music is simply incredible. One cool thing that 4 includes is a file import function from 3. If you have lots of car designs and tuner set-ups you can transfer that to 4. You also get rewarded with cars and in-game credits if you got to a high level in 3. One more tremendous improvement they made was reducing the infamous load times. The load times while preparing for a race have easily been cut in half.

    One of the more controversial additions to Forza 4 are the Kinect functions. Kinect overall seems to have a real “love or hate” relationship with most 360 players. The Kinect has been implemented in numerous ways in Forza 4. The most famous way is with the Autovista mode. Autovista mode allows for you to look at 25 select cars in a very detailed way. You can open the doors, hood, and trunk. The narrator gives you a ton of information about the car like for the engine and interior. Jeremy Clarkson of Top Gear fame gives you a personal and fun take on the cars. The Kinect allows you to use your hands and body to navigate around the car opening the doors like you would in real life. Put your hand on the door handle and pull, the door opens, and you can step forward into the car. It sounds really cool but doesn’t work quite as smooth as you would like. Every once in a while, if you lean too far, the camera will just start spinning like crazy around the car. Also, putting your hands on an info spot can be tricky if you can’t line up your hand to the spot. It is very important to tune your Kinect before you start, you will get much better results. Kinect is also implemented in actual driving. However, all you do is steer; you do not control braking or acceleration. I believe that this is actually good because all you have to focus on is driving. Implementing something silly like pushing your arms forward or jumping would just be ridiculous and no one would ever want to do this. At least, this way it has a real nice simple feel to it. I do believe that they missed a chance to add some silly racing to take advantage of this. Something like Go-Karts or Monster Trucks would be well suited for this type of play. Kinect is also used for headtracking in normal race mode with your controller. It doesn’t really add anything useful though. It’s a neat idea, but one that has the feel of a last minute addition to put on the box. Overall, Kinect’s addition isn’t enough to justify buying one but for those already with it, some interesting things can be accomplished.

    One of the great things about Forza 4 is the sheer number of things to do in the game. Obviously there is a career mode. This is where you start with a small car and start with simple races on small tracks. Where 4 differs from 3 though is that the game allows you to select from different classes of cars each race. You have to complete a certain number of races for each season but you can choose cars much easier. However, the game rewards you for staying with one manufacturer with Affinity points. Also as you move up in Driver Levels with experience points and at each level you move up you can select a car from a group instead of just getting some random car. This method really helps for you to keep a more organized garage if you so choose. Another great mode is Rivals Mode. This is where you can challenge other people’s times in races and with certain cars. The person’s ghost car is on the track as you try to beat their time. For times that are faster than yours, it’s a great way to see how to improve your driving. Forza 4 also has a wonderful tie-in with the BBC’s famous car show, Top Gear. There are some fun things to do like Car Bowling (where you knock down pins going around the track) or racing on the famous Top Gear track in Dunsfold, England.

    While Forza 4 is an amazing game it does have a few points that could be improved upon, but it really feels like nit-picking. I feel like the game misses a real opportunity to teach you about the fundamentals of racing. For instance, the game has achievements for doing a perfect pass, speed, draft, drift, and turn; yet it never explains what that means. If there was a tutorial about drifting or passing, perhaps it could really show you how real racers accomplish these things. It could give fledging race fans a chance to understand what to watch for. To piggy-back off that idea, the game feels more like it is about driving and not racing. The AI is very aggressive early on but after just a lap or so you are usually well clear of them and you are basically just trying to beat your own times. You never are really in a position where you are nose to nose with a car the whole time, even when you are driving actual race cars.

    In regards to achievements, be prepared for the long haul with this game. Just like 3 had a brutal achievement for winning every race, it is back in 4. Achievements also exist for every 10 driver levels up to 50 and completing each season. You also need to get a manufacturer up to level 50. You will also need to have 3 to get a file import achievement and a Kinect to get another one. It does stay away from online ones though except to buy and sell in the Forza Marketplace.

    Turn 10 has done an incredible job separating the Forza Motorsport series away from a very crowded pack. There are so many car games out there; it is easy to get lost. However, they have worked very hard to show how much they love the world of automobiles and they do a fantastic job of bringing you along for the ride.
    5.0
    Showing most recent comments. View all comments.
    mga74nice review mate,very helpful.
    Posted by mga74 On 23 Jun 12 at 12:14
    Becker SWEVery nice review. Only thing I have to say negative is that about the stable on-line thing. Everyone I've played with are having same prob; after some races you get stuck in loading screen or lobby countdown stops working, saying 'waiting for more players to join', even if you're as many as 12 people in the lobby...

    Other then that; you covered it all, more or less.
    Posted by Becker SWE On 11 Oct 12 at 18:37
    rob25XNice review, very good.
    Posted by rob25X On 29 Sep 15 at 18:51
  • CassiopeiaGamesCassiopeiaGames181,886
    25 Oct 2011
    25 5 2
    This review was originally posted on my website, http://gamingirl.com

    External image


    Be ready to experience one of the best racing games made to date – including more than 500 licensed cars, there’s one for everyone to love. With a strong friend in Top Gear, an experienced developer as Turn 10, a big publisher as Microsoft and a heap of tracks throughout the world, there is no way this game can flop.

    The stars of the show
    Ranging from the small and popular 2011 Chevrolet Spark over old classics such as the Nissan Fairlady from 1969, to the worlds most expensive and fastest production car, the Bugatti Veyron, it’s safe to say that there are plenty of different cars.

    While I sincerely love to drive the VW Golf because I was taking my driver’s license in one, the spark and refreshing experience the 1969 Nissan Fairlady has to offer is simply too much fun to pass out on. Trying out the Bugatti Veyron, the worlds fastest and most expensive production car was an adrenaline rush and I had a lot of fun flying down the straight line on Nürburgring in almost 400 kilometres an hour speed. No, I wasn’t able to hit the top speed.

    External image


    This game sincerely needs a good sound system to go along with it, preferably a surround system 5.1 with good speakers – any other thing simply doesn’t justify the games roaring powers. With recording of real cars from the best in the field, Nick Wiswell (PGR series, Blur) there’s no way the sounds of the cars is going to be a problem. It’s a thrill to listen to the different sounds – even when you’re climbing a hill you can hear a difference with the motor fighting to get the car up to the top. Especially if you’re driving an older model.

    Destination speed
    The classic and very well known gigantic track, Nürburgring is of course at present, and following suit are 25 other tracks in different environments. I tell you, when the game took me to Infinion for the first time, I rejoiced inside – a track I was really familiar with from NASCAR 2008, as I had a heap of trouble beating a challenge on this very track to the point where I love it. Every corner, turn and hill.

    The graphics are in it’s own league. Not only are landscapes and textures on the asphalt better than I’ve ever experienced in any racing game, the effects that the developers was able to pull off is simply surprisingly good. More than once I was trying to get a better view by changing my angle to the screen when there were a glare from the sun in the wet asphalt, or snow in the stunningly environment was blinding me. With soft hills, deep gaps and a lot of different surfaces to try out, there’s plenty to explore on this game – I would had loved to smash up the cars by driving them into the fence or other cars, but Turn 10 decided to keep out the option. Being a simulation racer, this is understandable and acceptable – I won’t go for disintegrating my car anyway, unless I have a weak moment of boredom. Then again, I could just pop in either one of my Burnout games or Blur.

    External image


    I love the simplicity of the menu. No roundabouts, easy upgrades of the cars, no “website” and no front page with 30 different options that GT5 has. While I loved GT5 for it’s complexity and it’s drivers license modules, I love Forza for keeping this out and just kicking the player into the race instantly.

    How hard is this?
    It’s hard to determine the difficulty because it’s determined on the players assists settings. I’d love to have the current settings enabled, and the AI at a higher level as I keep winning in first try, sometimes I even reach first place before entering second lap, this being in world tour mode. I have most thing on easy, but turned off braking and steering assists, if I turn anything else off, I’ll be driving on ice.

    While this is supposed to be a simulation racer, Top Gears introduction to the Forza series is bound to throw something quirky in. And they did. Apart from including bowling on the Top Gear test track and letting you keep your current car in the Top Gear studio, Jeremy Clarkson is also greeting you upon starting the game up and commenting on the cars when you’re investigating them in Autovista mode.

    The online includes a vast number of different modes to try, and I was pretty surprised when I realised they had included soccer and tag. While soccer was a bit of a drag to play because everyone just crashes into each other including their own team mates, both keep the it and spread the it (tag) is a lot of fun when there’s enough players.

    Sensible Kinect
    You can turn on head tracking, and while that’s a cool feature, it will only work really great if you sit up straight, maybe even using a wheel for a real driving experience. You are able to set the sensitivity, but since the screen won’t move, it’s not really useful as you have to turn your head, and keep your eyes at the screen at the same time.

    External image


    I give props to the developers for including the opportunity to use the Kinect sensor, but there’s so many restrictions if you wanna make use of it. You can’t race career or online, but there is splitscreen race available and no options to set difficulty or brake assists. The car will accelerate and brake automatically, you’ll only have to turn by holding your hands like your have a steering wheel between your hands. There’s more potential to the sensor than this, like minigames with assembling or puzzling elements.

    Turning back
    Having a rewind function available makes it far easier to win a race since the player can correct their fails instantly – most of the time. I had a few encounters where the rewind function simply wasn’t available, and I’m not alone. Reading forums around, other players confirm that the rewind function sometimes turns off – one even experienced that they were rewinded for an entire lap. Luckily enough I haven’t experienced this – yet.

    While Forza clearly indicates that it’s a simulation racer by not having a full damage model, they included some fun modes, especially in the multiplayer with tag and soccer. I like racing games, but I need an extra fun factor than just the race – Forza does just this with having these things included. Forza takes you on for a real ride of a virtual lifetime, and is one of the best racers ever made for gaming.

    External image
    5.0
  • PlayB3yond27PlayB3yond276,730
    24 Jan 2012
    14 1 0
    When I first picked up Forza 4, it was with a degree of hesitancy. Having played Forza 3, I wasn't sure how different this new installation in the series would be. But after a good few races I'm pleased to report that there's plenty difference to make this game seriously, seriously good.

    In these reviews I often start with graphics, but really in Forza 4 there isn't much to say. We've all seen the trailers, and the in game graphics are simply fantastic. For a few, Forza 3's graphics could be a little quirky at times, but in FM4 we see perfect quality and detail all the way through. From the worn and beautiful environments to the stunningly detailed and poised cars themselves, we have a living breathing world which feels massively realistic and tangible.This is not showcased better in FM4's auto-vista mode, which gives you a free camera control around a car, allowing you to inspect every detail from the stickers on the engine, to the shine of the nicely polished gear levers inside. You will be amazed at the realism and detail of the cars, something which is transferred in full to the actual driving experience, rather than being a showroom thing.

    The biggest improvement over FM3 however, and the most noticeable is how the game feels. The controls in FM3 were quite heavy, and this was to some rather cumbersome and slow. Sure, the better cars were more responsive but there always seemed a degree of understeering with vehicles which didn't suit everybody. FM4 though is much more light and responsive, with oversteer playing a large role in the setup. For better cars (I'm talking B class here) the steering system feels poised, and you feel a massive amount of grip while retaining that slippery control of the rear. Tuning, of course allows you to poise the car to your preferences, but honestly the base setup will work for many drivers. It also feels fun and technical, guiding your car around a bend while keeping the back in check all the way.

    Even though the driving feels looser, it does not feel less realistic that FM3's setup. Throttle control, opposite locking - it all combines well into a neat little package which offers plenty of challenge when you turn off the driver aids, but still maintains play-ability without being too hard. The driving feels fast, much more so that Forza 3 - the sounds, control and apparent speed of the car all work together to give you the feeling of pure speed, even when you aren't going too quickly which is a major improvement over FM3 for me. It's so rewarding to brake into a corner, kicking the back out ever so slightly and easing back onto the throttle glad you turned off traction control.

    And then I come to content, which is expansive and vast as you'd expect from a racing game. The choice of cars is vast, as is the choice of circuits even though there aren't many new additions from FM3. The tracks which are new though feel good to drive on, and they are a welcome addition to the game. The storefront and personalization features from FM3 are retained, with subtle improvements (such as allowing you to search the storefront by gamertag) which make the whole thing better. There's so much more to do than the career mode, from test driving to browsing the storefront, tuning or making vinyl designs, the extra content will keep you going for hours.

    Speaking of which, I'm pleased to say that the multiplayer aspects of FM4 are diverse and much improved over FM3. Gone is the accelerated multiplayer physics setup which caused so much pain over tiny errors, replaced with the single player physics. And thank you turn ten! This change makes multiplayer racing much more intense and exciting; rewarding you for clean passing but not ruining your day with errors. The classes are well poised and balanced too, which means the field of 15+ racers are all in with a shot of winning. Such even further intensifies competition, making for a pulse raising racing environment where driving is fun and competitive.

    So then, Forza 4? Stunning beautiful, poised and well balanced with hours of content and a good multiplayer that will keep you going for hours on end. What more could you want from a racing game?
    5.0
  • eichmanbeichmanb168,283
    05 Nov 2011 05 Nov 2011
    19 9 2
    From Ign.com

    In Eric Bana's 2009 documentary Love the Beast, Bana and Top Gear's Jeremy Clarkson are sitting at a picnic table on an overcast day talking about cars. They're talking about Bana's first car, a 1974 Ford XB Falcon hardtop that he purchased at the age of 15 – and car he still owns, and the car around which the documentary itself is based.

    Clarkson is making a point about car people and non-car people; he believes non-car people just can't see beyond the wires, glass, metal and rubber. They can't see the personality behind the engineering, the soul beneath the surface. It's a position Clarkson expands upon in the introductory sequence of Forza Motorsport 4; that car lovers are being marginalized in a world where practicality trumps adrenaline. A world where we're told to think of economy and the environment rather than excitement and enjoyment.

    With Clarkson's help Forza 4 is positioning itself as an ode to the automobile of sorts. A celebration of all things four-wheeled and fun in one accessible package. Forza 4 is Turn 10's tilt to create the world's best and most comprehensive racing sim, to build an essential destination where car lovers can gather to trade, tune and take each other on.

    And it's hard to argue the crew hasn't succeeded.

    Booting up Forza 4 is like slipping back into your favorite jacket and finding $50 in the pocket. It fits just as comfortably as it did the last time you wore it but it comes with a pleasant bonus. The DNA of Forza 3 is strong in Forza 4, lending a certain familiarity to proceedings, but welcome tweaks and additions across the board strengthen the overall offering considerably.

    With your first foray behind the wheel automatically muted by a suite of driving aids, the first thing you'll notice will be the improved visuals. Forza 3 was no slouch at the time but two years on and Forza 4 is a marked improvement. It's all thanks primarily to Forza 4's new image-based lighting model, which basically means the cars look perfectly seated within the game's tracks. Harsh sunlight burns bright against bodywork and cabin view is a great way to observe the shadows that dance smoothly back and forth across dashboards. It's excellent stuff.

    The car models themselves are also hugely impressive. The finest aspects are reserved for the game's special Autovista models, a mode that allows you to absorb even the tiniest of details, but every car stands up to close inspection. They look as good in motion as they do static, too. The frame rate is buttery smooth and they look fantastic circulating around the game's bright and crisp tracks.

    Still, Forza 4 doesn't just look and feel better, it sounds better too. Turn the music down and the volume up, up until you can only communicate with other people in the same room by shouting – or perhaps blinking in Morse code. That's the sweet spot. The older cars sound the best. The howl of a D-Type Jag will rattle your nipples off, and if the snarl of a 351 Cleveland V8 in Forza 4 can't bring Steve McQueen back from the dead nothing can.

    The richer engine notes may weave a symphony of power and violence but Forza 4 is actually quite a fresh audio experience in other areas too. There are new sounds for collisions, wind rush and more. The inoffensive but bog standard music may not blow your skirt up, but the thick tapestry of sound effects should.

    Somewhere, somehow, Mad Max is nodding approvingly.

    The real stars here, obviously, are the cars. Turn 10 has really nailed the roster this time around. If you can't find cars here you love then you honestly don't love cars as much as you think you do. It's really that simple. Turn 10 being forbidden from including Porsche has surely stung, but Forza 4's slate of over 500 vehicles from 80 manufacturers really does have something for everyone.

    Forza 4 embraces car culture from all over the globe, and it does so without a disproportionally large focus on vehicles from just one country. You won't find 135 Nissans and only 12 Ferraris here. Hot hatches, classic British sports cars, Hollywood heroes, JDM favorites, German super sedans, timeless American muscle, exotic Italian thoroughbreds, even an immortal Australian icon – they're all here, and more.

    Forza 4 captures the cult of cars better than any racing game before it. It's a game that understands what makes a 20-year-old high-performance pickup truck just as important to some people as a brand new Lexus LF-A. A game that understands that a 1977 V8 Vantage is just as desirable as a 2010 V12 Vantage. A game that understands why you can't have five Ford V8 Supercars without five Holden ones too.

    Aussie petrolheads have killed each other over less.

    Visuals, sound and a robust garage are still but one part of a larger equation. All of it means naught if the handling is bunk. Fortunately Forza 4 feels more authentic than ever. Turn in is sharper and the feeling of grip, particularly under heavy braking or aggressive cornering, is really well translated. The lock-to-lock steering rate has been increased dramatically and Turn 10 has added a simulation steering option (which removes the subtle steering assist that makes it easier to drift by interpreting your inputs and automatically modifying your steering angle accordingly). Forget slow and soggy steering rates; jerk the wheel in Forza 4 and your car will twitch and lunge ferociously.

    "Arrrrrrrrggggghhhhhh!"

    As far as the braking goes, it's been massaged in a bunch of ways. With ABS off you'll note there's a larger sweet zone before lockup. Turn 10 has also worked with how more subtle braking inputs are handled in order to improve how light braking techniques are represented, like trail braking (gradually releasing brake pressure past the corner entrance to keep weight transferred over the front tires for longer). These braking and steering upgrades, coupled with the tire data Turn 10 has gleaned from its Pirelli partnership, have worked wonders. With far better feedback regarding the loading and unloading of tires you get a better feel for your car's behavior, especially in stressful areas like corner entries.

    The Fanatec wheel is the obvious choice for the hardcore but the bulk of players will be using a pad, and we have no complaints with the controls. Of course, if all this sounds like far too much to process Forza 4 still comes with a full set of driving aids that should keep even the world's worst driver on the asphalt.

    Opponent AI has been tweaked too, meaning closer and ultimately more satisfying racing. In World Tour mode the AI is dynamic, becoming tougher the better you perform, making for more competitive racing.

    "This guy's harder to pass than a kidney stone!"

    Outside of World Tour there are four different AI settings (up from three in Forza 3). Crucially, Turn 10 no longer removes power from AI cars to slow them down for players on the lower difficulty levels. Underpowered cars made it easier for less-skilled players to keep up but allowed them to blitz the hamstrung AI on straights. This time Turn 10 emulates lower level AI by giving them less confidence going into corners, so they brake sooner and carry less speed through them (like an actual novice driver would). The key to outfoxing lower level AI is outbraking them, because all AI levels will be pedal-to-the-metal in a straight line. Combined with an increase in the amount of cars on track this ultimately means more doorhandle-to-doorhandle racing and less lonely laps way out ahead of the pack.

    The best part about the whole thing is how Forza 4 incentivizes you to keep pushing, and how it lets you control this progression to a certain extent. The RPG style approach of Forza 3 has been enhanced considerably.

    The speed to level 50 has been ramped up to give players new cars more quickly, and the overall level cap has been pumped up to 150. This way players will be rewarded for longer, rather than maxing out with plenty left to accomplish but nothing to be gained from it. This time around you'll be given a choice between a number of gift cars at every level up to level 50, rather than a predetermined one. Each set of choices is themed and gives you far better control of the cars you want to have in your garage.

    Car leveling has been changed too. In Forza 3, once a car hit level five there was no longer any real incentive to keep driving it. In Forza 4, cars no longer level. Instead, the player builds manufacturer specific levels, called affinity levels. With this new system, if you race in a Ford, you gain Ford-specific XP. The same car, a different car, it doesn't matter as long as it's a Ford. Instead of five levels per car there are now 50 levels per manufacturer. Hitting level five will reward you with a 100 per cent discount on performance parts, and there are large cash bonuses up for grabs beyond that.

    What's particularly satisfying about Forza 4 is that you earn XP (and credits) everywhere, not just in World Tour mode. Forza 4 is a hugely robust single-player game. The event list is enormous and the amount of cars you have at your disposal to tackle them is immense. Hop online, however, and things get even better.

    And even more sideways.

    We're not talking about the ever-impressive conventional multiplayer either, which by and large is quite similar to Forza 3, albeit with the return of user-hosted public lobbies. We're talking about Rivals mode, which is easily the most addictive part of the whole game. Rivals mode is basically a combination of events that allow you to play against your friends or other Forza players online, even when they're offline. Your rival will be represented by a ghost car of their attempt at any given challenge and you need to beat them. By beating your rival, you'll get bonus credits based on that rival's position on the leaderboard, and the size of the board itself. If your rival is in the top percentile on a well-populated board, their bounty will be significant. If you challenge and defeat a rival who also happens to be a friend or fellow club member, they'll receive a message inviting them to try and beat you again.

    There are seven different Rivals tabs with a series of individual events in each. Some of the best Rivals mode races are the Track Days (trying to post a competitive and clean lap time while fighting a rival, constant slower traffic and the circuit itself is an intense racing experience) but beyond that there are Open Time Attacks (which allow tuning) and Spec Hot Laps (which don't), Autocross events, bespoke Top Gear challenges (including the "Reasonably Priced Car" challenge, one lap on the Top Gear Test Track in a Kia cee'd), Drifting and a stack more.

    You can level up using nothing but Rivals mode, if you want. Indeed, we found it a great place for Forza 3 veterans to start. It's pretty unlikely Forza 3 graduates will be too keen on being forced to beetle around in any one of the uninspiring starter cars. Rivals mode will be a great place to become accustomed to the adjusted handling and build up some XP, credits and cars before heading back into career.

    It's worth mentioning that Forza 3 alumni will be rewarded with a bunch of gift cars immediately based on what driver level they reached in Forza 3 and what cars they had in their garage. With the far more flexible World Tour mode offering events based on the cars you want to drive you won't have to bother with a starter car if you'd rather not.

    And why would you?

    There have been a number of additions to the customization options too. The livery editor has been bolstered by a host of new shapes (chosen by the community) so expect to see even more impressive creations on the Storefront.

    The general car upgrading system remains largely the same but Turn 10 has added upgrades specifically for the game's electric cars, a drag racing tire compound and a variety of new aero and appearance options. Some muscle cars now boast aftermarket hood scoops, and many cars with discrete front and rear bumpers now have the option to remove them entirely. Also, many older cars also have painted headlight covers for an old-school look.

    Outside of Forza 4's main package there's Autovista, a bespoke mode not associated with your Forza 4 career. Autovista, as you probably already know, is a new feature of Forza 4 that allows you to virtually explore some of the game's most exotic and iconic cars. When you begin you'll have access to around just a handful of the cars. To unlock more you need to pass a specific challenge for each one. Do so and you'll be able to pore over the hyper-detailed model of it in Autovista and listen to Jeremy Clarkson's thoughts on it (which are sometimes refreshingly candid).

    There's text on the bolts. On the bolts, people.

    But beyond all that, Forza 4 is still one big automotive sandbox. Want to race a mate up Top Gear's mile-long runway at full speed in your favorite cars? Do it. Want to flog a Hummer H1 around the Nurburgring for kicks? Experiment away.

    Is Forza 4 beyond improvement? Of course not. It's disappointing Turn 10 was unable to see to featuring night racing this time around, like peers GT5 and SHIFT 2 manage. Weather effects, like those we enjoyed in the likes of PGR4, also remain absent.

    While we're at it, we'd say SHIFT 2 has a slightly superior assortment of tracks overall too. Forza 4's tracks look great but US circuits noticeably outnumber the remainder. SHIFT 2 is a little more egalitarian when it comes to tracks, with the likes of Monza, Mount Panorama (Bathurst), Brands Hatch and Spa-Francorchamps all featuring. Hopefully we see these sorts of tracks find their way into Forza in the future.

    Turn 10 has improved the look of general scratches and scrapes, the kind you get by kissing a wall or rubbing against an opponent, but on the whole car damage is still quite underwhelming. It falls fairly short of the sort of damage we recently saw in Driver: San Francisco, which itself is several rungs below DiRT 3.

    While the Kinect functionality is actually quite excellent for head tracking, allowing you to check mirrors and look through apexes with exceedingly minor head movements, its much-touted role in Autovista fails to ignite much interest. It's far less finicky to just use a controller.

    There'll likely be some resistance amongst fans regarding the new car tokens (players who don't want to save up in-game currency to buy cars can exchange Earth-dollars for car tokens via Xbox LIVE – the most expensive cars in Forza 4 will cost three tokens) and how upgrades are now free after around 30 minutes play per manufacturer. How it'll impact the in-game economy remains to be seen.

    But these flaws hardly register. Above everything, however, Forza 4 is a game that wants you to enjoy everything it has to offer. It doesn't hide the bulk of its cars away, or make you jump through hoops to unlock tracks for general use. In free play you can drive any car on any track you want. It doesn't make you earn colors to paint your cars; it wants to create whatever you wish, when you wish. It doesn't stop you from buying cars you want to own because you haven't leveled up enough. If you've got the credits, the car is yours. There's still a deep, broad game here that you could play for years, but it's not being strangled by its own design.

    CLOSING COMMENTS
    Like the step up from FIFA 11 to FIFA 12, there's no going back to Forza 3 now. The changes and updates are too welcome and widespread. The improved visuals, the added cars on track, the wealth of new race types, the tweaked AI and closer racing, the ferocious sound and superior sense of speed, the even better livery editor, the lot. With Forza 4 Turn 10 has crafted a driving game like no other; it's hands-down this generation's premier racing simulator.


    RATINGS out of 10
    Presentation
    9.5 An incredibly well put together package; a joy to feast upon.
    Graphics
    9.5 Slicker than a greased weasel. Amazingly detailed cars and beautiful lighting effects.
    Sound
    9.5 Rich and loud; these exhaust notes could tame a T. rex.
    Gameplay
    9.5 A rewarding driving model and the improved AI makes for more intense and satisfying racing.
    Lasting Appeal
    10 There's really no end to the amount of racing you can do here.
    OVERALL 9.5 Amazing
    5.0
  • Moonboy900Moonboy900495,450
    24 Jul 2012
    7 4 3
    First of all this is my first review so no bad comments ok, thanks smile

    Ok lets do this,

    This was the first racing game I got into and it is simply amazing.

    Like its previous version Forza Motorsport 3, it doesn't have much of a story, its pretty much just you going around the world and racing in different locations but still racing fans can't get enough of it.

    Now lets get to the main review shall we...

    The Graphics and Sound:

    The graphics on Forza 4 are absolutely amazing. The scenery is beautiful and the detail and colours on the cars are completely epic. A good thing about Forza 4's graphics is that you can design the paint style, colour pattern and shapes and pictures on the car in its superb 'paint mode'. This gives you an unlimited choises of what you want the car to look like (colour wise).
    The landscapes are extreamly detailed as they resemble real life locations from the Nurburgring in Germany to the mountains of Japan and even the Top Gear test track in England.

    For the graphics I would give it a solid 10/10, simply amazing smile

    The sound on Forza 4 is different than Forza 3 because on Forza 4 you hear more engine noise than background music but you could eaisly ajust the sound in the options menu. Also the engine sounds are very realinstic and makes you feel more into the game itself.

    for the sound, because its ajustable, I will give it a 9/10.

    The Story and Miner Details:

    Forza 4 doesn't have a solid story but it is close. It is mainly you driving around the world and winning loads of races in the biggest variety of cars on any racing game. It also has different mini games in the story as well such as 'autocross', where you have to drive a lap through a track of cones before the time limit runs out, and 'traffic race', where you are racing one other car through trafic trying to get to the end of the trafic before the other car.

    Also on Forza there is a huge and still growing selection of cars to purchase and drive. Just like Call of Duty has map packs, Forza 4 has car packs that get released each month that you can buy with Microsoft Poins or you can buy cars seperatly with points aswell. Most of the cars on Forza 4 can be purchased with credits that you earn from leveling up or winning races. You can also buy cars that other people put up for auction in the 'auction mode' and you can purchase other people paint designs and pictures they made. Speaking of pictures, during a race you could pause the game and take a picture of your car or the rival cars that you race against and save the picture and you could also upload it to the 'storefront' which is where people upload their pictures and other things they made for anyone to see and buy and you could upload your picture to the Forza website aswell for everyone to see. At the end of every race you could also save the race which creates a video showing the race you finished and you could upload that to the storefront and website aswell.

    A new thing for Forza is when you level up your cars or perform in a special way, you can unlock badges and titles to design a new addition to Forza called a player card, which mostly shows off your levels to other players. With a wide collection of badges and titles you will be spending lots of time trying to collect them all and you will also be spending lots of time leveling up aswell, because the level cap is an amazing 999.

    For the story and details of the game I would give it a close 9/10, because, i have to admit, the story could be better.

    Multiplayer modes:

    In the multiplayer mode you could race against your friends in 'Private mode' or you could race against people from anyware in the world with 'Public mode'
    There isn't much I can say about multiplayer mode exept that it is great fun racing against friends.

    Also Forza 4 has added a new addition to the game called 'Rivals mode' where your friends or you race seperatly against each other by trying to be the best racer by finishing the race in the shortest time.

    Also another new thing to forza is called 'Car club' which is like Call of Duty Elite where you can join a club of racers and share stats and also you could show off your cars to your club and share them aswell.

    I would give it an 8/10. but don't let this put you off, it still is very fun.

    Well thats it. I hope you enjoy the game. If you wish to test it out then the demo is still available to download for free.

    Over all I would say the game is completely amazing and I would give it a perfect 10/10. Can't wait for the next one smile.
    5.0
  • ryanlegend95ryanlegend95198,834
    12 Nov 2012 18 Nov 2012
    8 7 6
    Wow this is my first official review on a racing game. Wish me luck.

    I will be using my new scoring system because it was a big success. Mostly because it was funny and all I want to do is make you guys happy. So lets go!

    Wow! Forza ay. That's a big game at the moment and will always be remembered as one of the greatest racing games around. Well that and Mario Kart obviously.

    I played Forza 3 a few years ago and I loved it. The realism, The sexy cars pretty much everything that game had to offer but there was one problem though. I thought that the races were way to long like 8 laps around the Nurburgring come on that was stupid but thankfully Forza 4 no longer has that problem but the question is. Is it worse than Forza 3? Hell no! It's about the same. The racing is just as intense and its less realistic feel is actually a relief because you can now drift more easily. Drift king. That's me.

    External image


    In this review I will be covering most aspects in the game with technical words but don't worry I will be explaining them in a simple matter as well so I'm not going to be a dick to you because I love guys.

    OK enough of the meet and greet. Lets get this review into action.


    Graphics:


    1 = Delorean / 10 = Lamborghini

    I think it is safe to say that this game is beautiful in every way. Possibly one of the most beautiful games this generation. The cars are well detailed and the textures are sublime. Just look inside the cockpit of the car. You can tell that the developers spent a lot of time on this game and put most of their budget on the graphics. Even the backgrounds are well detailed and nobody really cares for them anymore. Customising your cars is great with many colour pallets to choose from and many decals. Well done Turn 10. You did us proud. The menu is slick and easy to use.

    External image


    I'm sexy and I know it!

    The game also runs very well with perfect frame rate and no signs of visual glitches.

    Like I always say that graphics doesn't make a great game but I think it's safe to say that this part of the game easily gets a 10/10. Well from me anyway.

    Sound:


    1 = A rust bucket trying to change gear / 10 = The roar of the Radical

    The sound design is just as good as the graphics. The cars sound very realistic and the tunes are banging. Even the squealing of the tires even to turn me on. OK that might be an over exaggeration and kinda gross but you get the idea. Even the voice acting is well done. Especially from Jeremy Clarkson.

    I give the sound score a 10/10.

    Gameplay:


    1 = A Racing game with bad sense of speed / 10 = Speed demon

    The game is just as good as Forza 3 except Forza 4 tones down the realism a bit so that the game is more pick up and play and doesn't really require much skill. The game does have challenge but the AI is kinda stupid at times. They don't feel as fast as you and they follow a guideline. Kinda spoils it but if you are a newcomer to racing games then this might be your kind of thing. If you don't like the single player because of the AI you can always play online with friends or strangers. The multiplayer is a lot of fun but you do get the odd prats who like to crash into you for their own personal enjoyment. I recommend playing with people who you know so that you can avoid this situation. The Rivals mode is a great new mode that allows you to play against your friend's ghost so that you can beat their time. I'm not saying that the single player is rubbish I'm just saying it's not that challenging to the hardcore racer like me.

    External image


    Motion Blur = Super Sonic Speed!


    Customising is a great way to show your artistic skills to your friends. It will take time to get used to the controls but you will eventually get there and be making Tron looking cars. Not the best movie but their bikes and cars looked awesome. Don't you agree Zach. Oh wait. Wrong review. You can also upgrade your car's performance and set up your own tuning kits. They are really useful features that can change the car's performance quite drastically.

    There are many cars to choose from and they just keep on coming with the DLC's that come quite regularly. They are fun to drive and are well balanced. The Radical being my favourite. There are also a lot of tracks to choose from. Sure that only 5 of the tracks are new but the old tracks are still great to drive on.

    I give the gameplay a 9/10.

    Sense of speed:

    1 = The Tortuous / 10 = The Hare

    This game feels a lot more faster than the third title and has a great sense of speed without it being too arcadey. Who needs Nitro when you got a Bugatti Veyron huh.


    External image


    Eat my dust losers!

    I give the speed score a 10/10.


    Is it your cup of tea?
    If you like Forza 3 then hell yes!
    If you like exotic cars then definitely go for this one.
    If you want to play with your mates then make sure that I'm there to kick your arse (Ass if your American).

    Summary:

    Good:
    +Fantastic graphics and sound.
    +Great Multiplayer.
    +A pick up and play game.

    Bad
    -AI is a little stupid and scripted.
    -The nutters on multiplayer.
    -Gran Turismo can suck it.

    Overall I think this is a great game that offers a ton of stuff to do. Whether you're a newcomer or a pro this game is for everyone to enjoy. I give it an overall score of 10/10.
    5.0
  • ZACHDBESTKEEPERZACHDBESTKEEPER50,661
    16 Jun 2013
    4 6 0
    Also on Forza there is a huge and still growing selection of cars to purchase and drive. Forza 4 has car packs that get released each month that you can buy with Microsoft Poins or you can buy cars seperatly with points also. Most of the cars on Forza 4 can be purchased with credits that you earn from leveling up or winning races. You can also buy cars that other people put up for auction in the 'auction mode' and you can purchase other people paint designs and pictures they made. Speaking of pictures, during a race you could pause the game and take a picture of your car or the rival cars that you race against and save the picture and you could also upload it to the 'storefront' which is where people upload their pictures and other things they made for anyone to see and buy and you could upload your picture to the Forza website too for everyone to see. At the end of every race you could also save the race which creates a video showing the race you finished and you could upload that to the storefront and website as well, gaining 10G for that achievement.

    A few tips:

    Get as many Ferrarri's as possible as they are the ultimate all-rounders. Also, if you collect all of them you will recieve 40G.

    Only purchase the occasional car from the auction house. As you progress through the driver levels, you get a selection of cars when you go up a level, so eventually you will begin to get R1 cars!

    Thanks hope this helped.
    5.0
  • Becker SWEBecker SWE75,350
    11 Oct 2012
    3 7 4
    Putting this up here since I've gotten no response wherever I've put it up on/sent it to...

    Actually not a review but more about things that I miss in Forza franchise.


    Also gave this game the 5* it actually deserves due to everything it contains; On- and Off- line. Storefront. Photo. Video.
    Only thing is that M.Rossi (AI) ruins FM3 with his kamikaze race style which he gets rewarded for when hitting you off track and then continues without any penalty while you try to recover and ends up in last place...


    What I miss in Forza Motorsport (FM) franchises:


    *More city tracks! NUMBER ONE PRIORITY!!!

    *Make an own race with your own rules offline with AI's
    (it's possible online so why not offline?)

    *Why does game repeats same races/championships during season play?

    *Hired driver system as in FM1 or even better...

    *Combination between Gran Turismo(GT) & Forza Motorsport 1;
    When you start your career you make a few races then unlocks possibility
    of Hired driver. Drive thru different conditions & later on around a track
    as in FM1. When using Hired driver he/she/it also learns and gets better and
    better.
    Also like the "team boss system" in GT; you tell him what pace to make/use.
    Overtake or stay (depending on strategies and lengths of races), pit-in,
    go faster(rival is in pits), take it easier(save fuel and/or tires)...

    *All your racing gets stored into an AI your friends can use for online racing
    instead of ordinary AI's.

    *Possibility for multiplayer endurance races like in real life Le Mans;
    2 or 3 drivers share same car and drives races.
    Also please add Hired driver "team boss system" to make it a bit easier
    for the one racing at the moment to know if he should overtake or stay
    on same reason as told previously for Hired driver.

    *No go-carts, destruction derbies, rallying, formula cars and not even
    one track from the Australian V8 Supercar series despite the cars are in
    the game... ???

    *Tournament races (disappeared after FM2).
    Some where you choose car for each races as in FM2.
    Others more like a real life championship, where you qualify and make
    all races in same car, but of course will be able to change setups and
    upgrades for car;
    same setup for Ladera Mini, Sunset Speedway, Rally di Positano and
    Nordschleife won't be any good anywhere...

    *Public Online lobbies relies on some kind of point system so you end
    up in lobbies with people that are equal to your level.
    Always boring when you're about Beginner (5) and meets Legend (44)...
    Or keep getting shoved into same lobby you just left for some reason for
    the fifth time...

    *Flag system and/or a rule system availability if you want to make it
    possible for a public race to avoid beeing a bumper car race where the
    one behind you uses your car as a brake while they're then cruising first
    away while you try to recover for someone elses deed.

    *Offline drift events. Well everything available online should also be
    possible against AI offline.

    *Different types of weather, weather changes during races and also
    different time of day.

    *Choose where to have driver/drivers position. Most say reply with:
    some cars are only made so driver is driving on right side.
    My response...

    *Manual or Automatic? A choice when buying car but can be changed
    thru upgrades, for a fee of course.
    ESP, TCS, ABS, Cars with limiters
    (specially German cars limited to 250kph/155mph). Same here.

    *Working head and tail lights.
    For online: Rewind button activates your Hazard Warning Lights.

    *More realistic feel to the racing itself. I usually say this:
    If you're only in it for the racing: get GT.
    But when you're tired of the racing you have weeks and weeks of things
    to do on FM...
    5.0
  • PeteMintPeteMint79,236
    05 Jan 2012
    1 5 0
    This game blows every other racing sim out of the water! Turn 10 have worked miracles! The gfx, the sounds, the feel of it, everything is pretty much perfect. A small mod on a car can make the world of difference, and once you get the hang of tuning cars, it just gets better and better. I have over 100 cars, and I drive a lot of them regularly. The gfx are just mindblowing! tracks are awesome, and online mode is hard to stop playing, and has caused me many late nights. By far the best, most playable, and most enjoyable game I have ever played! The Top Gear bits make it even more fun!
    5.0
  • ChickenMcHagardChickenMcHagard16,802
    26 Mar 2012 28 Mar 2012
    1 7 4
    Best Racing Franchise to date. Best online Gameplay. Best Physics. Overall Greatest community for online racing. I could Race on Forza all day. Been Playing Forza since Forza2 and each addition to the franchise continues to get better. with 16 player lobbies, every race is gauranteed to be exiting. The Graphics continue to resemble realistic racing enviroments and the amount of cars to choose from is staggering. They offer many game types including Curcuit, Drift, Drag, and even silly games like Cat and Mouse. There's not much more to ask for in a good racing game. Just can't wait to see what they do with the new Forza Horizon that's on it's way.
    5.0
  • CivicHeartCivicHeartThis gamer has had their achievements removed from the site
    11 Oct 2011
    2 10 0
    This is more of a first impressions, I am lucky to have gotten this game a bit early from a friend who is in the business. I have been playing for about 4-5 hours. The graphics are amazing as usual, tons of cars, but I seem to recognize a lot of the tracks from forza 1, 2 and 3... You get to race all around the world in many different tracks and cars. There seems to be a lot of seasons which is good for gameplay, hopefully not to repetitive. All in all so far so good! i would recommend it to anyone who enjoys racing simulators.