Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition Reviews

  • DarkRicochet117DarkRicochet117207,731
    10 May 2012 12 May 2012
    70 18 16
    Minecraft is a retro designed sandbox game that looks a lot like a classic 90’s FPS similar to Doom or Marathon(minus the guns) but has a plethora of practical elements. Amazingly, everything in the game can be interacted with and must be dug up, chopped, or mined if you wanna get anywhere. The unlimited freedom is extremely addictive, and while it's not pretty to look at, Minecraft actually has immense depth to it…


    External image



    At first I didn’t know what to expect from this game. I had never heard of it before and after playing the tutorial level I wasn’t sure what to make of it. It wasn’t until I had made myself a wooden shovel and started to dig at the ground under my feet that I realized it's potential. I had dug a hole so deep that I couldn’t see the sun anymore and when my shovel broke from wear and tear; I realized I would have to dig my way back up with nothing but my hands, and I was hooked.

    I quickly realized that, while there is no story or any real direction to help you move forward, the depth of this game is only limited by what you choose to do in it. You start out with nothing except the ability to mine everything around you, and trust me, you will be mining EVERYTHING. If you want to get anywhere then you’ll be mining resources to construct tools that will help you mine resources faster and construct better tools and it’ll pretty much play out like this for the first several hours. Sure, this might sound boring but once the sun goes down you’ll be forced to stop mining and start surviving. Nightfall brings out an onslaught of killer creatures that range anywhere from bumbling zombies to exploding green things dubbed “creepers”.

    Some of the best game-play comes from the creativity of the player. You can literally change the layout of the game world in any way you see fit. The game makes you feel successful when you build your first shelter and survive your first night, but when you build a giant mansion with 16 rooms you’ll feel like a god! The possibilities are endless and I can imagine wasting countless hours of digging never-ending holes and building giant skyscrapers for many months to come.

    Now, I’ve never played Minecraft on the PC before but as far as I can tell the controls work great. Other PC games that move to consoles have had huge problems with their control schemes, The Sims for example, but everything on the Xbox 360 is simple and any complicated action can be done with just a few button presses.

    Minecraft doesn’t rely on pretty graphics or an engaging storyline, but it’s immense freedom to do whatever your mind desires is what will keep you playing until you realized you have forgotten to eat, sleep, and go to the bathroom. However, I have to warn you that Minecraft is definitely a LOVE IT or HATE IT game. It’s definitely not for everyone, and at 1600 MSP($20) it can be a difficult buy(I had a hard time deciding if it was worth it).

    Thankfully the fun won’t end anytime soon since Minecraft will likely require frequent updates to bring it up to par with it’s PC counterpart. Not to mention the countless possibilities for DLC.

    As I said before, this is a LOVE IT or HATE IT game so download the demo before you buy it. Also, if you are one of the many who are looking forward to playing this game with a friend in split-screen then you better have an HDTV too because it won't work otherwise.

    4 STARS OUT OF 5
    3.0
  • Leo AscendentLeo Ascendent471,838
    26 May 2012 25 Dec 2012
    27 5 3
    Alright, before I go into the game, I would like to say I've never played the PC version, nor do I plan to do so. I've been playing the X360 version quite often since its release. But since I have far less knowledge than those who play it on the PC, I apologize in advance for mislabeling or simply being wrong.

    EDIT: I've updated parts to reflect the new Creative and Survival modes, but left the original intact.

    External image


    Story

    There isn't one, you're 'The Player', simple as that, you explore the world of Minecraft, build and destroy, destroy and build. That's honestly all there is to Minecraft, it may seem limited, but that's only true if you have a very small imagination (so yes, I'm saying if you get bored of this easily, you're about as fun as a wet mouse).

    Minecraft is all about designing and building whatever you can think of, don't believe me?

    External image

    External image


    While I'm sure there are some Mod Tools that make these tasks easier, it still proves the point. Updated versions now have 'Creative Mode', which allows you to spawn blocks and other goodies whenever you want, making daunting tasks much easier to tackle.

    If you dislike grinding ANYTHING, this will not be for you. I've spent 3/4th of my time mining blocks, trying to find those elusive diamonds and trying to build stupidly long rails, and I'm far from finished. Luckily, once you find some better materials, grinding is much easier.

    There's a tad bit of survival in here too. At night, monsters come out to wreck havoc (unless you're playing on 'Peaceful'). They can be warded off with light, and shelter (i.e. a house). The monsters will pursue you until you enter a 'Safe Area' (again, house), you die, kill them or run far enough away.

    The notorious Creeper is my favorite, I don't know what the fuck it is, but it will wreak you if given the chance. If the Creeper gets to close, it will explode, damaging (or most of the time, destroying) everything in a large radius.

    External image

    My 1st conception on what the Creeper might look like in a rounded world, not very scary. The 2nd is better, but I have no picture.


    Graphics

    Well, this game is basically Lego's, therefore the graphics aren't impressive, but they aren't trying to be. Everything looks great (considering the pixels are the size of those on the original Game Boy), if you are very picky about graphics, and playing anything before 2005 makes your eyes bleed, then you won't like this game.


    Controls

    The controls are very simple and straight forward, one button allows you to jump, the other cycles through your inventory, attack enemies, place item, etc. There really isn't much to say about them, the controls are like the graphics, old as hell.


    Voice/Sound/Music

    There is little in the area of voice, maybe grunts, but that's it. Sounds sound, well, old school, but that's good, considering the game. The music is annoying sometimes, as it constantly plays, but luckily, it can be turned down/off if the player desires.


    Other

    I read this would feature online play, but my experience makes me believe you can only play with friends, as I have not seen a single game in the 'Online' section (except for one, and if the 'Friends Only' thing is true, this guy must've been hacking or something....)

    The game offers splitscreen (if you have an HDTV) which I haven't been able to utilize yet, but the thought of playing this with my friends is pretty entertaining.... oh the things we could build.

    As many know, the game is VERY limited compared to the PC version, the designers have said they'll EVENTUALLY release an update that'll bring it up to version.

    “We’re aiming to update to the major PC releases – first one will be the equivalent of the PC Beta 1.7.3 version”,

    As stated earlier, the current version has a few goodies such as 'Creative Mode' and 'Survival Mode', as well as new items and enemies. The game is much more addicting now, however ACHIEVEMENTS CANNOT BE EARNED IN CREATIVE MODE.

    Overall

    Minecraft is a fun way to blow $20 (£13 for those on the other side of the pond), with hours of fun and with major updates coming, at some point, it's well worth the price.

    4.5/5 (rounded down because I can)

    Pros

    - Plain simple fun
    - Exercises your creative muscles
    - Hours of entertainment

    Cons

    - Rather simple
    - Splitscreen requires an HDTV
    - Will get repetitive
    4.0
  • 13 1 0
    Minecraft is dangerous. You can sit down to a new randomly generated world for a quick session only to snap out of the creative haze many hours later to realize you've forgotten to eat, sleep, and go to the bathroom. There's always just one more tunnel to carve, one more resource to harvest, one more tool to forge, or one more to-scale replica of the Star Trek Enterprise to re-create block by block. The ability to exercise limitless freedom and mold the game's retro fantasy world to your liking is powerfully addictive, and this indie-developed sandbox phenomenon holds a staggering level of depth. Some of the game's elements still feel rough and unfinished, but nevertheless, once Minecraft sinks its hooks into you, it won't let go.

    External image


    Though it initially lacks any tangible plot or specific direction to follow, the real beauty of Minecraft lies in the fact that neither is needed. You get out of the game what you choose to put into it, which allows you to pursue the aspects that most appeal to you. Survival mode is where the experience comes closest to resembling a game in a traditional sense. Dropped into a lovely but primitive-looking 3D world, you're free to explore, build, and adventure as you see fit. Unique biomes like thick forests, swamps, mountain ranges, deserts, and icy tundras hold many resources to harvest, and the jagged landscape itself is your key to survival in these first tenuous steps of the adventure. You start out empty-handed and danger-prone, but carving out the land yields tons of resources needed to generate food, craft weapons and armor, and form crucial tools. Building a shelter with stone, wood, and other blocks is also important; nightfall ushers in the arrival of meandering killer creatures that range from the exploding creepers and mumbling zombies to the enigmatic endermen and arrow-flinging skeletons. There's a cool natural flow to the day/night cycle that encourages you to shift gears between fiddling around on the surface and hunkering down or heading below ground.

    There is even a mysterious mob...that isn't real (maybe). And that is Herobrine.

    External image


    The complex crafting system at the heart of Minecraft's open-ended gameplay is a huge part of what makes the game so enjoyable, and it adds to the thrill of exploration. Laying down raw materials and other resources you've collected in the crafting table lets you produce everything from practical adventuring tools and structural building elements to clever decorations for your mega fortresses. Some basic items, like torches and pickaxes, are needed for navigating below ground and mining key resources. More elaborate items, like enchanting tables that let you imbue weapons with buffs and powered mine carts that can be used to ferry materials across great expanses of track, require rarer materials to craft. Scouring both the surface and subterranean realms for the elements needed to craft these "recipes" is hard work, but it's rewarding.

    Toiling away for hours to finally uncover that elusive component you've been searching for can unlock a whole new range of crafting possibilities. Thankfully, Minecraft players have posted a tremendous amount of detailed information online to help the uninitiated learn the ropes, but it's a major shortcoming of the game that you have to venture outside of it to learn new things. There's a hefty learning curve to get past when you start out, though it's not a total fun dampener. It's less of an inconvenience once you get a feel for it, and the sheer volume and variety in the things you can craft more than make up for it.

    External image


    Regardless of which mode you play, one of Minecraft's biggest draws is the way it encourages rampant creativity. The gameworld is constructed very much like a giant Lego set, and you can destroy, tinker, or add to the environment in any way you see fit. At first, placing simple soil and stone blocks to erect a crude shelter to keep out the nocturnal hordes feels satisfying, but as you uncover the means to craft torches, doors, stairways, panes of glass, bookshelves, and tons of other abode-centric items, the door to endless building possibilities suddenly flings open. It's possible to sink full days into building elaborate flying megafortresses, underwater castles, skyscraper-like towers of doom, and complex labyrinths--and that's just the beginning. Using red stone, pistons, trap doors, and other unique items culled from recipes, you can construct everything from elaborate Rube Goldberg machines to massive lava-spewing pixel art statues of your favorite game characters. Bending the gameworld to your creative will can be a glorious time-sink on its own, and the level of flexibility is mind-boggling.

    With unlimited blocks, instant access to every item, one-hit destruction, and the ability to fly at will, playing God in Creative mode offers a more relaxed way to build and play. Playing multiplayer Survival mode with friends is one of the most rewarding ways to enjoy Minecraft.

    Survival mode blends building and adventuring, and it's where the most fun is at--whether you play solo or with friends. The most intrepid explorers and ardent treasure hunters will want to journey far beyond the comforts of their spawn points because Minecraft's realm is home to some unusual hot spots worth touring. Poking around cave crevices can uncover elaborate underground strongholds that stretch deep underground. These long-abandoned vestiges of human civilization hold hidden treasures and ample resources to balance out the hazards posed by their deadly denizens. Then, there's The Nether--a hell-like alternate dimension riddled with danger that is accessed by crafting a portal out of rare materials. Aside from being fun and risky to tool around in, both of these locations are integral to accessing the ultratough end boss encounter that's tacked on for completionists.

    External image


    Does the game really benefit from an ending? Not so much, but it offers up a goal for those that feel they need one. However, the fact that there even is an ending to strive for isn't clear from the get-go because the introduction to the gameworld is such an abrupt one that's devoid of story or direction. Other recent additions to the game are human villages populated by mindless non-player characters that currently serve as trading posts and a bare-bones experience system that weakly ties into weapon enchantments--feel like interesting ideas that lack follow-through in their implementation.

    Visual glitches pop in at regular intervals, and some game elements seem incomplete or thrown together in haste. What's amazing is that the core game is so ridiculously absorbing that these flaws matter little in the grand scheme of things. Even in its current form, Minecraft remains one of the most conceptually impressive indie games out there. It's a game changer to be sure and one that will live on in the annals of gaming history for a long time to come.

    External image


    Hardest Achievement:
    External image
    When Pigs Fly-40GS
    Use a saddle to ride a pig, then have the pig get hurt from fall damage while riding it.
  • Papa El LoroPapa El Loro435,473
    29 Jun 2012 13 Jul 2012
    16 5 2
    This game is as big as your imagination.

    UPDATE: As if there wasn't enough to do in this game already there is now an update out which has added several things to the game, the main thing being pistons, a mechanism used to push a block one space in a different direction which can be used to create hidden rooms and other interesting creations.

    I was new to the game as I was unaware of it untill it came to 360 so I can't compare this with the pc version. The game is amazing. You can build nealry anything you set your mind too, all you need is a high patience level and a good imagination.

    You can mine various materials (if you can find them) by using various pieces of equipment which you make from the resources you mine the equipment do have a certain durability and will break sooner or later due to general use. Once you have the materials you can use them to build anything you set your mine too. As well as building materials you can kill various animals for food, wool and leather.

    As well as building you have various circuits you can make from a material called red stone. You can use it to power switches for doors and mine cart tracks etc.

    There are various difficulty settings which range from no enemies at all to lots of powerfull enemies more then willing to make your life a misery.

    The landscape can be completley random or you can enter a 'seed' which will generate a land suited more to your needs. The lands range from mountains to forests to snow covered plains to beaches. Under the surface of the land there is just as much to explore as above as there are lots of ranom caverns to explore which can contain anything from coal to diamonds and even lava.

    If the vast land you start with isn't enough you have the ability to build a portal which takes you to the nether. A plain home to a new kind of enemy and another character which will leave you alone as long as you leave it alone. and lots of lava and other materials not available in your main world.

    As well as all of this you have the ability to play with other players on xbox live which can improve your experience (or annoy you depending on who you get laugh)

    It is all topped off with a very plesant sound track which makes the game even nicer.

    Overall it is an incredible game and I reccomend anyone to try it but be warned, it can be very addictive.

    5 out of 5.
    5.0
  • AlaffyAlaffy297,135
    13 Dec 2013
    8 5 0
    This post may seem a little odd. To be perfectly honest, I really don’t think that Minecraft is a game that can have a normal review. That is to say, a review is based on comparisons. How does this RPG stack up to others of its genre, that sort of thing. With Minecraft there are games that could be considered similar, but not enough to do a proper comparison. This is written more for those who might be considering buying Minecraft and are reading this page to help them come to a decision.

    When I first saw Minecraft, I couldn’t understand the appeal. There was no set plan in the game, there wasn’t any real goal to achieve. Why would anyone buy a game that looked like it came from the 1990’s, just to dig up dirt? Then, I started seeing pictures of the worlds people created. After that, came the videos of quests or games people would invent and have their friends play. That’s when it became clear to me. Minecraft is not necessarily a game in and of itself. It’s a tool for you to create whatever type of game you want. You want a game where you forge your own tools and fight monsters? You can do that. You want to create a giant rollercoaster for your friends to ride on? You can do that. You want to make a rocket and go to the moon? Well, you can only do that on the PC version. Hopefully, there will be an update that will allow players that same experience for the Xbox.

    So, am I suggesting people immediately go and download this game? No, I’m not. I, personally, can play Minecraft for hours on end. I love to see what I can create. I enjoy exploring the caves and just can’t wait to see what’s around a corner. But I was the same way as a child. I spent hours creating things with blocks and coming up with elaborate stories for my toys. It’s the reason why I ended up with a degree in creative writing. So, in my mind, this game is a five star.

    However, I can understand why some people just don’t like this game. Not everybody’s interested in building blocks or creating stories. This isn’t a game for them and they shouldn’t waste their time or money to play it. For some people in this category, this game would be a one star.

    Now what if you’re a person who’s curious about Minecraft and falls between these two groups? My suggestion is that you go to the internet and see what others have created. While you’re looking at these creations, are you coming up with ideas of your own? If so, try the game out. I believe there is a demo, so you don’t have to worry about spending money on a game you end up hating. Who knows, you may have just found the game you will spend the next few years playing.

    In the other reviews I have written, of which there are few, I have put my rating at the end. In this case, I will put my personal belief that this is a five star game. Anyone reading this should ignore that rating. Like Mincraft itself, the rating should be whatever you want it to be.
    5.0
  • TKsMantisTKsMantis189,091
    01 Aug 2015
    6 8 10
    I look at Minecraft, and think that it is one of those must haves. A truly engaging experience for new and old gamers alike. It is very easy to get yourself lost and enthralled in the creative mode and really have fun building anything your heart desires. Giant statues, deep caverns or even high rise buildings, your imagination is your only limit.

    On the otherside of the gameplay coin we have Minecraft's survival mode. A engaging experience where you scramble to build your first shelter, and survive the nights to come, gathering minerals and resources a long the way to make better clothes, stronger shelters and more intense weaponry.

    I do not only think Minecraft is must have, it is a must play. I think the base game should come installed free on ALL Microsoft devices now that they have acquired the license. Everybody should own this game, and everybody should at least play it once. It only gets more fun with friends and I can't imagine the gaming world without it at this point.
    5.0
  • Ramon EstevezRamon Estevez69,494
    29 Aug 2012
    5 9 1
    I started playing Minecraft on PC near 1.2.4 and I fell in love with it almost instantaneously. Then when I found out that Minecraft was coming to the Xbox, I was overjoyed and couldn't wait. I woke up at six in the morning just to get the game, and when I got it, I thought it was amazing. However, after extensive gameplay, eventually 100 percenting the achievements, I noticed some bad.
    Don't get me wrong the achievements aren't bad it's just the gameplay that upsets me a little. First off, whenever I lag it gets as annoying as Call of Duty lag. Do not get this game if you have a history frequent or severe lagging. Secondly, the griefing. Instead of adding to servers to turn combat between players off or to add protections, anyone can join and grief the Mansion that took your 12 hours to make. Third of all, if you are a PC player such as myself, you will be disappointed. Personally, I feel 4J Studios did a great job recreating certain aspects of Minecraft, but others I feel were half-assed.
    I'm not going to cover every aspect of the game that needs work, but I am going to finish off like this. It may have some bugs and issues with lag, but like any Bethesda game, you have to look past that and enjoy the good. I love Minecraft and I still play it regularly with my friends. Also, if you are new to Minecraft, or a veteran, get this game because it's worth the 1600 Microsoft Points it costs. But be warned, until these supposed "updates" are released, it will never be like the PC version. EVER!
    4.0
  • BracewellBeastBracewellBeast70,953
    29 May 2012
    5 9 6
    Build almost anything! Minecraft for xbox is really cool. Get a group of friends(toast) together and make your world grow faster. Protect yourself and your buddies at night and watch out for those creepers!
    In Peaceful mode no creepers or any other enemies can hurt you. You also regain your health.
    So just get some friends create a world and start exploring and you might just come across some gold! Build a crafting table and furnace first.
    Minecraft is really fun. Build your house in a brand new world. Although it does have some glitches and lagging I still find this to be a great game!
    I give this game 4 stars for alone playing and 5 for multiplaying.
    4.0