Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) Reviews

  • AccidentProne78AccidentProne78122,945
    10 Jul 2014 10 Jul 2014
    28 0 13
    Achievers Review of: Murdered Soul Suspect

    This review will touch on the main aspects of game design, as well as the game's fun factor, and its achievements. At the end will be a small set of positive and negative points for the game, as well as it's score. Enjoy, and any feedback is more than welcomed

    External image


    Gameplay (Story, mechanics, and difficulty)

    Right off the bat, I have to admit, this was in the top 5 of my most anticipated games for 2014. Even with all the mediocre reviews, I was still overly pumped for my playthrough. Now that the hype train has gone and past, I can say that over all I was satisfied with what I got.

    Although the “solve your own murder” plot line isnt new to pop culture, it is fairly unique to the gaming medium (I can easily be wrong, if so please correct me). Within the first minute, you. Ronan O’Conner, are murdered via a two story fall, and five or six gun shots to the chest. Not long after Ronan is told that he cannot move to the afterlife until he has settled something back in the land of the living (by the way, youre a ghost). Quite obviously, the thing keeping you there is your murder, which sets you out on a murder mystery to find your killer. On top of your own, you also have the deaths of those after and prior to your own, all with the supposive same killer, going by the name, “The Bell Killer”. Eventually you meet up with a teenage medium that can talk to you and see you, and there is some side story about her mother, but thats not too important.

    Overall, I personally adore the story here. There is a certain tone that the game achieves that just drew me in right from the beginning. The sense of dread, uncertainty, and a touch of noire, and I found that the story hit all the right notes for me. I love trying to be smarter than the game, and guessing the outcome hours before hand, and this game kept me guessing as I found more clues, and met more people who could be possible suspects. Although I will not spoil anything, I also love the direction the game went in the end, which I thought was pretty clever to separate itself from alike stories. Not to mention that I have a certain fascination with the city of Salem; basically the game somewhat was made for me.

    External image


    As I said before, this is a murder case, which means detective work, and the best thing I can compare this to is a mix of The Testament of Sherlock Holmes, with N.A Noire. Although Murdered doesn't have as strong of gameplay as either of those two games, I thoroughly enjoyed the detective aspect here. There is a fair combination of different types of detective work going on. At points you have to find all the evidence to move on the plot. At other points, you have to piece together a person’s attitude and intent, just based on where they were standing at the crime scene. Personally I prefer the latter, I love linking things together just by what we are given, or have found, it actually feels like you are piecing things together bit by bit.

    Unfortunately, there is a second part to the gameplay, and that is a stealth action style sections sprinkled out through the campaign. At certain point, Demons will pop up and start patrolling the area to find you. These parts feel unfinished and buggy when you actually go through it. You are given these, ghost portal things, that allow you to hide in plain sight from the demons while you wait to turn their back to go in for the kills. The reason why these are terrible segments is because the take down mechanic is near broken. I had about a 50/50 split when the animation actually wanted to play, and sometimes when it did, it would stop mid way through causing me to run away from the demons and wait until they went back on patrol. I died multiple times because the game just wouldn't allow me to do the takedown. These segments break the flow of the game and just feel like filler to make the game longer.

    Aside from the main story, you are free to walk around Salem and explore. At a few places there are other spirits waiting for help, who are also stuck there because on an unsettled problems of their own. These are Murdered’s side quests, and sadly, there are not many of them. In total, I believe there were about, maybe 7, each of which can take you 5 minutes to complete. Each side quest has you doing a crime scene style investigation to figure out how that person died, or to determine if they have been/done wronged. Each side story is pretty different from one another, and I wish the game had more because there are some fairly interesting stories there. At that, there are also collectables strewn throughout the area that once you collect them all, unlocks a story of another death or horror story.

    In the end, the game is not that difficult aside from the slight vagueness from time to time. The most frustrating parts are the stealth segments that happen much too often. The investigation parts can be a little too hand holding at times, directing you where to go, and at other times, actually require you to think, but never anything to fry your brain.

    External image


    Technical Aspect (Design, Graphics, and Bugs)

    With us being on the divide of next gen, and last gen, which is odd to call the PS3 and X360 last gen, then games should start to be looking better than they ever have. With the last gen versions of next gen games seemingly having lower quality, games still tend to look good on the X360 on its own. Murdered is no exclusion. Although the game will not take any awards for Best Graphics, they are still pretty good all things considered. Lighting is nice, and the character models have good enough personality and detail to create a realistic portrayal of actual people. Even the open town of Salem looks pretty damn good, although I feel as if the low lighting in areas some muddy textures at times. There are a few areas in the town that feel too empty, but aside from that the city is properly populated and decorated to make it feel like an actual city. On the other hand, smaller areas how some noticeably low quality textures and odd area set up.

    Being a ghost, you have the ability to walk through most walls. The game gives reason to why you cannot go into or exit buildings without there being an open door or window, but besides that, within those areas you are often times free to go where you please. However, in both the open world and levels alike, there are these ghostly walls that you cannot walk through, which is not a bad thing because it gives a good reason to not fully design a full area, but often times the game overdoes the blocking of your movement. The first level is set inside an apartment complex and if I’m right, there are no ghost walls to block you from going where you please, but by the last level, it might as well be a linear corridor. One of the last levels is set inside a museum, and in the level, you can barely explore because of all the restrictions. Now, this may be me, but I feel as if a museum would be a perfect place to explore as a ghost looking for clues and whatnot.

    Murdered delivers full heartedly on the voice acting front. Ronan himself sounds like the smarmy, confident, cop that he is, while others like the one asshole cop, just has that voice that you immediately hate. Everyone in the game has some believeable lines which are delivered excellently.

    The worst, and I mean single worst thing about this game, is its technical prowess. There are two single aspects that can ruin your experience while playing through. The first, being the camera. Because you can run through walls, of course the camera will occasionally get behind walls, or in a poor spot, but this happens far too often and seemingly when you are running away from a demon. The second aspect, is the frame rate. Oh sweet lord, the frame rate here is terrible, at times going down below 10 (which is not good at all). The slow down mostly occurs when you are roaming around Salem, but still, when you are in the city a good half of the play through, it becomes pretty noticeable quickly. There were times the game grinded to a halt and I had to wait until I was able to move again. On the slightly less aggravating side of things, the load times after you die can be pretty long at times, but only after you die.

    External image


    Achievements

    In my one playthrough, I was able to get all but 4 achievements, and that was because I missed a few collectables. You can easily get every achievement in one run through, which will clock you in, at about 7 hours, maybe 9, if you hunt down every collectable. So if you are a fan of achievements like mine, then you will love the simple run of this game.

    Fun Factor

    Even though I had some complaints, I still found this game incredibly enjoyable. The story alone kept me running from level to level, and the side stories in between gave me something to work at when I wanted a break. The investigation aspects of the game might not be as fully fledged out as something like L.A Noire, however, they are still enjoyable nonetheless. The only thing hindering my enjoyment were those god awful stealth segments, where I seemed to die more than I should, and the broken mechanics only lead to frustration.

    Conclusion

    In the end, my anticipation of Murdered was not wrongly put forward. I still had a great time with the game even though it is clearly not the most lucrative thing in the gaming industry. The story was enough to see anyone through to the end, even though I realize I have a soft spot for many aspects the game has. In the end, I would say this might be one of the greatest hidden gems of 2014.

    8.0/10

    +Amazing Story
    +Fun Detective Work
    +Great Voice Acting


    -Horrid Stealth Segments
    -Bad Frame Rate
    -Odd Camera
    4.0
    Showing most recent comments. View all comments.
    Great review, thumbs up. Was in doubt if I should get this; I guess I will smile
    Posted on 11 Aug 14 at 09:12
    blueriversbeastThe only thing I didn't like was the demon stealth parts, really felt unnecessary and took me out of the game. Very underrated game, mixing Alan Wake style and L.A. Noire (two of my faves). Great review!
    Posted by blueriversbeast On 26 Sep 14 at 20:51
    AmazingSpider97So many underated games out there cuz all the fanboys want is cod, AC, battlefield and fifa screw them just play some other awesome games! The evil within is a newer game that also is awesome and so underated
    Posted by AmazingSpider97 On 14 Nov 14 at 13:19
  • Gir DraxaGir Draxa1,297,087
    10 Jun 2014 10 Jun 2014
    17 12 3
    Preface:

    Murdered: Soul Suspect is one of those niche market games that Square-Enix is known for. Much like Tobal No.1, it just has it's place in several players hearts.

    There is plenty to do in this one, and while it tries to give a bit of a sandbox feel, it's quite linear in the long run. Many players will be surprised at the depth of detail they try to go into with their representation of the 'spirit world' and probably get caught up in the mysticism they create, but others will be disappointed with it's lack of frenetic action & quickly jump on the hate-wagon.

    If you're looking for Ghost Halo, or Super Smash Ghost Brothers, you'll be disappointed. It's not about causing the carnage, it's about solving the mysteries behind the carnage that has already happened, and trying to prevent more people from ending up a ghost... like you.

    Summary:
    You play as Ronan, a hardened cop and former street criminal. While trying to catch the mysterious "Bell-Killer" that has been terrorizing the city, you've managed to track him down to a 4th floor room in an old apartment house and tried to arrest him.

    However, things do not go as planned as he displays seemingly super-human strength and attacks you, eventually throwing you out the window to the street far below.

    You awaken after a few seconds and, looking back at the window you were thrown from, wonder how you could have survived. Trying once again to return to the building, you eventually notice that something is very different, and as you look back to where you fell, you see... your body.

    Touching it, you notice that putting your spirit back in seems to make it wake back up, and you try to get back in your body, however, the killer shows up, and grabs your gun and pumps shot after shot into your body, making sure you're dead and guaranteeing your one-way trip to the spirit world.

    Your quest becomes getting to 'cross over' to heaven, to do so, you must complete your last case, to somehow find and stop The Bell Killer.

    Graphics:
    Running on a similar style of presentation as Hitman: Absolution, the graphics are very good, not great, but still quite impressive. A bit of jitter, especially when running due to many factors, especially when playing from the disc, because of the multiple loads of people, objects and revealed/removed items. Installing to the HD cured most of it for me. Still occasionally noticeable in the central "Town" area.

    Sound:
    Impressive score, understated but this adds to the eerie feel without being obtrusive or overbearing. Sound effects were very appropriate, and voice acting was great. The biggest complaint is the lack of dialogue differences between the various community members. Seems like the couldn't afford more voice actors or someone to write just generic dialogue. Finding a hidden message or two amongst the various people for an achievement would have been a nice addition. But then, I'm just blue-skying.

    Game-play:
    This is primarily where the game falters. There just isn't enough to do, or enough interaction to make the game feel deeper. A few times, the detection of items to reveal failed to register more than 2 or 3 pixels in area, so you could walk right by an object to catalog, and it'd not register even if you're looking right at it (The museum Dunking stool comes to mind).

    The slightly sandbox-y feel gives it a bit of the perception of free movement, but it's actually very linear in story, and even if you go item hunting, you'll realize that this game is way shorter than it should have been.

    In Summary:
    A game with great potential, fleshed out, but still raw and in need of refinement. Worth playing? Indeed, but it's not for everyone. But for those with a desire to explore, but not necessarily destroy... this is for you.
    3.5
  • Danny Dubs 86Danny Dubs 862,043,165
    12 Feb 2015
    4 1 0
    Originally posted on my blog at http://takeaimandgame.blogspot.com/

    I love adventure games, but almost every game based on exploring and solving riddles falls victim to a common flaw - when every interaction in the world is carefully programmed, you have to be able to anticipate the designer's intended solution path to solve a puzzle. At the same time, the designer tries to obscure that path to make more challenging and satisfying puzzles. It's a delicate balance, and only the best of the best are able to strike it consistently.

    Murdered: Soul Suspsect's premise puts it on track to be a member of the highest echelon of adventure games. It opens with a serial killer murdering Ronan, a detective in Salem, Massachusetts. His spirit leaves his body, stuck in limbo until he can resolve his unfinished business (solving his own murder), which is when you take control.

    What follows is a fascinating story in a brilliantly-crafted universe. Ronan's disembodiment comes with some interesting advantages, like the ability to walk through most physical objects and possess the living and read their thoughts.

    Ronan also encounters a variety of other tormented souls and reflections of particularly strong historical events, which fleshes out a detailed world. Many characters you meet have little if any impact on the main story, but they still seem to have unique personalities and desires. There are also a lot collectibles that reveal detailed backstories. It makes for a fabulously engrossing experience.

    That said, there are disappointingly few side quests to complete. You can help a few of the ghosts that you meet, which provide some cool diversions from the main quest, but the small handful of side quests are all available right at the start. It's a lot of failed potential in my mind.

    Fortunately, the story itself is one of the more intriguing I've seen in quite a while. The supernatural elements are effectively integrated into a believable modern-day world without becoming the dominant theme - the focus of the game is always the serial killer case.

    The visuals, writing, and voice acting are all solid. There are minor flaws here and there, like an occasional awkward line or odd animation, but the details usually enhance the overall experience of the story.

    In summary, it's an awesome, nearly cinematic experience, even if it is a little on the short side (it took me about 10 hours), though that's partly due to lack of side quests. With such a strong base, the usual problems with adventure games become exceptionally depressing.

    The gameplay is basically split into two broad genres, adventure and stealth.

    The adventure portions consist of collecting clues, interviewing (or, more often, mind-reading) witnesses, and figuring out how everything connects together. The game's major areas are self-contained, so you never have to wander too far to find important details. Most of the challenge of these segments is therefore found in finding collectible items (the clues) and getting around obstacles that block Ronan's path.

    When you think you've collected enough clues to solve the next piece of the puzzle, you can bring up a screen that shows all the potentially relevant bits of information. This is where several of the puzzles become frustratingly opaque - I often felt that it was pretty clear what was going on in any particular scene, whether the focus was determining what happened at a crime scene or deciding what will motivate a particular character to act the way you want. It wasn't always clear which of the puzzle pieces the game wanted me to choose, though.

    Granted, the cost of failure is exceptionally low, as it just reduces your rating for that scene (and rating doesn't seem to be tied to anything else in-game), but it's annoying to feel like you screwed up because the intended solution was excessively vague.

    The adventure bits aren't very difficult, but that's ok because the exploration and investigation itself is reasonably fun.

    The stealth sections are just bad. You'll occasionally come across demons roaming certain rooms, and if they catch you, they'll devour Ronan's spirit (but the cost of failure is again minimal - checkpoints are very forgiving). Your best bet is to dispatch them from behind, but if they see you, they'll hound you until you can hide for a while.

    That's all fine; the implementation is the let down. It's mostly that the hiding mechanics are awkward. If you're spotted, you have to dive into various spectral hiding places scattered throughout the area. The demons will attack hiding spots after they lose sight of you, so you have to bounce from spot to spot to avoid detection. Jumping is disorienting and somewhat imprecise - it can often difficult to get the command to slide into a new hiding spot to pop up.

    That's actually a general problem with the game: you have to be standing in the right place with the right orientation to be able to collect many of the important objects. Most of the time, that's a minor annoyance, but during the stealth sections when quick reflexes matter, it can get really frustrating.

    Fortunately, there aren't many stealth segments, and when they do happen, they aren't very long. It could have been a cool way to add some tension, but it falls well short.

    The achievement list is really simple. With a good guide for all the collectibles (there are several on this site), nothing will be too hard to get done. It's easily completed within 10 hours, so it's not too much of an investment.

    That's it in a nutshell - a beautifully detailed world to explore punctuated by some frustrating gameplay elements and design decisions. I definitely recommend it, though if you're looking for some smooth action, you'll have to look elsewhere.

    My Rating: 7/10 - good.

    (For more info on my rating system, including overall stats, see http://takeaimandgame.blogspot.com/p/reviews.html)
    3.5
  • Cloud 995Cloud 995261,873
    08 Jun 2014 09 Jun 2014
    19 33 29
    Murdered: Soul Suspect

    External image



    Story
    It's about a man named ronan ( strange name by the way ) it's about a bad ass Investigator how gets killed after Chasing dawn the bell killer in the city of salem
    External image

    For some Reason all the A.I that you meet later on in the game their Scared shitless of that guy but its understandable since he is a killer but come on all of the city !!!
    ( To good to be true for my taste )

    Game play

    External image


    Not that great of game good story telling but short 2 or maybe 6 side quests the game itself get a little repetitive after a while
    Did not like the fact that you don’t have a weapon and you can't do much to anything beside running

    The enemies don’t respond after you exist the area and that’s good in some ways but the fact that you have to come close to the ghost thing or ( demon ) to kill it was stupid in the first place

    and the ( demon hands ) on the ground the same way but you can't kill these the hands they serve as the BLOCK and that’s it
    You can find your way around them but ( TO DAM EASY )


    Art and sound track

    Great tracks no one can deny that the Main Theme by Jason Graves is Masterpiece in itself gets 7/10 just coz the game suck

    great graphics but on the 360 V if you're running sometimes the frames skip or lag for a sec it needs an update or something but I'm guessing it's because of the graphics downgrade or at least one of the Reason for that error



    Achievements

    Not that hard at all it's just about collectibles in all of the dam game
    It's about 173 but it feels like more for some reason I'm not gonna talk about it see for yourself

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Collector AllThe Collector All achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 236 pointsCollect all artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Ashes to AshesThe Ashes to Ashes achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 33 pointsDiscover this ghost story

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)CodexThe Codex achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 18 pointsCollect all of the supernatural graffiti

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Julia's StoryThe Julia's Story achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 18 pointsCollect all of Julia's artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Salem's HistoryThe Salem's History achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 17 pointsCollect all of the Salem history markers

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)The Witch TrialsThe The Witch Trials achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 16 pointsCollect all of the witch trial artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Cassandra's StoryThe Cassandra's Story achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 15 pointsCollect all of Cassandra's artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)The Bell Killer's StoryThe The Bell Killer's Story achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 18 pointsCollect all of the Bell Killer's artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Terror on the TracksThe Terror on the Tracks achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 31 pointsDiscover this ghost story

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Collector 150The Collector 150 achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 13 pointsCollect 150 artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)The HeirloomThe The Heirloom achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 31 pointsDiscover this ghost story

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Ronan's StoryThe Ronan's Story achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 15 pointsCollect all of Ronan's artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Collector 100The Collector 100 achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 12 pointsCollect 100 artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)The Stalwart SpecterThe The Stalwart Specter achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 28 pointsDiscover this ghost story

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Rex's StoryThe Rex's Story achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 12 pointsCollect all of Rex's artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Collector 75The Collector 75 achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 11 pointsCollect 75 artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Baxter's StoryThe Baxter's Story achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 12 pointsCollect all of Baxter's artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)The Bell Tower BansheeThe The Bell Tower Banshee achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 27 pointsDiscover this ghost story

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Collector 50The Collector 50 achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 11 pointsCollect 50 artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Collector 25The Collector 25 achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 11 pointsCollect 25 artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)A Watery GraveThe A Watery Grave achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 25 pointsDiscover this ghost story

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Collector 10The Collector 10 achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 10 pointsCollect 10 artifacts

    Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360)Collector 1The Collector 1 achievement in Murdered: Soul Suspect (Xbox 360) worth 10 pointsCollect 1 artifact



    In the end its Square Enix game but I don't know what hell were they thinking coming out with a game like that it's not their style

    Summary

    Still a good game in general
    Gets 5/10 in my opinion and that's me being generous about it

    Please if there is any mistake please comment so i can fix it
    2.5