Saints Row 2 Reviews

  • iLazorziLazorz96,014
    14 Sep 2009 15 Sep 2009
    50 3 14
    Since this is the only review for Saints Row 2, I'll try to do my best :)

    Single Player

    First off, we'll cover Single Player. Your character will wake up from a coma five years later in the Stilwater Prison, to either find out that his voice has changed dramatically, he's way more muscular or fatter, and he could even find out that he's now a girl! O_o

    After you escape with Carlos, who's brother was in the Saints a while back, you will find out that the city is now controlled by three new gangs, the Ronin, which is a Japanese gang with katanas and yellow, foreign cars, the Sons of Somedi, which is a partially African gang that deals a cheap lightbulb drug and has green lowrider cars, and The Brotherhood, which is an all-round gang that is tattoo-obsessed and drives huge, red trucks.

    Throughout the story mode you will have to fight these gangs through various missions and strongholds, but before you can do that you will have to earn respect by playing activities, which are mini-game like things where you have to do certain objectives before time runs out, or before the car is desroyed, or stuff like that.

    For example, there is one activity where you must drive around a septic truck, spraying bodily waste over certain areas to earn enough money before the end of your route. Other than that, there are activities where you fly helicopters, steal prostitutes, protect drug dealers, find cars, assassinate people, protect celebrities from crazed fans, throw molotovs, obliterate cars, driving around hookers as they please their clients, join a fight club, get hit by cars, cause as much mayhem as possible, and even dress up as a cop and kill criminals for a television show.

    Also, due to demand, I'll post up how much I rate each Activity based on overall fun, humor, difficulty, and how well it plays out in both single player and co-op.

    Chop Shop: 8/10
    A lot easier compared to the one from the first Saints Row. What you must do is look at the list of cars in your pause menu after you visit the location. Go where it tells you and watch your mini-map. If you see the yellow car on it, grab it and take it back to the dealer for a quick reward.

    Crowd Control: 9/10
    A fun activity with a variety of ways to kill crazed fans. The beginning levels are easy enough for a new player to do, and the later levels are challenging enough for whoever...well, likes a challenge!

    Demolition Derby: 10/10
    A very easy activity that is also extremely fun! Plays great in both single player and co-op, and has made a HUGE improvement since the first Saints Row. You can now customize the cars to be either fast, powerful, defensive, or a balance of all three! Also, after you complete the derby you can enter the special derby in which you can compete in a variety of different vehicles, whether everybody's in tankers or everybody's in golf carts, it's your choice!

    Drug Trafficking: 6/10
    Terribly boring and hard on single player, but if you are in co-op it's a lot more fun! In SP you must have a dealer drive you around and you have to protect them as they make their stops, but in co-op you or your partner can drive. YAY!

    Escort: 8.5/10:
    Sucks on cooperative, but is fine on SP. Basically you drive around prostitutes as they "do their work." you must avoid news vans attemping to get footage of them making love, and also bring them certain places. It's very funny what they say sometimes, but it's absurd if you're down by the University and they want to drive to the Marina. It's like WTF?!

    Fight Club: 9.5/10
    Somewhat challenging and fun at the same time. You must fight very violent fight club members and lower their health. Once their health is almost completely black, you must tap a certain button fast enough to snap their neck. The number of enemies in the ring at a time can range from two to eight, depending on level and whether or not it is on co-op. One thing though is that in co-op this activity is extremely easy, so play it if in need of respect.

    Fuzz: 7.5/10
    This activity can be fun, but sort of dumb at the same time. You get to participate on a show like COPS, except you kill the criminals. Sounds entertaining doesn't it? You won't be saying that when a bunch of bank robbers drive really fast in a Titan and all you have is a Tec. You also won't be saying that when a bunch of eco-terrorists have Annihilators...

    Heli-Assault: 2/10
    I know I'm about to sound like a real jerk here, but this activity is FAIL! It's probably the worst thing ever invented. It's rediculous to beat in co-op, and, well just the idea of it is absurd. You must fly a helicopter and protect Shaundi or Pierce as they get blown u...I mean deal drugs. The only reason I gave this garbage activity a two is because A.) you get to fly a Tornado, and B.) you get to blow s*** up.

    Hitman: 9/10
    Like Chop Shop, this has EXTREMLY improved. Now, you will always know where the target is, they will always show up your mini-map, and you don't have to kill them with a certain weapon! This is easy so just go to a location and go kill some targets for quick cash and respect!

    Insurance Fraud: 8/10
    Fun, but hard. Basically it goes like this: throw yourself in front of cars, fake an injury, profit! Fun to see your guy go flying when hit but this activity can be a pain in co-op. Just look up a video for Insurance Fraud Tips and you should have this down no problem.

    Mayhem: 9.5/10
    Once again, "hooray for destruction!" the basic idea of this activity is blow stuff up. But what they didn't know is you can abuse rockets and grenades by just blowing up fences until you win! It's cheap, but easy for respect and an achievement.

    Septic Avenger: 8/10
    I don't want to go into detail on this one, but let's just say it might get a bit smelly. Your "employer" will drive around a septic truck and you can tell them when to stop so you can spray bodily waste all over important buildings and people. Very easy for respect.

    Snatch: 7.75/10
    Objective is to steal hookers from pimps and bring them back to your friends. Can take a long time, but will be rewarding in the end, with one location offering infinte ammo for Uzi's.

    Trail Blazing: 10/10
    Absolutely amazing. Very, very fun in co-op. To tell the truth, I have never played it on single player, but I can imagine it being the same. Basically, one person drives though checkpoints (like racing) while another person throws molotovs to blow stuff up and earn extra time for the race (which is timed, of course). The cool thing is the driver can run into any car and it will be totally destroyed. Hooray for destruction!

    Once you earn respect to fill your purple bar at the top right of your screen, you can now play missions. Complete enough missions to beat the gangs, beat all gangs to unlock the last few missions, which i won't ruin for you. :) Overall the single player is great. The cutscenes are amazing, the missions are original, and just the fact that you're the leader of a gang and you're able to deside how the gang looks and talks is just beast.

    Multiplayer

    There are three gametypes for multiplayer, Gangster Brawl which is free-for-all, Team Gangster Brawl which is just a Red vs Blue-type game, and Strong Hold which is when they took some of the the activities from the game and converted them into multiplayer-compatible, and you have to earn money by killing the enemy team and paricipating in the activities. First to $100,000 earned for their team is the winner.

    The multiplayer also supports ranks, which are earned by making money in Strong Arm for your team, and badges, which are earned by doing specific requirements in a muliplayer match. Earn a certain amount of badges and get an achievement. That's the whole reason they are there, after all.

    Final Thoughts, Pros and Cons, and Final Rating

    Overall, this game is very fun if you like third-person gangster shooters. The multiplayer can be fun at times when playing with your friends, but the single player is the best part of this game. Definitely a rent, but if you have enough money, buy it. The graphics have improved a lot from the first one, and a lot of the multiplayer exploits like A-tapping, Infinite Pipe-bombing, and super-sprinting have been patched.

    Pros:
    Great ways to customize any cars in the game
    Enjoyable music music
    Airplanes, Heicopters, Boats, and Motorcycles.
    Just a really interesting storyline that includes CO-OP!

    Cons:
    The game can freeze a lot at times, just save a lot and you're fine.
    No more super-sprint. cry
    The Hardcore difficulty isn't hard enough

    My overall rating for this game would be...let's say 8.75. It's a great game worth picking up! Also, please vote. If you do a negative vote, please tell me why in the comments, and I will take any constructive critisism. Thanks!!!
    4.0
    Showing most recent comments. View all comments.
    tskunkGood review. Mine's freezing fairly consistently... Gonna try installing it to disk and see if it helps.
    Posted by tskunk on 01 Jul 11 at 05:08
    Zombie DeejInstalling is very helpful - A friend and I have been playing through for 'Confidence Men' this weekend - We had all kinds of trouble on Thursday, but after we'd both installed the game (and switched hosts) we were able to achieve 10-15% completion advances between freezes.

    The Riot Control glitch reared its ugly head, though.. >.<
    Posted by Zombie Deej on 30 Jul 11 at 06:41
    Dizzy ShayHow are people saying this game is great? It's full of bugs, freezes, glitches and very poor frame rates through most of the campaign on single or co-op
    Posted by Dizzy Shay on 10 Sep 13 at 01:59
  • Mr DiNozzo xMr DiNozzo x52,372
    09 Aug 2011
    8 1 0
    When people see Saints Row 2 they instantly compare it to Grand Theft Auto IV. It's inevitable. The cars may not run as well on Saints Row as they do on GTA, mainly because on SR2 the cars have a very overpowered brake and handbrake, I'd also say that the amount of damage inflicted on the car is way under as it doesn't display much on the car itself whereas on GTA the damage is a lot more accurate.

    Thankfully this is one imitator that turns out to be much more than a straight carbon copy. In fact Saints Row 2 takes GTA's gameplay but with a slight twist considering you can dress your character up in Hotdog Suits, Ninja Suits, Pimp etcc. You can also drive some pretty awesome cars from what I think is a Lamborghini, Rolls Royce and even a Monster Truck!

    What does that translate to in terms of quality? Saints Row may not have the best quality compared to Rockstar's Grand Theft Auto but SR2 is good because of its unrealistic features from an underground sex dungeon in the cemetery to an underground mansion as a gang hideout.

    Saints Row 2 picks up a few years later after the events that occurred in Saints Row 1 which to remind you was your own gang setting you up to explode on a Yacht. Your character has been in a prison hospital stuck in a coma she he (or she) was blown up, thus badly burning his (or her) exterior. Luckily, that happens to open the door to the character customization. You can select from three male accents and three female accents (I prefer the second one) as well as the usual huge array of physical traits. Plus, later in the game you'll earn new personalities, taunts, costumes and fighting styles after defeating the gangs in Stilwater. It's quite hilarious to strap the hot dog suit or even the Borat bathing suit on your character and then watch some of the more dramatic cut scenes.

    Overall, I would prefer you to buy this game as it has an enjoyable career mode and an even better free mode in the game, Just as GTA how you can do whatever you want whenever you want!
    5.0
  • EvieLeafEvieLeaf1,180,804
    09 Jan 2022
    0 0 0
    A new old review for Saints Row 2

    Saints Row released in 2008 I didn't start it until 2009 and it never really grabbed my attention. Then I tried again in 2016 and I picked it up and put back down again. Then finally I went back to this in 2021 and I have no idea why I didn't get into it sooner. From start to finish it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. This game is absolutely ridiculous and hilarious. Very few games make you laugh as quite as much as Saints Row 2 will. 

    Since 2009 I've played Saints Row 3,4 and Gat out of Hell. They're all fun and packed full of great activities, but none of them seem to quite match up to the silly brilliance of Saints Row 2. 
    The Saints Row series tend to have fairly outlandish stories but 2 tries to stay a little more grounded before the later ones went totally wild. There are brilliant story missions with total chaos and slower missions that end up being a little tricky due to some weird control choices. There is great humour throughout the game, but then you get other missions that take surprisingly dark turns and leaving you wondering what the hell just happened.

    One of the my most standout things for me in Saints Row 2 is the number of fun and unique open world activities. I'm a big fan of open world games and I love just going around the map and doing everything. Now I tend to find that some of the newer open worlds games are full of endless quests that end up being mostly the same and this can be a little tedious sometimes. Saints Row 2 has less activities than more modern games but the activities it does have are all brilliant in their own way and each offer their own challenges. Who can argue with going around Stillwater with a septic tank trunk and emptying it's contents everywhere and on everyone? There are two instances of most of the activities, some are limited to one. Each instance has six levels, each harder than the last, some of these will keep you busy for hours, whether that's due to the challenge or your own incompetence. It was certainly the latter for me.

    Now before diving into the gameplay, I have got to mention the radio stations. If you've read my Brütal Legend review, you'll know I'm a massive metalhead. The metal station does not disappoint, there are some cracking tracks from the noughties. Driving around and blowing up every single thing in sight, listening to Opeth or Lamb of God is fantastic fun and goes hand in hand. Now aside from the great metal, there is truly something special about doing a really crucial story mission and listening to "Down Under" by "Men and Work" while your friends are screaming for their lives, not now Shandi I'm buying bread from a man in Brussels. The 80's cheese really adds to the beautiful madness that is Saints Row 2.

    The gameplay is great, if a little dated. However there are some aspects of the gameplay that could be better, even for a game from 2008.

    There is a natural progression where you'll gather better guns, more upgrades and better vehicles. As you get further on in the game you're going to encounter more chaos, more enemies and way more guns are going to be pointed your way. All of the guns offer a lot of fun and they're the standard affair you expect in an open world city, third person shooter. Some of the fun extras you can unlock make them even more fun, like unlimited RPG ammo. I remember playing Vice City all of those years ago, putting in all the cheats so I could go around with unlimited weapons ammo and carnage that followed. The fact you get these things just for playing all Saints Row 2 has to offer, makes this all the sweeter.

    Now the worst aspect for Saints Row 2, is the driving. This feels out of place, even in a game from 2008. The controls are terrible and every time you go back to play it, you've already forgotten them because they don't make any sense. Now if the controls weren't already bad enough the AI driving patterns are even more wild. You'll be driving along, trying to get to your next mission, then suddenly out of nowhere NPC's are crashing everywhere and making your journey all the more difficult. The number of times you have to switch cars is ridiculous. It's almost like your have a neon sign above you at all times that says "Crash here". Unfortunately I only realised that I had a helicopter available to me when I had already completed 85% of the game. The controls are still just as bad for aircraft, but the fact you don't have NPC's crashing into you every five minutes makes it much easier to get around.

    The final thing I'll say about the gameplay is the ENTIRE game is co-op, this is something many games released today are missing. Saints Row 2 solo is fun, Saints Row 2 co-op is an outstanding experience. You like chaos? Why not double it? Shoutout to Shells0x for being my partner and endlessly blowing us up by "accident". Now that's not to say the co-op doesn't come with it's quirks. No other aspect of the game seemed to cause quite so many bugs, these ranged from guns disappearing, the waypoint system no longer working and to outright crashes. I didn't experience any of these issues playing solo aside from the odd crash. It is worth noting that I played this on a Series X, so it could just be the game was never really designed to work on there. These issues aside, they were never that frequent and didn't really hinder the overall experience.

    Saints Row 2 is a brilliant game, even by 2022 standards. Yes it looks a little dated and some of the controls are a little ropey from time to time but it's still a game worth playing. Even all these years later I would recommend this return to Stillwater and bring a friend because it really does make this game even more fun! If it wasn't for some of the controls and the bugs we encountered, this would be an easy 5 star.

    I'm a big Saints Row Fan and I'm glad I went back to play Saints Row 2. It might be my top one in the entire series now. Roll on August for the latest installment, I can't wait!
    4.5
  • jjbmarksmanjjbmarksman129,793
    31 Jul 2011
    3 10 0
    ok, this is my first review for a game so dont blame if its bad. Overall this games is extremly fun when you can do your own thing and free roam but thats not it. Theres so much you can do such as the campain missions, but if you get bored of them theres alot more you can do in this game like diffrent types of activites, youve got to find cds, tags and stunt jumps. Iwould deffinatly reccomend playing in co-op because its more fun and you can do more things. Most of the time i just free roam and mess about with my mates on this game. You can have so much fun on this third person shooter game, but the down side to it. It does freeze so dont get to bothered about that because it only does it occasionaly. I think the devolpers are trying to prevent this from happening but it doesnt matter its still worth the buy. Igot this game for £9.00 !!!! DEFINATLY WORTH IT!!! overall i would this game 10 out of 10 but due to the freezingness i give it 9 out of 10!!! HOPE THIS HELPSsmilewave
    5.0
  • KarlHarkerKarlHarker189,747
    07 Sep 2010
    3 12 13
    The exact definition of a "fun" game. GTA IV became too reliant on realism and missed it's sense of fun that was so rife in it's predecessors. Saints Row 2 however is more fun than "Fun: The Game - For Fun People". Fully co-operative, tons to see and do, a massive variety in missions, a horde of unlockable content (such as clothes and weapons), the ability to streak and flash total strangers for "respect", Ninja and Pirate costumes, flying saucers, driveable flaming buggies, highly customiseable cars and gang and of course; plenty of explosions!
    The most fun and laughs you will ever get out of a game for a long time to come.
    clap