Warriors Orochi 2 Reviews

  • Gokuu LegendGokuu Legend160,120
    12 Feb 2013
    14 3 1
    Warriors Orochi 2- amazing fighters

    96 playable characters from the DYNASTY WARRIORS and SAMURAI WARRIORS series including new characters: Gyuki, Dodomeki, San Zang and Benkei.
    - 2-Player VS mode plus Co-op play in Story, Free and Dream modes
    -12 new scenarios in Dream mode
    - Japanese and English voice option!


    The voice acting in Warriors Orochi 2 is insultingly bad, you will find more emotion in a marmite advert. Brave warriors sound like they have sat upon a hot spearhead as they screech chants and bark orders to their men from the safety of their saddles and repeat the same annoying lines over and over.

    This time around KOEI have tried to add new modes that will hopefully add more replay value to their title such as;

    Dream Mode will require you to complete missions from the story mode during which the game will make match up’s of characters and levels to which you could only dream about, until now.

    Vs Mode which will give you a chance to pair up with a friend and go through four new game types;

    Tag Team – Tag in a teammate for a little extra help
    Elimination – A type of Last Man Standing
    Tower – Knock your enemy off a high rise tower
    Steeple Chase – Run like hell!

    A feature that will keep you playing Warriors Oroch 2 a little more is the Survival Mode which adds a little replay value by battling it out with Computer AI (Artificial Intelligence) in a 3v3 Dead or Alive type setting. You will be able to switch between your characters by pressing the Right Trigger (RT) which can give you a tactical advantage over your opponents. So pick wisely. Sadly even these game modes do not stop Warriors Orochi 2 from becoming as dull and tedious as the story mode.
    4.0
    Showing only comment.
    Chibii Gokuamazing review
    Posted by Chibii Goku on 12 Feb 13 at 07:30
  • themegamancavethemegamancave145,437
    25 Apr 2013
    9 0 0
    Warriors Orochi 2 is the 876123458764th installment in the KOEI franchise of Warriors games (I had to). Much like the last game I reviewed, Samurai Warriors 2: Empires, the Orochi series has been unfortunately lumped in with the repetitive stereotype the other Warriors games have succumbed to. This was my first plunge into the Orochi side of things, and I was optimistic with my approach. I was pleasantly surprised from what I found within the game. The Musou attacks are new and fresh, there’s a plethora of unique and personable officers to use in-game and the game offers 5 different story modes, all centering around a common theme. Even though the plot of Warriors Orochi 2 is perhaps the least important part of the experience, I will remain “spoiler free” as always.


    GRAPHICS/VISUALS: 8.25/10
    This score might actually surprise some people. Unlike the previous iteration of the KOEI franchise I played, the graphics in WO2 are actually pretty decent. There is an extreme increase in the amount of detail put into each playable character, helping their individual personalities to emerge farther as a result. WO2 also offers additional costumes for each officer, allowing their general appearance to vary slightly. The generic enemies are still, well generic to put it bluntly. I think I need to suck it up and realize that this isn’t going to change anytime soon. I guess I could understand that creating a different face for each of the hundreds of enemies on-screen at once would be frame rate suicide. Either way, the character designs in WO2 is leaps and bounds better than some of its predecessors.

    Perhaps my favorite upgrade made to the game would be the visual effects during officer Musou attacks. They just looked incredibly badass. Each of them were different, and gave the officers more of a sense of individuality. Instead of not giving a crap which character I used to slay thousands of peons, I now felt proudly obligated to go for the officers with cooler Musou abilities; definitely a serious ramp up from older titles.

    My biggest complaints with the game’s graphics were the use of pre-rendered cutscenes. NOT ENOUGH OF THEM! I’ve always seemed to enjoy the somewhat cheesy cutscenes these games have to offer. DW7 was a great example of using cutscenes to expand the story to its fullest. There are moments of text and still pictures present throughout each campaign, but if it was nothing but cutscenes I would’ve been ecstatic. Just as long as I could skip over them if I wanted . Sure, the still pictures were nice, and constructed very well…. but I would’ve preferred something a little more elaborate. Hence the reason why the graphics/visuals score is slightly lower than I initially wanted it to be.


    STORY: 6.0/10
    As usual, there isn’t much of a story in Warriors Orochi 2. As per the first title, Orochi had been defeated and peace was restored to the land. Of course, there was no way it could stay that way. Push comes to shove and the various dynasties around China/Japan begin violent confrontations. Throughout the entirety of the plot, you begin to find out that the once peaceful land is once again filled with Chaos, leading back to the unfortunate resurrection of a more powerful, Orochi X. Ok, I know I said I wouldn’t throw out any spoilers, but it’s a “Warriors” game, you’re probably not playing it for the groundbreaking storylines.

    There are some aspects of the plot I liked, and some that quite bored me. Let’s start off with the good points. WO2 offers 5 separate campaigns to take the reins of; Shu, Wei, Wu, Samurai and Orochi. This allows gamers to control all of their favorite officer characters in different sub-scenarios. I most enjoyed the Orochi campaign, despite the Wei Dynasty being my favorite regime. Having the opportunity to control the main reckless antagonist from the rest of the storylines was pretty cool. You don’t see a ton of games take that approach these days, and I think it gives the game more flexibility. The part I didn’t like was that the other 4 campaigns seemed all too similar. From what I read about it, fans seem to say it didn’t really differ from the first game in the series. All campaigns have 8 missions, but they seemed rather cookie cutter, and the overall outcome was pretty much the same. It’s a minor complaint, but I hope to see more story improvement in WO3.


    GAMEPLAY: 8.5/10
    Of course, the area where WO2 shines the brightest is gameplay. I’ll be honest, I’m not the biggest fan of the Empires games, and I tend to have a little more hype built for the regular installments. If this is your first time playing a “Warriors” game, this section should be prefaced by saying this; Dynasty Warriors style games are 3rd person action battles centered around destroying thousands of tiny foes with one or a few overpowered officers. Some people have regarded these titles as repetitive, so it’s important that you know what you’re getting into beforehand.

    The game offers 5 different play modes; Story, Dream, Free, VS and Survival modes. Story mode is pretty standard, allowing you to learn the motives behind each character and follow them through their journey of conquest and peace restoration. Dream mode scenarios, unlocked from completing various prerequisites, put gamers in a specific scenario with a predetermined party to play as. Some of them are pretty cool, like controlling Zhang Fei and others to wreak absolute havoc on your enemies. Others seem to stretch on with countless waves of reinforcements, most of the time for no valid reason. Gamers will really begin to develop a “love it or hate it” mentality with these scenarios.

    Free mode is just what it sounds like. It allows you to explore almost any scenario in the game, with virtual free roam of any officer you wish to mutilate enemies with. VS is as close to online multiplayer as you'll get with WO2, incorporating 4 different sub-modes to create the ultimate Warriors co op experience. I found this mode intriguing, but sad that it had to be local only...I wasn't able to get my wife to play. :( Rounding out the game’s modes is Survival, which is a unique throwback to the original Dynasty Warriors on the PS1, which for those who may not recall, was a 3D Fighter. Players will compete in fighting matches with 3 officers of their choosing, and fight through hordes of CPU teams until you are beaten. It was a pretty interesting addition to the game, and I found myself playing through it more than a few times (My record is 27!)

    Throughout the game, you have the ability to use the experience earned in battle to further progress your characters’ levels and weapons. There is an interesting game mechanic that allows you to “fuse” weapons together, and attribute certain unique enchantments to them. Anything from elemental fusions to attack strength increases, can help you along your journey to power through the story modes and dream scenarios on “Chaos” Difficulty. Players can also collect treasures in the game by meeting certain mission-based objectives, which will allow you to uncover some of these abilities. There are cheevos associated with treasure collecting, so be sure to start hunting early!


    AUDIO: 7.75/10
    I’m a sucker for the music in KOEI games. They all seem to orbit around the same common genre; rip roaring metal tracks with ear bending power chords intricately orchestrated within its instruments. WO2 is no exception to that blanket statement. The music gets you pumped and ready for intense, thumb-blistering hack and slash awesomeness. The voice acting is an improvement on many fronts, but still lacks superiority over the Japanese version. Most of the actors for the game are returning cast members, and that definitely helps out when trying to distinguish one officer from another.

    One thing I really wish KOEI would abandon is the catch phrase a character spouts off when they defeat an enemy officer. Some of them are kind of cool, but most lack any purpose whatsoever, and get pretty fricking annoying. To give you a frame of reference, I can’t tell you how many times my wife threatened to throw a controller at me if she heard Guan Yu’s “Blue Dragon Strike!” one more time. It may seem funny to you, but she’s pretty terrifying when she’s serious! The same goes for the enemy officers. There’s only so many times I can hear, “Prepare To Taste My Steel” before I mute the television.


    REPLAYABILITY/ACHIEVEMENTS: 7.25/10
    Sure, Warriors Orochi 2 could be played over and over until your thumbs fall off, but is there any reason to? I feel like I should add a new scoring category for “fun factor” based on KOEI games alone. Sure, they may lack in visual strength, and the story may fall short of others in depth and character development, but did you at least have fun playing it? “Warriors” games are some of those I can truly pop in at any time when a friend is over and have hours of mindless fun. My only complaint is the lack of an online co op feature. Playing DW7 online with my friends was a heck of a lot of fun, and I’d like to see that implemented into more of these games.

    The achievements all seem rather easy to obtain on the surface, sporting a 1.57 ratio overall for the game. What people may fail to realize is the level of grinding that must be spent earning the full 1K. The last achievement alone could take you a few weeks of moderate playing to accomplish (Beat all story modes and dream scenarios on all difficulties). There are 27 in total, and you could expect to earn about 530 points just playing through each story mode and dream mode scenario once. One thing to keep in mind is to keep switching out your characters during the story once you’ve acquired all of their achievable abilities, to ensure you get the “Ability Level: ?” achievements as quick as possible. Overall, the achievements are generic and grind-heavy. Expect around 100 hours to complete.



    OVERALL: 7.6/10
    Warriors Orochi 2 is unique blend of three different KOEI franchises, and it helps restore my faith in the “Warriors” series. Playing through it has enticed me to pick up WO1 and WO3 to add to my collection as well. If you’re not a fan of these type of games, I urge you to give this a try anyway, you may actually enjoy it. It’s a great hack and slash title!


    Time To Complete: About 100 hours
    Favorite Achievement: "Clear Orochi Storyline"
    Hardest Achievement: "All Difficulties Cleared"
    3.5
  • All the TigersAll the Tigers519,324
    12 Sep 2012
    8 4 1
    Back in September 2007, KOEI responded to the question, "What if Samurai Warriors and Dynasty Warriors fought together?" and Warriors Orochi was their answer. A little over a year later, they answered the same question again with the same answer, giving players the title Warriors Orochi: Rebirth of the Demon Lord, or Warriors Orochi 2 if you're outside Japan.

    Much like Samurai Warriors 2, KOEI made a huge expansion for their original game. For Samurai Warriors, they released a digital pack that costs 2400 M$, but for Warriors Orochi 2, they released an entire disc. Neither game is meant as a true sequel to their respective predecessor, and they're really just new material that supplements the previous one. Unlike the Samurai Warriors expansion, however, this expansion received a new name, either Rebirth or simply 2.

    Graphically, it's exactly the same as the first Warriors Orochi. The style really couldn't change in just a year, and as an expansion, there wasn't any need to change how it looks. It has a few new cutscenes, but a lot of those are short and just there to replace the more prolific exposition through text. Watching the really bad flood scenes are worth a laugh, though.

    Fortunately, the costumes aren't all palette swaps. Kind of. Every character starts out with two outfits, which sadly are basically the same with different colors, and you can unlock a third costume that's noticeably different. It may not be much, but it's still something.

    The music is also exactly the same as the first game, so there isn't much to talk about on that front. The voice work is as good and as bad as it always is.

    Story-wise, the game builds on the previous game, dealing with the idea that Orochi just won't stay dead. Leveling isn't that difficult, so it's fairly easy to breeze through everything difficulty, though Chaos will require just a bit of skill, strategy, and speed. There's also a storyline for Orochi's initial conquest in the original, but that isn't too exciting. No one seems to appreciate you unless you're Orochi himself. No respect.

    KOEI did add a few new features to the game. They introduced a Versus Mode, which you'll hardly ever play; a Tower mode for a bit of comp-stomping competition; and a Survival Mode, which is the same as the first but the enemies never stop spawning until one of you dies. They kept the weapon upgrade and fusion system from the original, and put in Treasure Hunt side quests to give your character even more personal power-ups.

    The final addition is the Dream Mode, which are stand-alone story battles. Your characters are predetermined, but they still give you a choice for difficulty. Some of these can be frustrating, others tedious. Two of the scenarios require you to grind out proficiency levels to an absurd amount. It's the equivalent of having all ninety-two characters at 37 proficiency. Since it takes five officers or five hundred minions to gain one proficiency upgrade, you'll be replaying the same level over and over again to grind them out.

    Looking over the entire game, it really is just okay. You could even call it a little boring. The expanded character list is nice, and a bit more story is a welcome addition, but there really isn't much about the game that goes against KOEI's "more of the same" mantra. Most people won't even play the sub-games, so it doesn't really matter if those modes there or not.

    Ultimately, opinions will vary. If you like KOEI's more-of-the-same, then expect the same level of enjoyment. If you don't like KOEI'S more-of-the-same, then also expect the same level of enjoyment, plus a little grumbling that all the games are the same.
    2.0