BioShock Infinite Shocks Us All With DLC [UPDATE]

By Rebecca Smith, 5 years ago
Edit: Since the publication of this article, the price of the "Burial At Sea" episodes has been confirmed as 1200 MSP each. The release date still remains a mystery.

Original Story:

You know how you've been waiting for a little while now for any news about the BioShock Infinite (Xbox 360). Well, Irrational promised an announcement about that DLC today. Everybody was expecting a trailer, maybe some screenshots, and a few details about some upcoming story-based content. What we weren't expecting was a shock DLC release today.

"Clash in the Clouds" is a wave-based arena challenge pack. The four new-but-familiar-looking arenas each feature 15 waves with each wave bringing its own unique (and optional) Blue Ribbon challenge. Combat is the focus as players are encouraged to experiment outside of their familiar combinations as the difficulty increases with every wave. Completing the challenge brings players more cash that can be spent on upgrades. After each challenge level, players are transported to The Armory where health, ammo and Salts are automatically refilled. Players can plan for the next challenge round at their leisure by swapping weapons and Vigor loadouts, as well as buying those aforementioned upgrades. Weapons, Vigors, Gear, Tears and Sky-Lines... none are off limits as players aim for a high leaderboard score.

The Columbian Archeological Society becomes available as soon as players have attempted a single wave of the DLC. Inspect items such as concept art, character models, music, Voxophones and Kinetoscopes, although these will need to be unlocked using the cash that you've earned by completing waves and Blue Ribbon challenges. You'll need to complete all of these challenges to the best of your ability if you want all of the ten new achievements worth a total of 195G.

Check out some of the arenas in these screenshots.

Clash in the Clouds Duke and Dimwit Theater

Clash in the Clouds Emporia Arcade

Clash in the Clouds The Museum

The story-based content will be provided in "Burial At Sea", which will be released in two episodes. Players will return to the underwater city of Rapture as Booker and Elizabeth as they meet old "friends" and new acquaintances. Find out what the city was like during its hey-day and before everything fell apart. The surroundings may not be as familiar as you would think now that the city has been entirely rebuilt using the BioShock Infinite engine. The "combat experience" has also been modified to resemble a mix of the original BioShock (Xbox 360) and BioShock Infinite: new weapons, new Plasmids/Vigors, new Tears, Big Daddies... and Sky-Lines under the sea.

Burial At Sea Episode 1

While Episode One takes place through the eyes of Booker, Episode Two gives players a chance to look at the city of Rapture through the eyes of Elizabeth. We've been told that her story will finally see closure, but more details on this episode will be released soon.

"Clash in the Clouds" costs 400 MSP and can be downloaded from here. The price and release date for both episodes of "Burial At Sea" are yet to be confirmed. All three pieces of DLC will be included in the Season Pass; Season Pass holders can download "Clash in the Clouds" in-game at no extra cost now.
Rebecca Smith
Written by Rebecca Smith
Rebecca is the Newshound Manager at TrueGaming Network. She has been contributing articles since 2010, especially those that involve intimidatingly long lists. When not writing news, she works in an independent game shop so that she can spend all day talking about games too. She'll occasionally go outside.