Chile Represents In PES 2014

By Dread Reaver, 5 years ago
Konami has secured new licenses from the Asociación Nacional de Fútbol Profesional (ANFP) to bring 18 Chile Primera División teams to their upcoming Pro Evolution Soccer 2014. These teams will be added alongside the other teams already announced, including the UEFA Champions League, the AFC Champions League, and the AFA Primera División teams.

The teams added as part of this agreement are:
- Antofagasta
- Audax Italiano
- Cobreloa
- Cobresal
- Colo-Colo
- Everton
- Huachipato
- Deportes Iquique
- Deportivo Ñublense
- O'Higgins
- Palestino
- Rangers
- Santiago Wanderers
- Unión Española
- Unión La Calera
- Universidad Católica
- Universidad de Chile
- Universidad de Concepción
The publisher has also managed to get national football announcers Fernando Solabarrieta and Patricio ("Pato") Yáñez on board to provide authentic voice over commentary. Konami President Tomoyuki Tsuboi sounds off on his push to get as many deals as possible for the next entry in the PES series:

For the next chapter in the Pro Evolution series, we have been working hard to secure licensing that will excite our fans. Even though the sport is globally celebrated; we understand how important it is for fans to be able to interact with their beloved hometown teams and players.
Now that the business stuff is out of the way, let's look at some of the cool new features that are being included in PES 2014. The first video shows how the defence mechanic is applied and the actual controls to perform them (even though the video displays PlayStation controllers, we may be able to assume the control scheme is the same):

This second video shows the finer points about controlling the goal keepers (again, please excuse the PS controllers on display in the video):

Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 will score the goal when it releases on September 24th.