Call of Duty: Ghosts Invasion DLC Map Previews

By Rebecca Smith, 4 years ago
The latest Call of Duty: Ghosts DLC is due to hit the Xbox LIVE Games Store tomorrow. As usual, "Invasion" brings four new multiplayer maps and the next chapter of the four-part Extinction story. Developer Infinity Ward has treated us to previews of all four of the new maps, which are small-to-medium sized. Each also features hidden secrets and a unique killstreak.


"Departed" is a medium-sized map set in a rural Mexican town during the Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) celebration. The colourfully decorated streets, vendor carts and storefronts provide ample cover for run-and-gunners and players that complete the map’s unique Field Order will unlock the Death Mariachi killstreak. Armed with dual-wielding pistols, the Death Mariachi settles scores, with each kill turning enemy players into another member of the band and a temporary squad mate.

Invasion Departed


[This] multiplayer map is a refreshed version of the fan-favourite map from Call of Duty®: Modern Warfare® 2, “Favela.” Since its original release, the Brazilian shantytown has seen substantial change. Buildings once under construction are now complete, while others have crumbled into a state of disrepair. Players must avoid falling to their death as they traverse the map from one building to the next, with ramshackle scaffolding creating varied pathways between structures and enemy snipers taking advantage of the long sightlines. Players who complete the Field Order in “Favela” will be able to call in heavy air support from a nearby Y-8 Gunship to bring the rain with a 105mm cannon, a 40mm auto-cannon and a 25mm cannon.

Invasion Favela


“Mutiny” transports players to a remote Caribbean island harbouring an eerie pirate hideout complete with abandoned trading posts and prison cells. Speed and stealth are a must as players navigate the narrow and intertwining pathways. However, let ye be warned that gamers taking up positions on the pirate ship moored in the centre of the map will become vulnerable to enemy fire from the numerous flanking routes created by the map’s horseshoe shaped dock. Players that unlock “Mutiny’s” Field Order will find themselves escorted by two ethereal ghost pirates, who will happily send enemy combatants down to Davey Jones’ locker on their behalf.

Invasion Mutiny


"Pharaoh" is the abandoned archaeological site of an ancient Egyptian palace. Players will have to be on the lookout for collapsing monuments and urns full of flesh-eating scarabs, among other surprises in this multi-level map. Inside the palace, gamers will battle through multiple chambers ideal for close-quarters combat and short-range weapons, all under the watchful eye of Anubis, the half-jackal/half-human, protector of the dead, who will handsomely reward players who unlock this map’s Field Order

Invasion Pharoah

The third chapter of Extinction, "Episode 3: Awakening", sends players into the alien underworld and the subterrnean fortress of those controlling the Cryptid invasion: the Ancestors. By using new weapons and equipment, players must break down defensive barriers to reach the ark. Can you unlock the secrets of the Ancestors' powers?

As mentioned above, "Invasion" will be available for purchase tomorrow, June 3rd. Although the price hasn't been confirmed, expect the pack to retail at US$14.99 / £11.59 / €14.49 / AU$19.95 / ¥1,543, just like the other two. The DLC is, of course, free for Season Pass holders.
Rebecca Smith
Written by Rebecca Smith
Rebecca is the Newshound Manager at TrueGaming Network. She has been contributing articles since 2010, especially those that involve intimidatingly long lists. When not writing news, she works in an independent game shop so that she can spend all day talking about games too. She'll occasionally go outside.