Dark Souls II DLC Trilogy Announced

By Marc Hollinshead, 4 years ago
When Dark Souls was released, we thought that was all there originally was going to be, but no. Along came "Artorias of the Abyss" and the special "Prepare To Die" edition to change all of that and it looks like Dark Souls II is going to go down the same route. In a surprise announcement today, we have found out that the brutal RPG will be receiving not one, not even two, but a whole trilogy of DLC entitled "The Lost Crowns."

Each of these three new DLCs will be taking the player through brand new and entirely original areas to face more challenges, enemies, and you guessed it, more bosses. The first DLC of the trilogy, "Crown of the Sunken King", will have players venturing out to reclaim the crown of the once powerful king of Drangleic, Vendrick. Unlike the desolate kingdom of Drangleic, this adventure will take place in a far-off world, where stepped pyramids dominate huge underground caverns. Of course, the crown is hidden deeply beneath these caverns and it's up to you to seek it out and uncover the strength of lords long past.

The next DLCs currently have no information apart from their names: "Crown of the Old Iron King" and "Crown of the Ivory King." Going off that first name, fans of the game may already have a clue to what we'll be facing but that's only speculation at this point. A Season Pass has also been announced for PC and PS3 but unfortunately there is no word on one for Xbox 360 at this early stage. In the meantime, take a look at these screenshots which show off areas from the DLC trilogy:

Lost Crowns DLC Announcement 1

Lost Crowns DLC Announcement 2

Lost Crowns DLC Announcement 3

That's not all. A trailer for "Crown of the Sunken King" has also appeared, showcasing fearsome monsters that we will be facing along with what probably looks like a giant beast eating the brave warrior at the end in true Dark Souls fashion.

"The Lost Crowns" will be released in three parts with "Crown of the Sunken King" being released on July 22nd, "Crown of the Old Iron King" on August 26th and "Crown of the Ivory King" on September 23rd. No pricing has been detailed at this point. If any Season Pass also appears for Xbox 360, we will let you know. Are you ready to face more death?
Marc Hollinshead
Written by Marc Hollinshead
To summarize Marc in two words, it would be "Christian Gamer." You will usually find him getting stuck into story heavy action-adventure games, RPG's and the odd quirky title when he isn't raving about Dark Souls and Mass Effect. Outside the world of gaming, Marc attends and helps out in his church on a regular basis and has a not-so thrilling job in a supermarket.