NBA 2K16 Will Be Free To Play For Xbox Gold Members This Weekend

By Mark Delaney, 1 year ago
Both the Eastern and Western Conference Finals could be decided within their next respective games. The Cavaliers could close it out with the Raptors in Game 6, while the Thunder might shock everyone by taking down the record-setting Warriors in just five games. Whatever happens on those two courts this weekend, you can create some drama of your own for free, provided that you have an active Xbox LIVE Gold subscription. As part of their ongoing Free Play Days promo, Xbox is giving everyone with Gold a chance to download and play NBA 2K16 all weekend long, starting today, Thursday, at 12 pm PST and running until 11:59 pm PST on Monday, May 30th.

Curry's last stand is coming, but you can change history on the virtual court.Curry's last stand is coming, but you can change history on the virtual court.


Like all promotions of this variety, achievements will unlock during your trial time with the game. After the promo ends, NBA 2K16 will remain downloaded but no longer available for free play. It will be on sale during the promotion, too, so if you're dreading the departure of the game come Tuesday, you may want to consider getting it on sale.

Again, the promo tips off at 12 pm PST. That's 3 pm EST, 8 pm BST.
Mark Delaney
Written by Mark Delaney
Mark is a Boston native now living in Portland, Oregon. He's the Editorial Manager on TA, loves story-first games, and is one of three voices on the TA Playlist podcast. Outside of games he likes biking, sci-fi, the NFL, and spending time with his fiancé and son. He almost never writes in the third person.