Destiny: The Collection Detailed

By Kelly Packard, 1 year ago
Love it or hate it, there's no denying Destiny has an armload of content. Whether you're a new player or someone still playing the game on a last-gen console, Bungie wants to pull you into the Destiny universe with a collection that includes all the content currently on the table as well as September's upcoming "Rise of Iron" expansion.

Destiny: The Collection

Fittingly called Destiny: The Collection, the mash-up will include the core game in addition to its major expansions, which are "The Dark Below," "House of Wolves" and "The Taken King," as well as the unreleased "Rise of Iron."

The collection will be available digitally or physically. Since it includes "Rise of Iron," players who pre-order Destiny: The Collection will also be receiving the Iron Gjallarhorn pre-order bonuses that were previously announced. Select retailers are also offering the Iron Gjallarwing Sparrow variant. The retail version will be available on the same date "Rise of Iron" releases, which is September 20th.

Now here is where digital pre-purchasers get a slight edge over buyers of the physical copy. If you pre-order Destiny: The Collection on the Xbox Live Marketplace where it is already available, you will receive immediate access to the core game and the first three expansions. Then, access to the "Rise of Iron" content will be granted when it launches in September. Destiny: The Collection is priced at US$59.99.

As mentioned, there is also an option for what Bungie calls "legacy gen players." If you're still playing Destiny on your Xbox 360 or PlayStation 3, you can upgrade to Destiny: The Collection on a current-gen system for a reduced price of US$39.99. This option is digital-only and requires "The Taken King"; you need to own a legacy version of the content on the account you're hoping to upgrade. It also is not cross-console; for example you cannot upgrade from a PlayStation 3 version to an Xbox One version or vice versa. Your characters and progress will be transferred as well. According to Bungie, upgrading from a legacy console to The Collection is only valid until January 31st, 2017. More information and an FAQ can be found on Bungie's Upgrade page here.

Destiny: The Collection and Destiny: The Collection Upgrade are already available digitally. As mentioned, you will receive access to everything except the "Rise of Iron" content which you will receive access to on September 20th, which is also the date Destiny: The Collection will be available at physical retailers.
Kelly Packard
Written by Kelly Packard
In a few descriptors: college student, longtime gamer, writer and junk food enthusiast. I contribute to TrueAchievements as a news writer and reviewer. Usually, you can find me knee-deep in a multiplayer game while ignoring my growing backlog or on one forum or another discussing all things gaming.