Middle-earth: Shadow of War's Expansion Pass Detailed

By Kelly Packard, 1 year ago
Middle-earth: Shadow of War has been out for two weeks, more than enough time for fans to have finished up the single player title. More content is on the horizon with the game's expansion pass, which has now been fully detailed. The pass offers two Nemesis expansions and two story expansions.

Shadow of War Screens

The additions to the Nemesis system come first with the "Slaughter Tribe Nemesis Expansion" arriving in November. After that, it's onto the "Outlaw Tribe Nemesis Expansion" in December. Each DLC will add a new tribe fortress for each respective group with a new Overlord throne room, monuments and outposts. Hunting down the Legendary Orcs of each tribe will reward a new Legendary gear set and additional upgrade challenges.

After a few months' wait, the "Blade of Galadriel" story expansion will arrive in February 2018. Gamers can "play as Eltariel, an elite assassin known as the Blade of Galadriel, and go head-to-head with the newest addition to the ranks of the Nazgûl." Eltariel wields dual Elven blades and gives players access to new abilities, skills and gear. There will be new Nemesis characters, and eight Legendary Orcs "who can return to join your forces in the main story campaign with new abilities added to the Nemesis System." In addition, an Eltariel skin is unlocked to be used in the campaign.

Finally, the "Desolation of Mordor" story expansion will wrap up the pass' content offerings in May 2018. Players will take control of Baranor, "the Captain of Minas Ithil and survivor of the city’s demise, in a new story expansion where players will command the forces of Man against a new Orc threat to the East." Thanks to the help of Torvin, the Dwarven Hunter, new gear such as the shield, gauntlet, chain and glider will be craftable. "Desolation of Mordor" also adds a new "rogue-like campaign mode" where players will have to survive as a human without the help of a Ring or a wraith. Lastly, a Baranor skin will be unlocked to be used in the regular campaign.

The expansion pass is included with the Gold Edition or available for separate purchase. Each expansion will also be sold individually outside of the pass. Warner Bros. also reminds players that "periodic free content updates" will become available as well.

We've got the full list of Middle-earth: Shadow of War achievements - check the list for guides to unlocking them.

This game was featured in our Best Xbox Action-Adventure Games Available in 2018 article. Why not check it out to see what else made the cut?
Kelly Packard
Written by Kelly Packard
In a few descriptors: college student, longtime gamer, writer and junk food enthusiast. I contribute to TrueAchievements as a news writer and reviewer. Usually, you can find me knee-deep in a multiplayer game while ignoring my growing backlog or on one forum or another discussing all things gaming.