Gamescom 2019 Roundup: Here's What You Need To Know

By Heidi Nicholas, 1 month ago
Gamescom is coming up fast. There's a range of items to expect, from the likes of Xbox, CD Projekt Red and THQ Nordic. Here's everything you need to know before it kicks off next week. An Inside Xbox Conference, Google Stadia Connect, and the Opening Night Live are taking place on Monday, the day before the show opens to everyone.

Inside Xbox

From 5PM CEST, 11AM ET, 8AM PT
Xbox are bringing a host of items to Gamescom. They've confirmed several titles already:
  • Gears 5: including the debut of the Horde Mode
  • Blair Witch
  • Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Breakpoint: including the Multiplayer Reveal
  • The Surge 2
  • PUBG
  • Battletoads
  • Destiny 2: Shadowkeep
  • Bleeding Edge
  • Empire of Sin: including the gameplay debut
  • Age of Empires
Check out their trailer for more information.


Google Stadia Connect

From 1pm EDT, 6pm BST, 7pm CEST

As yet there's not a huge amount of information about what we can expect from Google Stadia Connect. The description for their Game Announcements states that they will be "revealing brand-new trailers" and "going behind-the-scenes" with their partners, and that they "can't wait to show what Stadia has in store".

Opening Night Live

From 7pm BST, 8pm CEST, 2pm EDT, 11am PDT

The Opening Night Live conference, hosted by Geoff Keighley, will most likely be the main event. There will be announcements and world premieres throughout the event from multiple studios, including Sony, Xbox, Bandai Namco, THQ Nordic, and Activision. There will be a premiere of gameplay footage for Predator: Hunting Grounds. Hideo Kojima will give exclusive previews of Death Stranding.


From Tuesday 20th, the day after the Opening Night Live conference, Gamescom opens its doors a little wider and people can start to get more hands-on with all gaming news. Below, we've listed the main titles.
  • Cyberpunk 2077
  • Biomutant
  • Darksiders Genesis
  • Desperados III
  • Destroy All Humans
  • SpongeBob SquarePants: Battle For Bikini Bottom- Rehydrated
  • Marvel Avengers
  • Final Fantasy VII Remake
  • Trials of Mana
  • Life Is Strange 2: the trailer for Episode 4 "Faith" will be shown, with the episode itself releasing on 22nd August.
  • GRID Reboot
  • Shenmue III
  • Those Who Remain
  • Catherine: Full Body
  • Two Point Hospital
  • SEGA Mega Drive Mini

Rumours and Unannounced Titles

SEGA, Modus Games, and THQ Nordic all have at least one unannounced title which will be revealed at Gamescom. It's possible that one of THQ Nordic's unannounced games will be Saints Row 5, given a recent confirmation that Volition are hard at work on the next game in the franchise. Meanwhile, Need For Speed Heat will have a gameplay trailer at Gamescom, so perhaps more information and some gameplay will appear. Elden Ring is widely rumoured to have a presence, and many expect to see Plants Vs Zombies: Battle For Neighborville as well.

Nominations

Hollywood Reporter appear to have the scoop on the Gamescom Awards nominations:

Best Action Adventure Game
Blacksad: Under the Skin, astragon Entertainment
Concrete Genie, Sony Interactive Entertainment
The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening, Nintendo

Best Action Game
Borderlands 3, 2K
DOOM Eternal, ZeniMax Germany
Marvel’s Avengers, Square Enix

Best Family Game
Concrete Genie, Sony Interactive Entertainment
Dreams, Sony Interactive Entertainment
Luigi's Mansion 3, Nintendo

Best Racing Game
Grid, Koch Media
Hot Wheels Infinite Loop, Mattel
Need for Speed Heat, Electronic Arts

Best Role Playing Game
Final Fantasy VII Remake, Square Enix
Pokémon Schwert und Pokémon Schild, Nintendo
Wasteland 3, Koch Media

Best Simulation Game
Barotrauma, Daedalic Entertainment
NBA 2K20, 2K
Planet Zoo, Frontier

Best Sports Game
EA SPORTS FIFA 20, Electronic Arts
eFootball PES 2020, Konami
Roller Champions, Ubisoft

Best Strategy Game
Age of Empires II: Definitive Edition, Microsoft
Desperados III, THQ Nordic
Foundation, Polymorph Games

Most Original Game
Concrete Genie, Sony Interactive Entertainment
Dreams, Sony Interactive Entertainment
Felix The Reaper, Daedalic Entertainment

Best Microsoft Xbox One Game
Bleeding Edge, Microsoft
Borderlands 3, 2K
Gears 5, Microsoft

Best Nintendo Switch Game
Luigi's Mansion 3, Nintendo
Pokémon Schwert und Pokémon Schild,Nintendo
The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening, Nintendo

Best Sony PlayStation 4 Game
Concrete Genie, Sony Interactive Entertainment
Dreams, Sony Interactive Entertainment
Final Fantasy VII Remake, Square Enix

Best Mobile Game
Battle Chasers: Nightwar - Mobile Edition, HandyGames
Hot Wheels Infinite Loop, Mattel
Lock's Quest, HandyGames

Best PC Game
Borderlands 3, 2K
DOOM Eternal, ZeniMax Germany
Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Breakpoint, Ubisoft

Of course, there's still life after Gamescom. The long-awaited extended gameplay demo of Cyberpunk will release to the public after the event, as will the extended gameplay footage of Dying Light 2.

What do you think of everything confirmed and rumoured Gamescom? What are you most looking forward to? Be sure to let us know in the comments!
What are you most looking forward to at Gamescom?
  • Cyberpunk 207735.13% (856)
  • Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Breakpoint3% (73)
  • Blair Witch3.49% (85)
  • Biomutant2.34% (57)
  • Shenmue III3.2% (78)
  • Two Point Hospital2.75% (67)
  • Life is Strange 21.23% (30)
  • Marvel Avengers4.51% (110)
  • Gears 511.74% (286)
  • Plants Vs Zombies: Battle For Neighborville5.74% (140)
  • Saints Row 513.75% (335)
  • Elden Ring4.06% (99)
  • Need For Speed Heat2.5% (61)
  • Other6.57% (160)
We've had 2437 responses.
Heidi Nicholas
Written by Heidi Nicholas
Hey, I'm Heidi! I've just finished studying a Masters in English Literature, but I've been obsessed with gaming since long before then. I began on the PS2 with Spyro, before graduating to the Xbox 360 and disappearing into Skyrim. I'm now a loyal RPG fan, but I still like to explore other genres — when I'm not playing Assassin's Creed Odyssey, or being lured back into Red Dead Redemption 2 or The Witcher 3!