Call of Duty Account Required for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Cross-Play

By Sean Carey, 1 month ago
The Call of Duty: Modern Warfare open beta is running this weekend and features cross-play between Xbox One, PS4 and PC.


Infinity Ward developers said during the stream that Keyboard and Mouse inputs would be supported on consoles. In the game's lobby, it will indicate what inputs other players are using. Players can opt-out of cross-play if they want. There will be an option to filter out different inputs, so you can choose to play against those with only a controller if needs be.

Voice chat and parties will be supported across all platforms, but to access multiplayer, all players are going to need to sign up for a Call of Duty account. Cross-play will be available across all multiplayer modes with exception to Ranked play or competitive tournaments.

The cross-play beta starts tomorrow, September 19 for everyone who has pre-ordered the game on Xbox One and PC in addition to all PS4 players. Then on September 20th comes the open beta where anyone can play. This weekends beta will run through to the 23rd. You can find the start times of the betas below.

September 19 ( Xbox One/PC Early Access + PS4 Open Beta)

  • 10 AM PT
  • 1 PM ET
  • 6 PM BST

September 20 (Open Beta for all Platforms)

  • 6 PM PT
  • 9 PM ET
  • 2 AM BST (September 21)
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare comes to all platforms on October 25th.
Sean Carey
Written by Sean Carey
Hey everyone! I'm Sean. I have been writing gaming content for various outlets over the past few years while studying a degree in Journalism. I grew up on everything PlayStation — mainly Metal Gear Solid, with a brief foray into the world of Xbox. Nowadays, you'll find me mainly playing multiplayer PC games, but with the recent addition of the Xbox Game Pass for PC, I'm looking forward to improving my TA Score.