Gears 5 is Getting a Double Horde Character XP Event this Weekend

By Sean Carey,
This weekend Gears 5 is getting a Double Horde Character XP bonus weekend, and players can also get free Boost to go along with it. This weekend should help you on your way with levelling up your Horde characters and make unlocking a few of the more grind-heavy achievements in Gears 5, slightly more bearable.

Gears 5 Horde

Starting this Friday from 2:00 AM PT/5:00 AM ET/10:00 AM GMT until 10:00 AM PT/1:00 PM ET/6:00 PM GMT on Monday 25, Boost will get you 4XP which is double the usual Boost rate for levelling up your Horde characters. With previous events, players needed to have Boost to take advantage of Double XP events; thankfully The Coalition is giving away three days of free Boost this weekend. All you have to do is log in each day from Friday to Sunday to claim each day's free boost. The times you need to log in by are listed below:
  • Friday Free Boost: 2:00 AM PT/ 5:00 AM ET/ 10:00 AM GMT – 1:59 AM PT/ 4:59 AM ET/ 9:59 AM GMT(Saturday)
  • Saturday Free Boost: 2:00 AM PT/ 5:00 AM ET/ 10:00 AM GMT – 1:59 AM PT/ 4:59 AM ET/ 9:59 AM GMT (Sunday)
  • Sunday Free Boost: 2:00 AM PT/ 5:00 AM ET/ 10:00 AM GMT– 1:59 AM PT/ 4:59 AM PT/ 9:59 AM GMT (Monday)
This Boost Bonus Weekend could help out with a few achievements. The Who's Your Horde Main achievement which requires you to reach character level 15 with a launch Horde character and the Compulsive Horder achievement which requires you to reach level 15 with Kait, JD, Del, Marcus, Fahz and Jack. The Compulsive Horder achievement ties in with Seriously 5.0 - Chapter 1. This weekend's event could make a sizeable dent in these achievements if you're willing to grind them out for the full three days.

Gears 5Who's Your Horde Main?The Who's Your Horde Main? achievement in Gears 5 worth 62 pointsReach Character Level 15 with a launch Horde Character

Gears 5Compulsive HorderThe Compulsive Horder achievement in Gears 5 worth 286 pointsReach Character Level 15 with Kait, JD, Del, Marcus, Fahz and Jack

Gears 5Seriously 5.0 - Chapter 1The Seriously 5.0 - Chapter 1 achievement in Gears 5 worth 7098 pointsInsane Campaign, Master Horde & Escape Launch Maps & Characters, 20 Re-ups, General in Tour

Source: Gears 5

Thanks to J2B9 for the tip.

Check out our Best Xbox One Third-Person Shooters Available in 2019 article for a compilation of other great games in this genre.
Sean Carey
Written by Sean Carey
Hey everyone! I'm Sean. I have been writing gaming content for various outlets over the past few years while studying a degree in Journalism. I grew up on everything PlayStation — mainly Metal Gear Solid, with a brief foray into the world of Xbox. Nowadays, you'll find me mainly playing multiplayer PC games, but with the recent addition of the Xbox Game Pass for PC, I'm looking forward to improving my TA Score.