The Wastelanders update for Fallout 76 arrives today via a 70GB patch

By Sean Carey,
The free Wastelanders update for Fallout 76 launches today. After suffering a couple of delays, the DLC brings with it a feature that many players believed should have been in the game when it first launched — human NPCs.


Not only does the update bring NPCs (other than robots) to the world of Appalachia, but it also adds a new major storyline, two factions, a new reputation system and a bunch of new weapons and gear. We also recently picked up a new achievement list for the game. A total of ten achievements worth 255 Gamerscore will be available for players to unlock.


Bethesda has detailed when the Wastelanders update will be rolling out. Be prepared to start downloading this one straight away. For both consoles and PC, Bethesda Support has revealed that the update is weighing in at a hefty 70GB, so it might take you some time to download this one fully.

Fallout 76: Wastelanders regional launch times:

  • 12:59 PM BST
  • 07:59 ET
  • 04:59 PDT
  • 21:59 AEST
  • 13:59 CEST
  • 08:59 BRT
  • 20:59 JST
  • 19:59 CST
  • 19:59 SGT
  • 14:59 MSK
This is Fallout 76's most significant update since it released back in 2018. The game came under heavy criticism due to its bungled launch. Since then, the game has received numerous updates and has a garnered a faithful following online despite Bethesda introducing the Fallout 1st premium monthly subscription service.
Sean Carey
Written by Sean Carey
Sean joined the team as a Staff Writer for both TrueAchievements and TrueTrophies in 2019. He games across all platforms and is always looking for an excuse to replay any of the Metal Gear Solid titles.