This week's Xbox Series X gameplay reveal won't show any first-party games

By Sean Carey,
Later this week, we will finally get to see some substantial gameplay footage from games developed for the Xbox Series X. The live stream, scheduled for May 7th, will premiere gameplay from upcoming Xbox Series X titles, but only from second- and third-party studios.


No footage from Xbox Game Studios titles will be shown during the live stream, as confirmed by the general manager of Xbox Games Marketing, Aaron Greenberg. Responding to a question on whether the stream would only be for second- and third-party games, Greenberg replied, "Yes, this show is timed as more of a typical pre-E3 beat and to give a first look at Xbox Series X gameplay from our partners." Greenberg also says there is more to share over the summer and heading towards the holiday period and details will be given on that at some point this week.

Last week, Ubisoft unveiled Assasin's Creed Valhalla and confirmed that a gameplay trailer would be shown at the next Inside Xbox event.

Phil Spencer recently announced that gameplay reveals were on the way, but didn't go into specifics about what exactly we'd be seeing. Hopefully, we won't have to wait too much longer to see what the developers under the Xbox Game Studios umbrella have been up to.

The Inside Xbox stream will take place on May 7th at 11 AM ET/8 AM PT/4 PM BST.
Sean Carey
Written by Sean Carey
Sean joined the team as a Staff Writer for both TrueAchievements and TrueTrophies in 2019. He games across all platforms and is always looking for an excuse to replay any of the Metal Gear Solid titles.