Update: CrossfireX open beta is now live on Xbox One

By Heidi Nicholas,
Update: The free CrossfireX open beta is available to download and play now on Xbox One. While Xbox Insiders have had the opportunity to play since Monday (June 22nd), anyone with an Xbox Live Gold subscription can now download and check out the multiplayer FPS until Sunday, June 29th. The beta has a download size of 5.88GB.

Original Story: The open beta for tactical shooter CrossfireX begins later this week, on June 25th, but a closed beta for Xbox Insiders is already available today.

CrossfireX ~ TitledHeroArt

There's limited Xbox Insider availability for the closed beta, so if you're interested in accessing it, make sure you're signed up for the Xbox Insider Program and have installed the Xbox Insider Hub before requesting to join it. The closed beta ends on June 24th at 05:00am BST / 00:00am ET / 21:00pm PT. The open beta begins on June 25th at 08:00am BST / 03:00 ET / 00:00am PT and ends on June 29th at 05:00am BST / 00:00am ET / 21:00pm PT.

Developer Smilegate say everyone who participates in the beta will get a branded axe to try out during it, which they'll also get back in the full game. Aside from the axe, progress won't carry over to the full game "to allow all players to start on an equal footing". The beta has three 8v8 maps to try out: the Black Widow map for Team Match/Search & Destroy, the Laboratory map for Spectre, and the GR Tower for Point Capture.

CrossfireX Black Widow

The closed beta for Xbox Insiders is available today, and ends on June 24th. The open beta begins on June 25th and ends on June 29th.

CrossfireX Beta
CrossfireX Beta

CrossfireX delivers an intense free to play multiplayer FPS experience spanning multiple thrilling gameplay modes, unique characters, and cinematic visuals.

Heidi Nicholas
Written by Heidi Nicholas
Hey, I'm Heidi! I've been a staff writer for TrueAchievements and TrueTrophies since 2019. I love open-worlders, RPGs, and fantasy games, am obsessed with tea, and forever loyal to The Witcher 3 and Red Dead 2.