Gears 5 6.66 XP weekend kicks off later today

By Sean Carey,
The folks over at The Coalition have been pretty generous with XP multipliers in recent weeks for Gears 5, and with Operation 4 coming to a close, the developer has decided to run another XP event this weekend. Starting today and running until Monday, The Coalition will be multiplying XP earned in multiplayer modes by 6.66.

6.66 XP

The Coalition says, "We’re resurrecting the devilish 6.66 XP (MP only) for the Halloween weekend." The 6.66 XP event kicks off today at 10 AM PT/1 PM ET/5 PM GMT and runs until Monday, November 2nd 10 AM PT/1 PM ET/5 PM GMT. This will be a huge boost for those who are grinding out some of Gears 5's toughest achievements (which is pretty much everyone). The Coalition has confirmed that this will apply to both PvP and PvE game modes.

In other Gears news, The Coalition revealed new Gears 5 achievements coming with the Xbox Series X|S update, announced that a new Hivebusters story DLC is coming in December, and confirmed that Operation 5 will start on November 17th. Servers for Gears POP! are also set to close, which means the game's entire achievement list will become discontinued.

Thanks to Yannickozzz for the news tip.
Sean Carey
Written by Sean Carey
Hey, I’m Sean! I joined both TrueAchievements and TrueTrophies as a staff writer in 2019. I’m a big fan of the Metal Gear Solid series and love a good narrative adventure. Most evenings you’ll find me failing to get a win in Call of Duty: Warzone.