Yakuza 15th anniversary livestream promises news on "future developments"

By Brittany Vincent,
The Yakuza series has been dropping straight fire for 15 years now, and its latest release Yakuza: Like A Dragon is no exception.

To celebrate the series' birthday, PCGamesN reports that developer Ryu Ga Gotoku Studio is holding a commemorative livestream in December as a way to mark the occasion. A tweet went live in celebration of the announcement featuring series regular Kazuma Kiryu and newcomer Ichiban Kasuga.



The livestream will explore the series' releases over the years as well as "future developments". Kiryu's voice actor Takaya Kuroda will be in attendance, as well as Kazuhiro Nakaya, who voiced newest protagonist Ichiban Kasuga as well as Akira Nishikiyama in prior Yakuza games.

The stream will be available on YouTube on December 8 at 03:00 PST / 06:00 EST / 11:00 GMT, so you may want to go ahead and mark your calendar if you're a fan. Speculation is running rampant about what it might cover, but we know one thing's for sure: there will almost certainly be news about what to expect next from the series.

It's highly likely from our experience that there will end up being a sequel to Yakuza: Like a Dragon, but even if there isn't a direct sequel, another game starring Ichiban Kasuga would be great — he's a formidable new lead.

It isn't clear just yet what will happen in terms of announcements, but this seems like a big enough milestone that something Earth-shaking may be announced. We'll be sure to let you know what that thing may be when December 8 rolls around.