Call of the Wild: The Angler baits us with its beauty

By Tom West,

Call of the Wild: The Angler is the next title from theHunter: Call of the Wild developer, Expansive Worlds, and instead of hunting cuddly beasties with guns, you'll be enjoying the scenery while waiting for a tug on your rod.

Expansive Worlds has announced its next open-world game, Call of the Wild: The Angler with a relaxing reveal trailer, which shows that we'll be laying down the weapons found in theHunter: Call of the Wild, in favour of a rod and the perfect fishing spot. No release window has been given yet, only that it "arrives later this year on PC and consoles."

Call of the Wild: The Angler reveal trailer

“Call of the Wild: The Angler represents a new vision from our team that goes beyond what you’d expect from a fishing game in a lot of fun ways," said Expansive Worlds game director Paul Rustchynsky. "Whether you love the thrill of the sport or the quiet joy of exploring the outdoors, this is an experience that’s great to enjoy on your own or shared with friends."

Much like its predecessor, Call of the Wild: The Angler will feature a fully explorable open world, complete with hiking trails, winding rivers, ponds, springs, and various waterways to traverse by foot, boat, and offroad vehicles. You can also expect plenty of post-launch content just like theHunter: Call of the Wild, so you'll be kept busy when fishing alone or in drop-in/drop-out online co-op for up to 12 players.

As you progress through the game, tussling with the various behavioural differences of Mountain Whitefish, Largemouth Bass, and more, you'll learn new techniques to help you become a pro. There will also be a ton of upgradable items, such as reels, floats, lures, lines, hooks, and bait.

If you'd like to find out more, the Expansive Worlds Twitch account will be hosting a Q+A session on Wednesday, June 22nd at 7am PST/ 10am EST/3pm BST/4pm CEST.

Will you be looking to relax in another one of Expansive Worlds'... well, worlds? Let us know down below, but quietly; you don't want to scare the fish!
Tom West
Written by Tom West
Tom has been playing video games since he was old enough to hold a controller, experimenting with systems like the Nintendo 64 and Playstation until he eventually fell in love with the Xbox 360. With a passion for the platform, he decided to make a career out of it, and now happily spends his days writing about that which he loves. If he’s not achievement hunting, you’ll likely find him somewhere in The Elder Scrolls Online.