BlazBlue: Continuum Shift Extend Limited Edition

By Rebecca Smith, 6 years ago
The countdown to the release of BlazBlue: Continuum Shift Extend in North America is nearing the end with just a month to go before the game hits retailers. Of course, the lucky gamers in Japan have already been able to get their hands on this game, meaning that details of the revamped story mode have become publicly available. Geraint Evans, Director of Arc System Works Europe had this to say:

The BlazBlue universe and story is vast. BlazBlue Continuum Shift Extend is the only version to have the complete story – which will make it accessible to those who are completely new to the series and will give older fans a chance to revisit the groundbreaking original.
The retelling of the storyline will include new and remastered scenes. New stories will be available for Makoto Nanaya, Valkenhayn R Hellsing, Platinum the Trinity and Relius Clover. Other features include:

• 23 individual stories, exploring the characters and universe of BlazBlue.
• Each character has their own tale to tell – along with multiple endings.
• Finishing each character’s story mode, unlocks a final story that gives players the ‘True Ending’ to the epic BlazBlue story.
• Two bonus stories ‘Sector Seven’ and ‘Academy’ give players insight into the two main factions of the BlazBlue universe for the first time on home console.
• ‘Teach me Miss Litchi’ and ‘Help Me Prof. Kokonoe’ comedy skits return, using Chibi characters to provide greater detail to the world of BlazBlue!
Aksys Games has also released a handful of screenshots taken from the story mode:

Story 5

Story 4

Story 3

Story 2

Story 1

As mentioned in the title, BlazBlue: Continuum Shift Extend will have a limited edition that is currently available to pre-order from select retailers. The limited edition will include:

• 2012 Calamity x Continuum Calendar!
• 40-page, full color art book with event scenes, artist illustrations, and art of the newer characters!
• 17-song Soundtrack CD

Limited Edition

The tracklist for the soundtrack is:

02 Shinsou
03 Gluttony Fang
04 Condemnation Wings
05 Sword of Doom
06 Alexandrite
07 Howling Moon
08 Active Angel
09 Plastic Night
10 Endless Despair
11 Nightmare Fiction
12 Memory of Tears
13 X-Matic
14 Cross Line
15 Pandora Tears
16 Childish Killer
17 Blue Bloom
BlazBlue: Continuum Shift Extend is due to be released on February 14th in North America. Although the game has been confirmed for release in Europe, the release date for this region is still no more specific than Q1 2012.
Rebecca Smith
Written by Rebecca Smith
Rebecca is the Newshound Manager at TrueGaming Network. She has been contributing articles since 2010, especially those that involve intimidatingly long lists. When not writing news, she works in an independent game shop so that she can spend all day talking about games too. She'll occasionally go outside.