RSS feed TrueAchievements Site News

Mar
23
New Filters on all Game and Achievement Lists, Including Back Compatible Games
As we come to the end of our 10th Birthday Celebrations, it seemed fitting to re-introduce our old tradition of adding complicated new features to the site on a Friday afternoon!

We've wanted to add additional filters to game and achievement lists for some time now, but we simply didn't have the room for them in the filter sections at the tops of those pages. To get around that limitation, we've added a new drop-down filter button to all pages. This has enabled us to add some additional options, plus we've rewritten all the lists from the ground up to make them considerably faster!

Game Lists

My games list
As usual, clicking on the My Games option under your Gamerpic menu takes you to your played games list, but we've added some new things:

My Games List filterMy Games List filter

Game search box - this makes it considerably faster to find games in your list. As you type the game name the list dynamically updates to just show the matching games
Back Compat Platform - In the platform section, you can now choose Xbox One (Back Compat) which will show you the games that Backwards Compatible on the Xbox One - while you could choose this before from the Other filter dropdown, you couldn't see everything you can play on an Xbox One console in one list - now you can!
Distribution Type - You can now choose to show just games that are available digitally, or on disc or both
Walkthrough - you can now choose to list only those games with a published walkthrough
Site full games list
These same filters have also been added to the Site games list, plus you can choose to only show games in your collection, or games you've played or not played. All of these filters have also been optimized for use on the mobile version of the site:

Mobile version of the Site full games listMobile version of the Site full games list

Achievement Lists

My achievements list
Following the My Achievements link on your Gamerpic menu, you'll see some additional filters on your achievement list too:
My achievements filtersMy achievements filters

A search box - you can search either game name OR achievement names in this box
Back Compat Platform - again, find your locked or unlocked achievements for backwards compatible games
Gamerscore filter - choose achievements with a specific score or ones with a score not divisible by 5
Exclude done with - you can now exclude done with or no longer own games from this list
Include games from my collection - show all the achievements from games in your collection, not just games you've played
Show secret achievement details - you can now toggle this on or off directly on this page
All Xbox achievements list
We've also added most of these filters to the All Xbox achievements list, making it super easy to look for any achievement you want from the entire list of achievements on Xbox Live!

Lists revampedLists revamped

We hope these additions make it easier for you to rack up some big scores over the weekend!
Added by TrueAchievement at 16:43:56
Mar
22
TrueAchievements Xbox One App Discontinued Achievements Are Now Attainable
We released the TrueAchievements Xbox One App just over 3 years ago and had a great time designing the achievements for it.

Unfortunately, changes Microsoft made to the Xbox One dashboard meant that snap mode was removed, which led to three of our app achievements becoming discontinued:

The three discontinued achievements in the TrueAchievements appThe three discontinued achievements in the TrueAchievements app

We have been working on replacement achievements for SNAPPED!!, Simul-TA-neous and Challenge Accepted and we have just published those replacements to Xbox Live.

The new achievements are:

TrueAchievementsStarmanThe Starman achievement in TrueAchievements worth 0 pointsRate 25 different games

TrueAchievementsFingers and ThumbsThe Fingers and Thumbs achievement in TrueAchievements worth 0 pointsVote on 25 solutions

TrueAchievementsAdvanced ReconThe Advanced Recon achievement in TrueAchievements worth 0 pointsViewed 100 different achievement solutions

Please note: If you have already unlocked these achievements under their original names and requirements, you do not have to unlock them again - they are replacements for the originals rather than additional achievements.

You can read more about the TrueAchievements App and check out the trailer here - it's free to download and a great source of help to your achievement hunting on Xbox One!


Replacement achievements in the TA App

Replacement achievements in the TA App

Replacement achievements in the TA App

Added by TrueAchievement at 09:56:58
Mar
13
10th Birthday Giveaway Stream - Over £3,000 of Prizes to be Won
As we mentioned last week, we've got a marathon eight-hour live stream planned for this Thursday to celebrate TA's 10th Birthday, where we'll be streaming some of our favourite games from the past decade and giving away thousands of pounds of incredible prizes that have been kindly donated to us by some of the biggest names in gaming.

10th Birthday Live Stream

You can see the full schedule for the stream below:

Game |Duration | Time
Geometry Wars: Retro Evolved² | 30 Mins | 12PM GMT / 7AM CT / 8AM ET / 1PM CET
Trials Fusion | 30 Mins | 12:30PM GMT / 7:30AM CT / 8:30AM ET / 1:30PM CET
Injustice 2 | 60 Mins | 1PM GMT / 8AM CT / 9AM ET / 2PM CET
Titanfall 2 | 30 Mins | 2PM GMT / 9AM CT / 10AM ET / 3PM CET
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered | 30 Mins | 2:30PM GMT / 9:30AM CT / 10:30AM ET / 3:30PM CET
Middle-earth: Shadow of War | 60 Mins | 3PM GMT / 10AM CT / 11AM ET / 4PM CET
Human Fall Flat | 30 Mins | 4PM GMT / 11AM CT / 12PM ET / 5PM CET
Celeste | 30 Mins | 4:30PM GMT / 11:30AM CT / 12:30PM ET / 5:30PM CET
Forza Horizon 3 | 60 Mins | 5PM GMT / 12PM CT / 1PM ET / 6PM CET
Gravel | 60 Mins | 6PM GMT / 1PM CT / 2PM ET / 7PM CET
Assassin's Creed Origins | 60 Mins | 7PM GMT / 2PM CT / 3PM ET / 8PM CET
We'll be giving away prizes, including special editions of the last two TA Game of the Year winners, game and DLC codes, merch, and even TA Pro all the way through the stream, so make sure you hit the follow button on our Mixer channel to be notified as soon as we go live.
Added by DaveKinetic at 16:36:02
Mar
12
Xbox Game Pass & EA Access Game Collection Integration
For those of you using game subscription services such as Xbox Game Pass and EA Access Vault, managing your game collection just got a whole lot easier! We've just introduced a new site feature located on these pages in a new Subscription Manager right panel.

How It Works

Pressing this button will notify us that you have a subscription to the relevant service. From then on, games that are part of that service will be automatically added to your game collection if you don't already own them via some other means.

These games will be marked with an ownership status corresponding to the service to which you are subscribed, so they can be easily filtered in your list.


Turning It Off
If your subscription runs out or you simply don't want auto-management any more, just press the button again to remove all the relevant games from your collection. Don't worry, though, games you've started or games you own will remain!

Private Messages
As new games are added to the services, we send out PMs to service subscribers detailing the new titles. These will be batched up so you will never receive more than one per day.

An example of the PM you'll receiveAn example of the PM you'll receive

Achievement Lists
Lastly, if you fancy going one step further by including all of your new subscription titles in your achievement list for easy hunting, then simply turn off the 'Exclude unstarted games from my achievements' setting located on the Site Settings page.

Site setting

We hope you make the most of this cool new feature!
Added by HitmanOllie at 17:57:03
Mar
09
TrueAchievements Will be 10-Years Old Next Week
TrueAchievements is turning 10 years old next week, and to mark the occasion we'd like to invite you all to a special week-long celebration.

Throughout the week, we'll be looking back at a decade of TA with a community challenge, a marathon live stream filled with amazing games and giveaways, and a special podcast where we discuss the site's history, articles, stats and much more -- there may even be a surprise or two as well.

10 Years of TrueAchievements

10th Birthday Challenge
The celebration is already underway, as we've just announced the TrueAchievements 10th Birthday Challenge, our latest community challenge where everyone can be a winner and earn a new community challenge badge, along with the chance for you to win a month of TA Pro. Head over to the announcement story for details:

Introducing The TrueAchievements 10th Birthday Community Challenge

Eight-Hour Live Stream
On Thursday, we'll be celebrating in style as we stream some of our favourite Xbox games from the past decade on our Mixer channel. During the stream, we'll be giving away some amazing prizes that have been kindly donated to us by some of gaming's biggest and most well-known developers and publishers to celebrate the occasion.

Honestly, you really don't want to miss out on some of these prizes, so make sure you check out the stream from 12PM GMT / 6AM CT / 7AM ET until 8PM GMT / 2PM CT / 3PM.


We'll have much more to share next week, but for now, let us know what some of your highlights have been from the past 10 years of TrueAchievements.
Added by DaveKinetic at 16:54:09
Jan
09
2017 Leaderboards - How Did You Do?
Hi TAers!

It's time for our look back at how everyone on the site performed during 2017.

Anyone that has listened to our End Of Year Review podcast (and if you haven't, you really should) will know that Rich had to put in some extra hours over the Christmas holiday to rewrite all of the annual leaderboard code to work with the new genre system. Unfortunately, that meant it's taken a little bit longer than usual to compile all the data.

You can find the base leaderboards here: Site Leaderboards for 2017.

We've included all the online achievements that everyone unlocked throughout the whole of 2017. Offline achievements could not be included as we couldn't be sure they were unlocked during the year.

Main Site Leaderboards
As with previous years, we've included leaderboards for TrueAchievements Score, Gamerscore, Achievements Won, Challenges Won and TA Difference. For the first time, we've also been able to include a Completed Games Leaderboard -- this includes all the games finished during the year, irrespective of when you started them. As usual, you can change the completion DLC type from the Leaderboard Settings dropdown.


Special Leaderboards
This year, we've also included special leaderboards for ID@Xbox games, Kinect Required games and Xbox Live Arcade games.


The main leaderboards linked from the 2017 Leaderboards page default to the TrueAchievements score leaderboard, but there are also leaderboards linked in the right-hand side panel for everything from Gamerscore to the number of completed games.


Filtering the 2017 Leaderboards
The leaderboard pages have all your usual TA filtering options, allowing you to filter by platform, genre, region and area! You can also easily find your position on the board by clicking the Find Me button. It will take you to the page and scroll down automatically to show your position in all of its glory. Click the Friends only option to show just you and your buddies.


Share Your Positions
If I came first in the 2017 European GamerScore Leaderboard for Xbox One American Football Games I'd certainly want to show it off to the world (#GoPackGo), and we've made that as simple as possible too. Once you've used the Find Me button, click the share icon next to your position to be shown the share panel:



From here you can share on Facebook, Twitter, other social sites and email. The shares look pretty cool and link through directly to the correct leaderboard and position:

https://twitter.com/DaveKinetic/status/950773211385532416

We'll be sending you a PM over the next couple of days containing some of your most impressive leaderboard positions.

Let us know in the comments on which leaderboard you managed to achieve your highest position. Do you think you can do even better in 2018?
Added by DaveKinetic at 17:03:57
Jan
05
Introducing Our New Weekly Site Help Stories
One of the many reasons that TrueAchievements has become the leading Xbox community website on the internet is the speed in which Rich and Jack have added new features to the site. If you've been around on the site for a while, you'll no doubt have been able to keep up with many of these new site additions. For the hundreds of people who register to join TA each and every day, many of whom will join just to make use of one or two site features, they'll never be aware of the many other benefits that signing up on TA can provide.

This year we're hoping to fix that issue with a new site help system and a weekly news story that showcases some of our site features. The first one that details how to create Gamer Goals, the various statistics that can be tracked, and how to follow your progress will be posted a little later today. If you would like to be notified when these stories are published, please head over to the Site Help news category page and click the "Subscribe to news" button on the right-hand side of the page.

If you have a suggestion for any site features that you'd like us to cover in our new weekly site help stories, please let us know by posting in the comments below.
Added by DaveKinetic at 17:41:53